We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location”
Review of West View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisburgh
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We opted for the West View Hotel in Louisburgh after first looking at hotels in Westport which we found to be way overpriced. The West View Hotel was a perfect alternative in so far as the price was very reasonable and the location suited us very well. Easy drive to Croagh Patrick (10mins) and Westport (approx. 20mins).
The rooms are all on the first floor and the hotel has a lift. The decor is not modern, but it is clean and comfortable with a cooked breakfast included. There is free parking at the back of the hotel and some good pubs and restaurants in Louisburgh. We found it a great alternative to the expensive Westport options.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    9
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Terrific hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel rooms were first class as was the excellent service and great food at very reasonable prices. A truly family friendly hotel with great staff & service. Looking forward to our next visit already. The only negative is that we has no idea about just how much this location has to offer with fabulous beaches nearby & stunning scenic drives surrounded by mountains and lakes. Definitely one of Ireland's hidden treasures.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank madaboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Last July, My family and I stayed for a week in "The West View Hotel," Louisburgh. On arrival we were greeted by the manageress/owner Mary Walsh. She was so welcoming to our family, we had made a long journey from Dublin after our long flight and we were exhausted! Thankfully Mrs Walsh and her staff were there to look after our every needs. The hotel was spotless, the rooms were spacious and the decor complimented the traditional yet modern Irish! Which myself and my family loved. JJ's bar and restaurant was the traditional Irish pub with warm and friendly locals there to welcome you to the village. The food from breakfast to dinner was fantastic, I work as a food and restaurant critic for a news paper in London and I found the food in JJ's to be the best I tasted while on holiday in Ireland. (try the cod or steak, yum!) We filled our days with different activities from mountain climbing to surfing to scenic walks Louisburgh and the surrounding area has everything holidaymakers look for if you want to relax and put your feet up or push yourself to the limits! Louisburgh, "The West View" and their staff made our trip to Ireland one we will never forget..... we have already booked our holiday for next July. We cant wait!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonGreg2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I stayed at the West View in April 2008. I thought it was a wonderful hotel - very attentive and friendly host and staff. My room was comfortable, nice decor. Breakfast and pub meals were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Stayed here for 1 night while attending friend’s party in the town.

This is a clean, comfortable hotel. Not in the luxury category but we were more than happy with it. We had a ;arge bright room with a nice bathroom. The bar food was good and we had a very pleasant stay overall.

The exceptional thing about this hotel was the staff, they were so so friendly. We had long conversations with numerous staff members, they just could not have made us feel any more welcome.

The people we met in Louisburgh also surprised us by how friendly they were. If you are planning a trip to Ireland, I think this would be a nice place to visit to experience true Irish warmth and hospitality.

I would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisburgh
10.8 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
893 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
1,428 reviews
10.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,027 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
945 reviews
14.1 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Hotel

Property: West View Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Louisburgh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Louisburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West View Hotel is a modern, recently developed 18 bedroom hotel in County Mayo, where you can step back in time to an olde-world charm of days gone by. Enter into a relaxed setting where you will be met with the unique personal friendliness for which the west of Ireland is famous, with some good old fashioned Irish hospitality. All rooms have been luxuriously furnished and offer a homely atmosphere. There is a choice of single, double, twin and family rooms all with en-suite facilities, free internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. The West View Hotel combines efficient service with flexibility, while maintaining a warm inviting atmosphere. Whether you are enjoying sophisticated dining in The Weir Restaurant or you are a guest at a wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your West View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing