We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful, courteous and close to the ferries” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Chateau De Gandspette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Chateau De Gandspette
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Helpful, courteous and close to the ferries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We've used Gandspette a couple of times 'in transit,' booking it for the start and end of continental caravan trips. They've booked us in at short notice and offered to meet particular needs, and there was no hassle when our evening ferry was delayed. They carried forward a reservation when we were forced to cancel following a serious delay due to a flat tyre. There's a bar and super little restaurant with some good local dishes.The swimming pool is well sheltered and warm enough. Both of these are great at the end of a long drive or a hard day sight-seeing in Pas de Calais.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    32
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This summer, my fiance and I travelled around Continental Europe in a Spaceship camper. We stayed at 32 different campgrounds.

This was a good campground with friendly, helpful staff. The bathrooms were clean and modernish, with good water pressure (no tokens required). There however is no soap provided in the bathrooms for washing hands. The pool was also good. WIFI was 3 euro per hour and there are no snacks or food available from anywhere onsite after 8:30pm (which was frustrating since we were sooo hungry and had arrived after 8:30pm), there is a supermarket about 5 minutes drive though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wickedwomandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a tent pitch here for 3 nights over the Aug bank holiday. The reception staff were helpful & efficient. The pitch was on a bit of a slope, which did cause us to move steadily downhill during the night on our blowup mattress! The pitch was a reasonable size & not far from the well maintained loo/shower block, always handy for an early hours visit. I loved picking my way through the rabbits in the semi dark to get there. The facilities on site were good but the addition of a shop stopping basic groceries would be a good move. The restaurant kitchen closed at 8.30pm which seemed a bit early to us & like other reviewers we were a bit miffed to have to pay for wifi. One question, why are there no sinks with soap available in the loo block? We would certainly using this site as a stop off point but would be unlikely to use it as a base again, only due to the more limited attractions in the areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had 9 nights in our caravan at this site after having 1 night last year on our way home. The pitches are mainly big and grassy and well kept. The toilet blocks are excellent and always very clean (obviously some mucky footprints on rainy days inevitable!) children's park and bouncy castle is great. Pool area nice but only the small one heated. Sports facilities are also very good, as is the busy restaurant/bar. Staff very friendly. Lots to see and do in area and some nice beaches along north coast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonbon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of our French holiday in the caravan. Whilst the site is very clean and has good facilities, I cannot give it more than three stars as it is VERY costly.

Pitches far from level (I would expect them to be at £31/night), 6A electricity only. Facilities were spotless and cleaned regularly, although don't expect a hot shower at peak times, the water runs out and only cold showers follow! If you want Wi-Fi, be prepared to pay €3 per hour (this was free at every other site we stayed on in France)....

I think if I was in France again, I'd find another (cheaper) site, or travel further into France and go to Chateu les Tilleuls (an hour further on) and get similar facilities at a much cheaper price!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a few times and we spent the night here recently on our way to the Pyrenees.

The site is located about 30 minutes from Calais, so it's an ideal stop over point if like us, you're coming from Scotland.

It's a huge campsite, but there are lots of different sections which makes it feel more private. It's €26 per night, which is not cheap but the facilities are clean, there's loads of hot water and the service is great.

There's a bar and restaurant, as well as a small take away for pizza and fries.

You have to pay for internet (€3) for an hour which we think is a bit cheeky but you can drive 5 minutes to McDonalds and get free wi-fi.

There's a lovely big swimming pool and a tennis court, and there are washing machines and dryers (extra cost).

We woud definitely recommend this site for short and longer stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and could easily have stayed for longer. We used our own tent, in an open pitch overlooking fields. The caravans looked very nice to stay in too. The staff are helpful and the site is fantastic! Two swimming pools, a games room, a restaurant, clean, modern showers all a brilliant rate. This is the perfect place to stay as stopover on a longer journey, but I will be going back for a mini break just because it is so peaceful and so close to Calais. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eperlecques
3.3 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
5.1 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#9 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Omer Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Chateau De Gandspette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Chateau De Gandspette

Property: Camping Chateau De Gandspette
Address: 133 rue du Ganspette, 62910 Eperlecques, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Eperlecques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Eperlecques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Camping Chateau De Gandspette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing