We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond in the Rough”
Review of Hotel Cotopaxi

Hotel Cotopaxi
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Latacunga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Cotopaxi
Ranked #4 of 15 Latacunga B&B and Inns
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
860 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Latacunga is an uninspiring city (especially entering from the Panamerican Highway), but one you get into the city center, it is quite a charming place. This hotel is situated in the historic city center across from Parque Vicente Lopez. It is a 15 minute walk from the bus terminal. The rooms are very large and bright. The bathrooms are updated and large. Hot showers are available, but I first had to let the water run for about 15-20 minutes for 'hot' water - what a waste! The rooms that face the park have huge windows that not only overlook the park, but also have superb views overlooking some of the city and the surrounding mountains/volcanoes. The staff is friendly and the hotel is kept spotless. My only complaint is the small internet cafe downstairs that has continuously running advertisements/music playing (loudly) on the speakers -usually starting by 8am.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front of the hotel with views overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Big, spacious rooms with lots of light and great view over the main plaza. Even had ample room for a table and chairs. Bathrooms excellent and can't fault cleanliness. 10 dollars each for the double room. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I only stayed at Hotel Cotopaxi because I had arrived in Latacunga late at night and it was listed in my Lonely Planet book.
It was $15 for a single room overnight. That's pretty pricey when you're used to staying in rooms that are $6-$8. This may seem like an insignificant amount to the normal traveler, but when you're on a budget and can get a nicer room around the corner for $10- it makes a difference.

They had assured me that there was hot water- which there was not, and the internet was in and out. The bathroom shower was pretty dirty- so the few minutes that I was in there attempting to wash my hair without letting the freezing water touch my body- I was happy that I had brought along shower shoes.

The bed was fine but I felt like there were things crawling on me... but that could have been because my hair had been standing on end from the cold water and then being in a cold room since it was winter. I didn't have any bites on me the next day- but I will say that due to the feeling of having creepy crawlies on me it was not a very restful night.

The next morning I luckily got up unusually early, because otherwise my wake up call would have been hammering due to work they were doing in the room next to mine.

The staff was really nice though. I ended up getting a highly rated hostel about two blocks away and was really happy with my stay there, especially since it was cheaper and included a great breakfast- which Hotel Cotopaxi did not have.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zannapetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Really well located hotel with very friendly staff. While it has seen better days the price is right. Rooms on the plaza have great views and I was able to sit in my room and watch the fireworks one night, but they can be a bit noisy on a Saturday night. No problems at all on a Sunday night however.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trysh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Although you could say that the hotel has seen better days we loved our stay there and even came back for a second term. The price was low, the rooms spacy and confortable and the service very friendly and helpful. We felt a bit as if comming to Ecuador twenty years ago. Especially one advertising photo of the hotel in the breakfast room conveys this feeling: It´s an old-style foto-montage (which has been accomplished without a computer). Last but not least I must mention the roof which is a perfect place to take photos of the three main peaks around!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chaisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latacunga
0.0 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 4 in Latacunga
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rodelu
Hotel Rodelu
#2 of 15 in Latacunga
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#1 of 15 in Latacunga
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 28 in Cotopaxi Province
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 28 in Cotopaxi Province
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cotopaxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cotopaxi

Property: Hotel Cotopaxi
Address: Padre Salcedo 5-61 at Parque Vicente Leon, Latacunga 050150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Latacunga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Latacunga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing