We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay”
Review of Hotel Le Manasses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Curtil-Vergy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Manasses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curtil-Vergy
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If you're driving through the Cote d'Or countryside, and looking for a comfortable, relaxing stay, Hotel La Manasses is perfect! It's situated between Beaune and Dijon with easy access to many small villages in the area. The central courtyard provides convenient parking, the views are stunning, and the facilities are very clean and attractive. An enjoyable evening of wine and snacks with Yves and his other guests will remain an indelible memory. So glad we took the time to relax in this lovely setting!

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are larger and a bit more costly. Ours had a shared balcony that we enjoyed in t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Manasses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel is an old favourite situated in the hills above Nuits St Georges and about 20 minutes off the motorway junction. The owner/proprietor is a larger than life wine grower who enjoys entertaining his guests to an impromptu wine tasting before clients go out to Dinner in local restaurants.

Rooms are situated either in the main building or in larger rooms in an annexe built above the cuverie . They are comfortable and well fitted and overlook a central courtyard/ parking area.

The hotel is above a beautiful peaceful valley and is surrounded by good walking country.

Breakfast was amongst the best we can remember with a great variety of local jams, juices and cold meats.

For either an overnight or an extended stay the hotel is well situated for visits to local wine growing villages such as Fixin, Gevrey- Chambertin, Morey St. Denis, Vosne Romanee, Nuits St. Georges and further afield to Beaune. Or if you wish to buy wine M Chaley might be persuaded to sell you some from his splendid cellars.

Room Tip: Rooms over the annexe can be fitted out to cater for children.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suburbanite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Le Manasses in Curtil Vergy consists of a main house and a sensitively designed new annex in the beautiful Hautes Cotes de Nuits just above Nuits St Georges. We stayed one night in the main house, where rooms are quite small and ours rather oddly had a bathroom in the bedroom, separated only by a curtain (not the only French hotel where we have experienced this rather strange open plan en suite effect). Rooms in the annex are more spacious with huge bathrooms and are well worth the higher price. The breakfast is excellent and includes a range of local dried meats and cheeses and fresh fruits in season. But what makes a stay at Le Manasses unforgettable is an encounter with Monsieur Chaley, a large than life character (in every way), a seventh generation vintner with an enthusiasm for the vine which is second to none. Discovering our penchant for fine French Burgundies he invited us to a wine tasting which was utterly sublime, and not only for the wines. For Monsieur Chaley is a "real character", a great raconteur and a very generous host. "What a find", we all said, as we zig-zagged down the lane to the Petit Bonheur restaurant. Le Manasses is now a certain stop for us on future wine tasting trips to France.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitternwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Having been to this hotel year for year over ten years now, i can recommend it strongly. In some ways it is a basic B&B. the rooms are simple and functional, clean and let you do, what you want to do there - sleep and rest quietly.

The public spaces are charming, with period decor (well kept) and a nice and well kept, if smallish garden. There a several different seating areas, so you can always find space, if you want to rest up, read or have a private conversation.

The breakfast is fresh, local, varied and to a high quality. again absolutely no complaints.

you are in the hills, with beautiful views and it is very restful. You can see why Prince Charles stayed there.

What really makes it, though, is the fun and characterful hosts. Yves and his daughter who run the place a caring and cheerful. totally enamoured of their wine, and Yves is a character well known through the whole region, for his firm views on everything. They make you feel at home, and will always go the extramile for you.

We go as semi-professional wine buyers, and he'll always have a view on which wines we buy and which to avoid. He'll come looking at what we bought, and let us the highs- and lows of the makers.

His own wines (in my opinion) are better at the cheaper end. you can pick up very good simple wines there under EUR10, but I wouldn't get carried away with the higher priced stuff. Going to his evening wine-tasting is an experience to be savoured - you can read about the generosity of spirit with which he hosts it.

If I were to identify a down-side, the only one I can think of is that their prices are slowly rising, and this year a room was almost EUr 100 a night. they should take care not to get carried away with this

Overall a charming experience, and one I can recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CrecentMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Stayed here one night in a room in the main building. Room was small, but tidy, furnished as shown in picture. Hotel would have been difficult to find without GPS system. I enjoyed the view from the room and the absolute peace and quiet during the night. The wine tasting was conducted by the patriarch of the family, who delighted in the wine tasting as much as the participants. He passed around plates of sausage, dried ham, cheese during the wine tasting. Wines ranged from 11 euros to 25-30 euros per bottle, and included some chardonnays. Staying at the hotel and partaking in the wine tasting was a group of some dozen Belgians who were knowledgeable wine enthusiasts. They had stayed at the hotel before and told me that it was very unusual to be served food like this at a wine tasting in this area. Most of the pinot noirs would have to be aged a few years before drinking.
The breakfast was a wide assortiment of breads, cheeses, meats, fruits and locally produced jams. It was well worth the 10 euros and served in a very tastefully decorated, homey eating area. The restaurant in the village, a stone's throw away, was a good choice as it didn't involve driving after the wine tasting. The proprietress can call and make reservations for you.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcbridebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2006

We stayed here for 3 nights and two days in the second half of October 2006 after a 3 hour drive up the A7/A6 from Orange in Provence. Overall a good to great hotel experience. The location is in a beautiful valley of vineyards, sugar beets, wooded areas, and grazing pastures about a 20 minute drive or so outside of Beaune. The direction is marked by signs out of Nuits -- but can be a little tricky to find -- and it might be a challenge for the first time at night. (I think it is a total of 8 km from Nuits.) The hotel looks a lot like a Swiss Chalet inn. Our room in the winery building was somewhat plain, but extremely clean and functional. Don't know what the rooms in the main inn building would be like -- but the combination main lobby / breakfast room is charming and warm -- and definitely lives up to the Swiss / Beaune type exterior -- so the rooms might be a little different. There are nice tables and chairs outside to enjoy a bottle of wine. The breakfast buffet is an additional E10 charge for each person and I think worth it (unless you aren't much of a breakfast type -- or can wait to drive into Beaune to a patisserie / cafe / etc -- as there are many in downtown). In addition to the 4-5 assorted fresh breads, there is an excellent variety of different meats, cheeses, fruits, figs, yogurts, juices, and local jams. The 3 generational family who owns and runs the inn and attached winery are genuinely nice. In the summer, they have a nightly 6 pm wine tasting. Although there was just one other couple there (very end of season in late October when the leaves were changing and beautiful), Eric (name?) did a wide ranging tasting and tour for the four of us. In addition to their Chardonnays / Pinot Noirs / Sparklings, they had a Pinot Gris for E12 that just knocked our socks off (we are primarily $12-$20 Chardonnay drinkers) -- and we don't normally even like Pinot Gris! Eric is also very knowledgable of the local restaurants and can provide excellent suggestions.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StealthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2006

Beautiful property outside; generous room size inside; wine tasting in a wine museum on property with the winemaker or family members who are wonderfully friendly; tour of wine production facilities and quaint restaurant Auberge du Coteau in the nearby village

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cjskisfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curtil-Vergy
2.5 mi away
La Gentilhommiere
La Gentilhommiere
#3 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de Vougeot
Hotel de Vougeot
#1 of 1 in Vougeot
176 reviews
16.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
587 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
#2 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
80 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
#2 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Manasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Manasses

Address: Rue Guillaume de Tavanes, 21220 Curtil-Vergy, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Curtil-Vergy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curtil-Vergy
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing