We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Sernin-du-Plain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Clos de l'Abbaye
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

What a lovely place! We stayed in very beautiful bedroom in a 300-year old wine/farmhouse, breakfast in the morning on the terrace with a stunning view, it gave us a perfect holiday feeling, the area is nice and quiet and the staff is very friendly!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisHenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

A friend recommended this place to me and we went with high expectations. Although the price is great and the views were stunning some things just left a sour taste in our mouths.
Fristly our room upstairs room was a little dark, although my sisters room near the workshed was lovely and bright.
When we arrived we were asked what time we would like breakfast - as we had in every other stop off we said "ten" only to be told "no nine". Not sure why they bothered to ask.
They also don't serve dinner, despite being told so - the only restaurant in the village was shut both nights we were there so we had to traipse into town, a 20 min drive away to eat.
Our main gripe though is that when we came to leave we were hit with a 10 Euro "Bebe tax". All we needed was a kettle to make up my daughters bottles - however our host insisted on doing it herself. The result was this charge on the end of the bill that even she found hard to justify.
Sorry nice price in an expensive country - but won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winodownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEROLANO, Propriétaire at Le Clos de l'Abbaye, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Sorry for this bad experience,

We try to be as fair with customer needs.
Perhaps that day was a bad day for you and for us?

Anyway, know that we are very sensitive to customer satisfaction.

Véro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

Our freinds and ourselves we were looking to get some quiet and relaxing hollidays in the French country side. We couldn't find a better spot than this one.
This old cottage is very well refurbished, and is located in a spectacular location. It has a fantastic view over the vineards. A small terrace in front of the cottage worked as our dinner table... Great wine and cheese, Oh La La!
This cottage is very well located. Within 15 to 30 minutes drive you can find everything you need: food supplies and also access to local culture and history.
There is a beautifull winding footpath in front of the cottage. You can also easily rent bikes to cycle around the country side. I recommend the local restaurant called "L'Estaminet"

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XPTOPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Of all the B&B’s we stayed in whilst touring France in 2007 this was simply the best, which is why we came back in 2008.

Véro & Pascal are the most gracious of hosts, from the very warm welcome on arrival to the Bon Voyage when you leave, after our stay it felt like we were saying good bye to old friends.

Le Clos de l'Abbaye is a beautiful old converted house and barns over looking vineyards. What you see in the photos on the owner’s website is exactly what you get. Fantastic hospitality, beautiful rooms, wonderful views.

Véro is most knowledgeable about the region and the wine grown there. We spent a day with her driving through the vineyards listening to her tell us about the grapes and wine, we also went to a barrel makers to see how the traditional oak barrels were made before Véro took us to a small local wine producer to see how the wine was stored and sample his delightful wines. Véro will also let you know where the best places to eat can be found too!

There is plenty to see in the area amazing old Chateaus, beautiful villages & towns and countryside. The one place you must visit is Mont Rome, a short distance from the village and quite a steep walk or drive you will be delighted with a 360 degree view of the area. On our last night we took a picnic and a bottle of wine and sat and watched the sun go down a perfect end to a lovely holiday.

10/10

  • Liked — Every thing
  • Disliked — Nothing it's all good
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzukiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

This is one of the best B&B’s that we have ever stayed in – the room was big, very clean and was nicely decorated.

For all of you who hate the soft terrible mattresses that you usually find in B&B’s and hotels – surprise! A very firm mattress, we slept like babies.

The view from the garden (where you have breakfast) is magnificent and the place is beautiful & very relaxing.

The owner (Véro) is very nice and is providing useful information and advice on the local attractions.

What else can one ask for? well, a longer vacation would be nice…

Ori & Tal, Lausanne, Switzerland

  • Liked — the location & View and the big & clean Room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orialk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Póvoa de Varzim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

This gite was absolutely fantastic. I t was very nice, comfortable and well cared, the decoration was really nice and the view from the terrace was stunning. The hosts, Véro and Pascal, are really nice, without being nosy and the dog, Bérut, is the cuttist thing. As for the village, it was lovely and the villagers were very friendly (it reminded me of the Jacques Tati's films in the 50's). If you like walking or cycling, this is an excellent area to do it for there's a cycling way within some kilometres. These were one of our best holidays ever.
Sofia e Ricardo, Portugal

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Salgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

what a pleasure and excellent luck to have found le clos de l'abbaye when there are SO MANY gites to choose from in France. Veronique and Pascal's charming 2 bedroomed gite and chambre d'hote was the perfect place to be based for all the reasons for which we were in the area.

We wanted to be in a village in the burgundy wine reason; we wanted to be in a quiet traditional wine village; we wanted english speaking welcoming hospitality; we wanted beautiful views of vineyards; we wanted access to the voie verte for cycling; we wanted to go walking in spring nature. We wanted to have personal introductions to wine makers in the immediate region. we wanted to be conveniently based while we hunted for a bolthole of our own in Burgundy within access of Beaune.

Well - we were able to fullfill all these wants at Le Clos de L'Abbaye.

  • Liked — the unexpected views in the burgundy wine region and the hospitiality of veronique
  • Disliked — the small lounge /dining room area. but not serious
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Sernin-du-Plain
2.8 mi away
Logis Des Trois Maures
Logis Des Trois Maures
#1 of 1 in Couches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine les Bertrands
Domaine les Bertrands
#2 of 2 in Couches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Providence
La Providence
#2 of 2 in Saint-Sernin-du-Plain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de l'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de l'Abbaye

Property: Le Clos de l'Abbaye
Address: Chemin des charrieres, 71510 Saint-Sernin-du-Plain, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Saint-Sernin-du-Plain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Sernin-du-Plain
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing