We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing , Beautiful Place and Value For Money”
Review of Bandos Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bandos Maldives
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Bandos i must say is a very good place to stay for a holiday.
We stayed here for 6nights/7days,mid october.
We had a standard room booked,which was really big and comfortable.The bathroom also was nice.
The room was little far from the reception (209),would have been a nice walk,
but since we had an infant with us,it was too tiring to walk.
We always insisted for a buggy,and always got one on request.
The room was very close to the beach
Breakfast buffet was nice,huge,and lavish.
the swimmimg pool was a great place to hangout,free wifi zone,and dipping in the pool was really relaxing.
The beach was nice and clean,really good for snorkelling.
Diving was really nice,a great experince,and a must do.
colourful fishes,sharks,lobsters,
The excursions were really nice-a local village trip,paradise island,night fishing and kuda bandos barbeque.
if you are shopping at the local village,souveneir shop,bargaining is a must,drop the prize to almost half.
Sea Breeze cafe is a good place for dinner,
drinks at the hotel are very exp so we carried with us some bottels of water,juices and milk for the baby.
it was my wife's birthday,so we got a complimentary cake from the hotel.
The staff was really nice and helpful.
the staff at riya was nice,specially Kori.
Overall a great experience,total value for money.
A Place to visit again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are nice and spacious.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliasgarp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,036)
There are newer reviews for Bandos Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

There were many positives about the Bandos Resort. I was pleasantly surprised in many ways.

The rooms are not fancy but were good, clean and spacious for my family of 4. The food was better than I was expecting. There was a good variety and quality and we had a very nice Thai buffet in the Thai restaurant. I thought the beaches were great. They are small but span most of the circumference of the island. The reefs and snorkelling were really top notch. Watching reef sharks just beyond the reef was a real thrill and the variety of fish you can see while snorkelling was amazing. The gym is small, but well equipped with newer equipment. My sons loved the games centre which included badminton, ping pong, pool etc. The pool was also quite small but very nice. It is a beautiful pool and very , clean, beautiful and relaxing. The spa offers a short free massage but I extended that into a long massage that was excellent. I read some reviews before we went that complained about the staff but we found them to be wonderful all the way around. There was also a very good singer on one of the nights we were there. The fact that it is so close to the airport is a big plus. My family also loved being on the huge deck at the Sundowner Bar where we watched the spectacular sunset every night.

There were a couple of things that were not necessarily negatives but things people should be aware of. It was a fair walk from our rooms to anywhere. At first I found this frustrating but as I relaxed more, I appreciated the leisurely walks which also helped work off the huge meals. The resort is very reasonably priced so where they make their money is on extra charges. For example, you had to pay $5 for 'extra' bottles of water and drinks were expensive if you were not on the comprehensive plan. I thought the cultural show was a little lacking.

All in all, my family had a great time and it was a great value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bdc888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were skeptical about how nice the resort would be as it was so much cheaper than many of the others we looked at. However, the rooms, restaurant and bars were of a high standard with spotless beaches and beautiful grounds. We were all inclusive which I would highly recommend as drink prices out with the plan were very expensive. We were given a complementary upgrade and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank P0ps73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked this resort as we learnt that the house reef was easily accessible from the beaches, this was true. Also the transfer was very simple and quick from the airport. We stayed for a week and that was an excellent length of time.
The De luxe room was very nice indeed, spacious and comfortable with an enormous bathroom! The beaches were fabulous , plenty of loungers so you never had to hunt for a place to park up for the day.
The food in the buffet inclusive restaurant was very varied and of good quality. We thought the service was good, we didn't see any indifferent behaviour from the Maldivian waiters.
I had a massage at the Spa which was expensive compared with English prices, but what I would expect from the Maldives! The treatment was excellent and the masseuse caring and professional.
The swimming pool was clean and again plenty of seating around the edge.lots of parasols.
The men in the Dive shop were very helpful when my snorkel played up due to the wrong fitting.
All the staff we felt were friendly and wanting to help us.
The half day snorkelling trip was extremely good and at 35 US dollars the best value of. All the trips!
The drinks were expensive, but we were expecting that and budgeted accordingly.
I find some of the criticism a little harsh, especially regarding the Maldivian workers. We were also not troubled by noisy guests.
The coral wasn't the brightest we have seen , a problem throughout the resorts I think, but the fish were fabulous.
There is no need to spend money on expensive meals on tHe other restaurants on the island, the inclusive is quite good enough. If you check up on timing you can take advantage of happy hour in the Sand Bar. Coffees and teas a free throughout the resort.
I can't agree with some of the negative comments posted, we had a great time for the week we stayed.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to De luxe. More space, less on the beaten track as guests walk past the standard ro...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rufusbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

From the time we emailed them regarding our arrangements/bookings till the time we left the island, they answered our 850 questions, our non-stop requests were met with (so long as they were causing no danger or were genuinely impossible). Ibrahim, you were superb!The staff friendly and approachable, the chef went out of his way to make separate vegetarian food at just the mention that we had a vegetarian guest and the variety as such for a vegetarian was not enough. A friends birthday was made extra special and another's hen trip a whole lot of fun! People went out of their way every time! we felt so special and everything was made so easy.

Given that the people that great, it just added to the beauty of the place! stunning clarity in the water, the colours, the snorkelling reefs, the colours underwater. Abdulla, our snorkelling guide was highly attentive and gave us amazingly easy to follow instruction. the crew at the water sports centre were very friendly and gave us good and honest advise about what activities to do or avoid or not do if we are already doing an activity. Akram was really sporting and pushed us to the extreme.

All in all, we came back thrilled, excited happy and felt like we had been living a dream on an island of happy!

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms are good and very central to almost everything on the island.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Divya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is our fourth time in the Maldives so we now have some basis for comparison. Overall we found this to be a good value for money resort in an idyllic location. Stayed on a half board basis with our two year old daughter and a second room for my mother in law. Everyone really enjoyed the holiday, but none more so than our daughter who loved every minute of it.

Positives
- The house reef was very good and the coral well preserved. Turtles and eagle rays were harder to find than other resorts we have stayed at ( fun island and biyadoo) but our perseverance did pay off in the end by spotting both in the last couple of days. Black tip reef sharks were present in abundance.
- There was also a nice bit of sandy beach before the reef where we could swim with our daughter.
- Food was of good quality and very varied each night. Yes buying lunch and bottled water was expensive (as you would expect for a tropical island) but we counteracted that by bringing with us lots of snacks and bottled water in our suitcases.
- Very well geared up for young children. The pool was huge, clean and had a nice kids area. Staff loved children and made a real fuss of our daughter.
- For the most basic room the standard rooms were clean and a good size. Also conveniently located for the beach.
- We got a free upgrade to half board when we booked with Travelbag, which together with the sale on BA flights (fly direct), made the holiday very good value
- Resort is close to Male so transfer was very short (and also very efficient)
- Generally resort was very well organised, with lots of excursions available and entertainment provided for children before dinner and adults after dinner
- kids club is a real bonus, providing free child care for children of three years and older in a nice air conditioned room...we didn't use it as our daughter was not old enough to go for free ($12 per hour), although she was probably an ideal age to make best use of the facilities
- The sea breeze cafe provided very reasonably priced kids meals for lunch ($4) and we're well set up for kids - taking great pleasure in providing plastic cutlery, colouring pencils etc.


Negatives
- As some other reviews have alluded to the service was poor at times, especially at meal times. Dirty plates were not cleared very quickly and we were rarely asked whether we would like a drink. This was most odd and the only reason I can think for this is that we bought water with us from our rooms so they assumed we wouldn't pay for a drink! This was a shame as as I've mentioned the food was good and the ladies greeting you were lovely.
- Check in was poor. For about half an hour we were just left to sit and wait in reception with no one to tell us what was happening. We then found that our two rooms were not going to be next to each other when we had specifically requested beforehand with the resort and the tour operator. In all we had to wait 3 hours before our rooms were ready, not ideal when you have a very tired two year old coming off a 10 hour flight....
- Room not far from ours was being refurbished and this was very noisy at times. We complained about this and were assured that the work would only take place between 9am and 6pm....so they completely missed the point.


In summary I would recommend this resort, especially to families. The island is beautiful and well maintained and half board was good value for money. With some improvements to check in and waiter service this resort could be excellent.

Room Tip: We liked room 204
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Welovethemaldives1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Please just book it i really can't believe some of the negative comments some people they must be so hard to please
From start to finish I could NOT find one thing to complain about, the journey from the airport was great stunning views just breathtaking 15 mins away from the airport which after a long journey is great, our beach villa was just amazing within a few steps to your own beach, the island is just beautiful nice to walk round very clean not crowded lots of space to yourself.
The food was great lots of choice,something for everyone beautiful choice of fruit and sweets ( we didn't get charged for water ) our waiter Shafi was a nice chap.
The staff where so eager to help and very friendly with a lot of smiley faces, we took 3 trips all which where well organised the 3 guides on the snorkelling trip where great, really happy show what a amazing place Bandos is, even our departure was well organised with baggage collection,drinks on board the boat and our baggage collected and taken straight to the Emirates desk the attention to detail was really impressive our package was all inclusive.
We will be booking to go again a very special holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oasis3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandos
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,573 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,778 reviews
4.6 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,213 reviews
11.0 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandos Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandos Maldives

Address: (Formerly Bandos Island Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Bandos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandos
Price Range: £117 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bandos Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not wishing to rest on the laurels of our existing achievements, Bandos Maldives had in the past year undertaken a major refurbishment project with the intention of transforming ourselves into a hotel that is truly reflective of the times. Careful consideration however, was given at all times to ensure that the old-world refinement for which the island has a reputation remained uncompromised. Under the project, major facelifts have been given to the front desk, lobby areas, shops, restaurants and bars and have furthermore commissioned a new swimming pool and additional accommodation facilities all of which perfectly blend with the island's tropical splendour and give visitors a taste of the Maldivian aesthetic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bandos Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandos Island Hotel Bandos
Bandos Island Resort Maldives
Bandos Island Maldives
Bandos Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing