We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Chaudenay
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I think the last reviewer was a bit over fussy or thier expectations are so very high. Thhis area has some very expensive, posh hotels ....perahps they should have chosen one of those. Compared to so much average and poor French accommodation - small hotels
/B&B's. The house is lovely, very clean, lovely large grounds, huge old building with loads of character and history. The small young family are very welcoming and could not be more helpful. We would love to come back one day - we are passing through on our way to Italy and are staying here on our return too. If it was closer to the UK we would like to stay here for a longer week or more holiday - a superb base from which to explore. We wish the family all success for the future as finding new life for such exceptional heritage is hard and needs supporting!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

There has been a change of ownership here in the last year. Although the house and owners are charming, booking restaurants and offering advice on places to visit, their unfortunate lack of experience of what should be top end hospitality shows. Rooms are spacious but spartan (the bathroom lacking soap), so we were hoping that the breakfast would compensate. Alas not. Breakfast is no longer served in the house as the brochure suggests, but in an airless outbuilding recently converted for the purpose. Some products were fresh, but we drew attention to the fact that croissants were stale, having been bought the previous day and not eaten. Half-empty pots of jam looked sad and uninspiring; flies merrily buzzed around. It would be nice to see the new owners making a success of their investment, but unless there is a rapid change of attitude visitors to this part of Burgundy can do better elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whingypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed one night on our return trip home from the south of France. We would usually opt for a hotel for a one-night stay, but stumbled upon La Maison Chaudenay while looking for hotel possibilities on the web. We considered ourselves very lucky to have discovered this place accidentally! The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a very nice, large en-suite shower room. The bed was large and extremely comfortable and we enjoyed a very good night's rest, followed by a delicious and very fresh continental breakfast in the very charming dining room the next day. We were impressed by our stay here and will definitely recommend it to friends and colleagues who plan to travel to or through this lovely part of France. Thank you for a very nice stay at La Masion Chaudenay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baroque-boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in the cottage for 3 nights in August and it was lovely. The cottage was spotless and had everything we needed. We used the garden for reading and sunbathing and enjoyed the relaxing feel of the whole property (and the company of the cat). The hosts are welcoming and helpful: we could even leave a bread / croissant order each evening and it was waiting for us on the front door when we got up. If you want a quiet stay, stopover or longer, this is a great place to choose.

Room Tip: we had the cottage, sleeps 4 well. B&B rooms were all very nice - we had a look at them all and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in La Cuverie which is spacious and well equipped. Yannick and family were excellent hosts - there when you wanted them to be and very happy to give advice. Yannick is very knowledgeable about local wines. They have lots of plans for developing the property further and we wish them every success. The photographs on their web site are a good representation of the property although the grounds are more extensive than you might imagine.

Only one negative - the apartment smelled a bit musty when we arrived and the bed in the ground floor bedroom was a little damp. I guess this is down to the nature and age of the building and this improved after a little time.

We hope to return next year

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimWatts954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at La Maison Chaudenay in July and we had a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The grounds at La Maison are beautiful and the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well appointed and the village of Chaudenay is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding villages and vineyards. However, our main memory of our stay is the friendliness and helpfulness provided by Yannick and Isabelle and their daughter, Virginie. We didn't have a car on the first night so Virginie offered to drove us into nearby Chagny to a restaurant and then drove us into Beaune next morning to collect our hire car. They provided bikes for a day's ride through the vineyards and generally were available to help with any request we had.

I'd definitely recommend La Maison Chaudenay to anyone looking for a quality B&B in the Burgundy region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Wow...we have just arrived home from our best holiday ever in France staying in the apartment at La Maison. We have been going holiday to France every year for last 8 years and La Maison topped the bill. Yannick, Isabelle and all the family were the best hosts, friendly and informative about the local area. Yannick gave us valuable tips on parking in Dijon and Chalon sur Saone. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and very pretty. The B&B accomodation is awesome, truly beautiful. We were lucky to have very hot weather but the apartment was cool and freshing. We were given parking in the barn to keep the car cool from 30-37 degree heat!!! We would recommend La Maison and the whole family to everyone travelling the the Burgundy area. Oh and the wine is fantastic !!!!

Room Tip: The apartment is cool, freshing and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaudenay
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Chouette
Hotel La Chouette
#3 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
104 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chateau de Bellecroix
3.0 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
423 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lameloise
Hotel Lameloise
#1 of 6 in Chagny
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Chaudenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Chaudenay

Property: La Maison Chaudenay
Address: 26 rue de Tigny, 71150 Chaudenay, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chaudenay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chaudenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Maison Chaudenay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing