We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bouctouche
eastern
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed one night on way home to Ontario in August 2013, family of four. Great location, right on the water, and room very spacious/comfortable, could easily stay several nights with small kitchen with microwave/fridge and all utensils and dishes needed included. The breakfast in the morning was really very nice, hot items to order, eggs/bacon/pancakes which my son loved, and great rhubarb/strawberry topping for your yogurt, yummy! Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasternOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAnn_12, Owner at Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
We hope we are able to welcome you back again! We love having satisfied guests of all ages. Thank you for making the effort to write a review -- we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

excellent food but incorrect description by wait staff resulted disappointing choice... would have rated higher but hate it when staff care so little that they say "whatever" and food is not as described/ promised.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine022456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAnn_12, Owner at Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
One of the aims of our inn is to financially support university and college students in their education. None of them are professional wait staff and it seems their culinary horizons are not quite wide enough. Their inexperience is usually compensated for by their enthusiasm and joie de vivre. Thanks for the compliments on the food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Firstly excellent hosts made us feel welcome and were a pleasure to talk with on a wide range of topic Raymond gave us and other guests his time freely at the same time managing bookings and general hotel matters. The rest of the team were equally friendly and helpful and they gave the impression of a really close family working well together. The room was comfortable and well appointed and the only downside was a powercut which lasted most of the night which meant no water or light however a couple of the family brought us and the other guests bottled water and a bucket for washing etc which was thoughtful and done with good cheer. We did eat in the bistro and with the power cut it obviously made work in the kitchen difficult. So whilst not the best meal eaten recently I get the impression from other reviews that this was atypical. Everything else was a joy .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fificw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAnn_12, Owner at Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your gracious review -- in spite of the power outage!!! It makes us keenly aware of how dependent we are - particularly in the kitchen - on electricity. We have gone over the issue of a generator (or generators) many times, although we have never had guests in the inn when the power was out for more than half an hour. It may be time to re-visit the issue...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALLACE
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This lovely old Inn was charming and the owner was very friendly and informative. We chose to have dinner at the Inn as well and enjoyed the Indian inspired dishes. The house salad with pecans & goat cheese was particularly good. Gluten Free Friendly!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAnn_12, Owner at Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thanks for the warm words. As I have said in other responses, we can usually accommodate dietary restrictions easily if we know about them! Thanks for giving us the heads up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The property is over 130 years old and was formerly the residence for parish priests. Converted to a gourmet restaurant and small inn in the 1970's, it hosted several world leaders. We had eaten several lovely meals there in the 1990's. We had heard the gourmet restaurant had closed and new owners had taken over several years ago.
We only live 60 miles away but were attending a wedding in the town of Bouctouche and wanted to spend the night so reserved a room. The town has several items of interest including a park and a marina and can be easily walked. They have the services one expects is a regional town.
It is also the birthplace of industrialist K C Irving who has endowed the town with several gifts.

We were very pleased with the facility, our room, the meals and the service. The owners, Ann and Raymond speak perfect French and English and are pleased to explain the history of the building, provide a service or apologize for the bit of a mess from the ongoing renovations. They are adding several larger rooms for extended stay guests.
The Auberge is central to many area attractions including the Bouctouche Dune and Kouchibouguac National Park with some of the best beaches and warmest water in Canada. There are several golf courses and historical sites including the pays de saguine nearby. Although we were only overnight, this would be a great spot to headquarter for 3 to 5 days.
Included in the room rate is a full hot breakfast - not a buffet. There is fruit and cereal and all the things one expects but I also had the best cheese scrambled eggs I has ever tasted. The night before we ate in the main restaurant. If the weather had co-operated we could have eaten on the large deck overlooking the bay. The menu is not extensive but there were several items I would have liked and the daily special ( a fish dish naturally) was very good. Wine was not expensive.
Our room was in the annex and had been recently updated. There was A/C which was not needed. The bed was very comfortable. We suggested a different arrangement for the bathroom shelf which Anne immediately looked at it and agreed it needed changing.
There are only 15 or so rooms and we noticed others were larger (great for an extended stay) but ours was fine. With a total cost of under $125, including breakfast for two we received excellent value for money.
The Auberge had the feel of a B and B but with the service of a hotel. The guests spoke to one another and the owners. Overall, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: With only 15 rooms it is hard to say. If available and for only $20 more a suite might be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAnn_12, Owner at Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review - and photos!!! You have done a great job of promoting the area which remains little known inspite of itself and Condé Nast. Thanks for the compliments on the food as well -- we try. The eggs come from the family farm of the local math teacher - organic and fresh. It makes all the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We are currently staying at the Auberge. This is our second visit over the past four years. This family-owned B&B and bistro is full of charm and history. Many thanks to our great hosts, Ann and Raymond, and their attentive support staff.
We booked directly with the owners, because the Trip Advisor site kept redirecting us to a different site, showing falsely that the Auberge was completely booked. The room rates were also more expensive than those quoted by the owners. Seems something is wrong with this site's information.
Glad we called directly, because we are having a great stay. We will leave well rested and would not hesitate to come back!

Room Tip: Call the Auberge directly to get precise details for rooms or suites. Easier to choose according to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiLMaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel was a good place to spend the night even though the decor of the rooms was nothing special and the bed was hard. The innkeeper could not have been nicer suggesting many places we could visit including the Irving Chapel and gardens which we had not heard of anywhere else. The best thing about this hotel was the food since we chose to have dinner and really enjoyed that and the breakfast which came with the room. Breakfast was good cantalope and pancakes and bacon. Very tasty!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetnr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAnn_12, Owner at Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for having taken time the time to write a review. We know it takes time to sit down and reflect on your experience here. The reviews are always helpful to us; looking at things from the other side is useful. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again in Bouctouche!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouctouche
19.3 mi away
Hotel Shediac
Hotel Shediac
#1 of 4 in Shediac
207 reviews
24.8 mi away
Kouchibouguac Resort
Kouchibouguac Resort
#1 of 1 in Saint-Louis-de-Kent
31 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Moncton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bouctouche Inn and Suites
Bouctouche Inn and Suites
#1 of 2 in Bouctouche
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Vue d'la Dune / Dune View Inn
9.9 mi away
La Maison Mer de Cocagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche

Property: Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche
Address: 157 Ch du Couvent, Bouctouche, New Brunswick E4S 3B8, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Bouctouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bouctouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Acadian Country Inn began its life in 1880 as the first priest’s residence of Bouctouche. We have preserved the era’s architecture and charm with its dormers and interior wood detailing, all the while modernizing our facility for the comfort of our guests. Two wings, the most recent added in the 1940s, have been renovated offering eleven comfortable and reasonably priced rooms and three suites, each with its own ensuite bathroom. The original 1880 house has two large suites, the perfect thing for the couple wanting a little pampering or when you decide to bring the kids along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge le Vieux Presbytere de Bouctouche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing