We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you won't want to leave!”

Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved our night at Les Follies et les Roulettes de la Serve. Ours was the 1920's caravan and the attention to detail was amazing, right down to the drawer holding some fascinating correspondence from the early 20th century. It was so lovely, we didn't want to go out to a restaurant-just had a picnic with some excellent Beaujolais wine in the beautiful garden and soaked up the atmosphere. The hosts are very welcoming and we also enjoyed a lovely herbal tea, from their Salon de The when we arrived. The bedroom is charming and we enjoyed a magnificent night's sleep in the very comfortable bed amidst the peace and tranquility of the Ouroux country side.
This is a place we will definitely be returning to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AskriggCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

It is hard to describe the delight we experienced during our stay at Les Roulottes. This place is an absolute find for anyone seeking peace and serenity in the most romantic setting possible. The antique Gypsy caravans have been masterfully restored, are surprisingly comfortable and their marvellous quirkiness had us giggling like a couple of school kids. Pascaline is a very gracious host and could not have been kinder or more helpful. Everything about this charming place enthralled us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Beautiful rolling hills deep in the Rhone wine region. To completely get away from it all - we would highly recommend staying at La Serve (near Ourox). Be it stopping off for lunch in Fleurie or visiting the charming Chateau of Cormatin and its intricate gardens - the pace and place was both good for sight-seeing and relaxation.

A lot of love has gone into creating this little haven. The well, hand-crafted roulottes by Pascal are perfectly complimented with the eclectic eye and design from Pascaline - and she eveb makes her own bread! Both are very hospitable and helpful in getting the most from your stay. La Rochette restaurant was a real treat. Excellent and inventive cuisine and wine choice - it was a good suggestion.

Was sad to leave and would definitely go back - it was special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishEOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Recently, I spent 5 weeks in Europe and this was my favourite place we visited. It was beautiful, unique and very peaceful. The owners were very kind and hospitable. They even lent us their own bicycles to tour around on. The food was delicious - homemade breads, jams, yoghurt and honey. I would really like to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 154913Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We've have just got back from our honeymoon where we spent 5 nights at Les Roulottes. I couldn't think of a better way to spend the week... we had 4 nights in a roulotte and then on the last night we were in one of the rooms... the caravans are beautifully restored and super comfortable to stay in and the room on the last night was a 5 star luxury treat. We hired a car and explored the surrounding countryside - we didn't even make it to Lyon or Macon the viliages and towns nearby are great to wander around and take in. This is a beautiful, unexplored pocket of France with very little provisions for tourists but all the better for it. We had great cheeses and wines from nearby, had lots of picnics looking out onto amazing views and made fires in the evening for cooking outside on although there is a kitchen for you to cook in if you want. On the last night we had an amazing meal in nearby Chenelette which was recommended by our hosts. Pascaline and Pascal have a real treasure and are perfect hosts. I couldn't recommend it highly enough - a real rustic treat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in one of the gypsy caravans for 2 nights at end of May. The location is beautiful with views out over the countryside. The farmhouse where you have access to kitchen toilets and showers is high standard.
If you are staying 2 nights or more and travelling by public transport Pascal and Pascaline offer to pick you up from Bellevile station. Its best to bring food with you on the first night, although you can cycle 2km to a shop that sells jam, sweets, beer (Col de crie) or 5km to Moroul for other grocery shopping (downhil there, uphill on the way back!) The roads are very quiet for cycling. There are trails around for walking.
Relaxing and peaceful stay with very friendly greeting and advice from Pascal and Pascaline.
Breakfast is homemade breads and preserves, yoghurt and juice / tea.
Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elodie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascaline P, Propriétaire at Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve

Address: la Serve, 69860 Ouroux, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Ouroux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ouroux
Price Range: £60 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
une halte dans un décor des mille et une nuit, à vous les rêves et la féerie....un lieu magique et intemporel, une escale toute en douceur dans un océan de verdure et de calme. tranquillité assurée. 3 anciennes roulottes et deux folies orientalistes.sélectionné par le guide des maisons d'hôtes de charme, le guide du routard, le guide michelin vacances au vert, lonely planet, cool campingsitué à 700m d'altitude à 5km du premier village en pleine nature dans les monts du beaujolais à 1 h de lyon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and PitchUp so you can book your Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Folies Et Les Roulottes De La Serve France/Ouroux, Rhone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing