We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Chateaux in the heart of the wine region”
Château facade with nice view on vineyards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Château facade with nice view on vineyards
heated and salt treated pool, electric cover living room with 19th century fresco
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Château facade with nice view on vineyards
heated and salt treated pool, electric cover
living room with 19th century fresco
dining-room with 18 seats dining table
luxury bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms
2 bedrooms have spa bath
beautiful view from a bedroom balcony
billard
well equipped 100m2 fitness and body building room
6 persons high quality Sauna
Twin beds can be converted into king size beds on request
big size beds: 180cm X200cm. High quality (Sofitel Type)
Steam-room
Château owner (wine expert) welcomes you for wine tastings in his private cellar
Michelin stared quality Chef cooking for you at the Château
Wellknown magician for private shows in Château living-room
Sylvia & Christophe, Château owners, at your service.
4 beautiful golf courses in the direct area
Organized balloon trips starting from the Château
Massages & Sports personal trainer available at the Château
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Mercurey, Saone-et-Loire, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
777Johnny
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chateaux in the heart of the wine region”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018

Relax in Chateaux Mercurey. Elegant communal spaces and we’ll appointed bedrooms, with three VIP rooms.
We went to cycle and really enjoyed cycling through the vineyards and discovering coffee and wine stops.
Some good and welcoming local restaurants about if you can drag yourself away from the pool and BBQ.
I don’t think you will be disappointed.
We loved it.
Craig

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Bonjour Craig. Thank you for your very kind message. It was a pleasure to welcoming you in Burgundy!
Warmest regards.
Christophe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towerpant...
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Incroyable!! Spectacular!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wow, where to start? The photos do not lie - it is a magnificent chateau that has been carefully updated to preserve it's old world charm while providing the creature comforts that we all desire on a holiday. Christophe was a gracious host, responding quickly to any requests or questions about the operation of the chateau. He was also very helpful for calling restaurants for reservations and questioning them about working around our allergies. Plus he hosted a completely free wine tasting at his chateau in Simard.
The chateau itself is magnificent, a beautiful living area steeped in history with an equally gorgeous dining room accommodating 16 (as I remember). We were a group of 11 for 4 days and everyone was very comfortable. The kitchen is a little on the small side but decently appointed with cookware etc. There were enough plates, glasses, flatware to host a party of 50 I think. We hosted Chef Thomas Lecourbe, a Michelin chef, on one night and we had a memorable dinner in celebration of some birthdays & anniversaries. He even surprised with a gluten free birthday cake that was absolutely delicious.
There are 8 bedrooms but the three on the second floor are definitely the highlights. So for big groups there may be a little competition for those. Having said that, the third floor bedrooms are spacious and most have ensuites. Though we didn't use them much because of a busy daily schedule, the downstairs was well appointed with a huge exercise area with multiple machines, massage table, even a punching bag! And a spacious sauna, steam room & full bathroom.
And the views from the terrace overlooking the vineyards & the town of Mercurey, unforgettable.
We did use the outside facilities frequently including the pool (which has an electronic pool cover), a BBQ, full kitchen facilities including fridge, cookware, microwave, dishwasher, range top (no oven) An oversize patio umbrella and lots of seating including chairs & chaise lounges.
Chateau Mercurey was a perfect launch point for our days activities that included bike/wine tours, trips into Beaune, Louhans, Nuit Ste Georges etc It is well situated and not far from everything you want to see in the Cote de Nuits, Cote de Beaune & the Cote Challonaise. And when you work out the cost per person for a large group traveling together, why would you ever choose a collection of hotel rooms when you can live like a Count & Countess!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire experience at the Chateau was wonderful
Liked least: Size of the kitchen for multiple cooks. Also the knives need to be sharpened
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freepirat...
Centreville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow! Just Wow!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When renting a vacation house from across the ocean, sometimes you get exactly what you expect and sometimes you are surprised. In the case of Chateau de Mercury we were overwhelmed by the entire experience.
We were 11 people, all one family, with ages from 13-72 on our annual summer vacation.
Upon driving up to the Chateau we were in awe. The pictures did not do it justice. We were greeted by Pascal, the “curator”. I chose that title because he seemed to take great pride in showing us the amenities and fixtures of the estate both inside and out. He took all the time we needed and had to take breaks now and then as we just looked on in wonder at all the sights to behold. The house has been fitted with all of the latest conveniences but at the same time exuded the charm you would expect from such a stately manor. The bathrooms had 5 star finishes and each one was better than the next. From jetted tubs to raised bowl sinks they were expertly designed to meet everyone’s needs. The kitchen was fit for a chef and had everything you could imagine needing though cooking was not what we were looking forward to. The beds were crisp and clean with pillows and mattresses both kids and adults wanted to take home.
You can read about all of the amenities online but know this: EVERYTHING was thought of in this Chateau. Extra electrical outlets near the beds, 5 different coffee appliances, pool toys, yard toys, enough dishes for a wedding reception, spices galore and the activities list should be explored and utilized as all of the vendors we utilized were top notch.
Kung “There is only One Kung” made our mornings a ritual of perfection. Breads fresh, coffee prepared, kitchen cleaned and table cleared. She does laundry! Use her and book early!
Chef Thomas prepared a feast for the ages with wines procured by Christophe. We enjoyed every last morsel and his dessert was amazing!
Air Escargot was a highlight for most of us. We rose over the roof of our chateau and watched the sun rise over the hills without a worry in the world.
All of those things paled against the private wine experience at Christophe’s chateau just a short drive away. He invited us as a thank you but also offered an upgrade to explore his cellar and taste even more wines. We chose the upgrade and were not disappointed.
Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering what you might have missed. Choose this chateau, book early and prepare to be amazed. It’s good to be the King . . . even if only for a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The juxtaposition of modern amentities with a classic structure all in a great location.
Liked least: I dont speak French
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjf111
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An excellent holiday”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were an extended family of 19 (10 adults, 6 children & 3 babies), and the Château de Mercurey suited us perfectly. The bedrooms were very spacious (one extremely large, with sofas and table). We had 5 double bedrooms, and 3 twin bedrooms, which exactly suited our needs - although I think there is some flexibility in converting the beds from singles to doubles, and vica versa. There was also a small "bonus" bedroom - which was not really mentioned in the advertising - which had a small childs bed & one of the cots.

The Château itself, is very large and spacious. There was plenty of room for us all to eat together at the enormous dining room table. There was also plenty of seating in the large lounge. Unlike some places we have stayed at, there was an abundance of plates, glasses, cutlery etc, which meant that you were not constantly waiting for the dishwasher to finish.

The pool area was excellent. There was a electrically operated retractable cover to the pool (it disappered under the patio area!) which meant the area was completely safe for children when no adults were present. The cover also helped to keep the pool from cooling down at night - although the heat pump seemed to be doing a very efficient job of keeping the temperature at very pleasant levels! Adjacent to the pool, was a good bbq area, and a lovely little outdoor kitchen, which housed a fridge, sink, another dishwasher, hob etc - plus lots more glaseses, plates etc. This was a real bonus point.

The Château is located on the edge of a vineyard, and just a short stroll from the vilage itself. We also discovered a large recreation park area, with a large lake, within a five minute walk. The lake had lots of ducks, and huge fishes, which proved an attractive pastime for young children with leftover french loaves!

Christophe, the owner, was very friendly and helpful, and has done a magnificent job in restoring the Château. We will go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
defroynur...
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Burgundy Experience”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third trip to Christophe's wonderful properties. Not only is the property everything any guest would expect to find in the center of world renowned vineyards, but the service and welcome that Mr. Christophe Gay, proprietor of the Kasteliades properties, is beyond hospitality. He personifies professionalism, hospitality, and the true meaning of a Bon Vivant in Bourgogne! His staff is prompt to respond to any need you may have during your stay. The chateau is wonderfully decorated and extremely comfortable with all the luxuries one could imagine in such a beautiful setting. Christophe himself, interacts with guests and is most accomdating with assistance to maximize your experience in Burgundy. Do not hesitate to stay at Chateau Mercurey- or any of his other properties. You will remember the experience forever!~ Merci a vous, Msr Gay and Staff!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality of the owner! The comfort of the chateau is exquisite.
Liked least: Only the fact that we had to leave! :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EclipticG...
Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There were 16 people in our group with the accommodation being excellent, all bedrooms with ensuites. The swimming pool was heated with an automatic security cover. The area was within easy reach of lovely towns. No hesitation in recommending it for friends, family or large groups.
Jan Lack, Melbourne, Australia

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesS100...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautifully restored chateau in the heart of Burgundy wine country”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in a number of chateaus across France now and Chateau de Mercurey is the best by quite some way. Firstly, the location is fantastic. It is only a 5 min walk to the local boulangerie, but the Chateau itself feels quite secluded. This is despite the fact there are 4 or 5 wine producers within 100 yards walk of the property, and most of them were preparing for harvesting to commence at the end of August when we were there. Domaine de Racquillet is particularly good, and is literally next door to the Chateau.

The chateau itself is very large (800 square meters) but not intimidatingly so. The views from the balcony of the middle bedroom were breath taking, and a lovely point to start the evening with an aperitif once the children were in bed. Our group was 4 couples with 8 children under 5, and the Chateau could not have been better equipped to keep the children entertained. There was a large, high quality trampoline, swings, table tennis, petanque pit, and heated pool. The magnificent sunshade by the pool really made the area.

Every booking through kasteliades includes a free wine tasting at the owner’s Chateau, which is around 30 mins away. This was a fantastic experience and Christophe’s hospitality was superb. I'm already looking forward to the next wine tasting with Christophe, as I'm certainly going to be renting one of his chateaus again. I highly recommend taking Christophe up on his wine offers, which allow guests to buy aged and rare wines at a fraction of the market price. I only wish I’d bought more. Overall, I would recommend the property to most groups, but if you have an interest in wine I struggle to see how the experience could be bettered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heated pool was fantastic for the children
Liked least: The kitchen was slightly small given the size of the chateau
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing