We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
Review of West View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisburgh
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A group of us this June participated in the Focus Four Peak Challenge which made it necessary to find and stay in a hotel as close to Mweelrea Mountain for walk. Are we glad that we found this hotel and the two Mary's that run it. The group were delighted with spacious rooms, great showers, cleanliness. What sold this hotel for all 12 of us is the service and friendliness of Mary on night of arrival and next day - she could not do enough for us - which included allowing us to hold our rooms and shower on return from our hike . It was the little touches we loved . We asked for 12 individual rounds of sandwhiches - we received double rounds in each pack - and they were not just two slices of bread and bit of ham in middle - she excelled in the variety she gave us. On our return from walk - she had fresh clean towels in our rooms when we could have used the ones from earlier in day. Nothing was a problem. Breakfast was tasty and loads of what ever is required. The hotel may not be the most modern but the service, friendliness from Marys and morning waiter (don't know his name) makes up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leitrimlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just returned from Mayo after climbing Croagh Patrick with friends. Decided to stay in Louisburgh at the West View Hotel. From the moment we arrived we are treated brilliantly, nothing was any trouble. The staff were so helpful and such wonderful hosts. Spotless rooms, fresh linen and excellent en suite facilities. I have stayed in many hotels, in many places and while this hotel may not have all the facilities of some other larger hotels, what it does have is heart, it cares and it does make a difference. Maith thú.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wixy1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Being a SHERIDAN from Aillemore, Grandfather Patrick Sheridan, I was surprised to find that I was related to the Walsh family, who are the proprietors of the West View. It seems the Sheridans, the Needhams, and others extended the roots to the Walsh family. My stay with friends was extremely hospitable, the lamb stew was the best and of couse cold beer and warm conversation made for the perfect stay. There are no finer people than those in Louisbourgh. Good friends like Joe MCNamara, the owner of McNamara's pub, his bartender Laurence O'Toole, Gerald Kerrigan, Vincent Kerrigan, the Davitt family, the Gavins, the Burkes, the O'Malleys, the Maxwell family, Padraig McHale and so many others. Always enjoy my stay and plan to return to the West View Hotel this sprig. -- Ed Sheridan, HIMSELF

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The staff and everyone involved in this hotel deserve a gold medal, they are the most friendly and giving people we have ever met. Food was great Irish home cooked food, room was very very clean and spacious, great views and the location is a home away from home, strongly recommend for anyone traveling too the west of Ireland.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
9  Thank BrendenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Went back this year and all much as before. Didn't stay but used the bar - OK. Noticed the lift does not now work (seems to have been off for a while) although there are ground floor rooms (I belive) that guests who cant manage the stairs can use. Prices though do seem much the same as in Westport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The bar/restaurant does not seem to be open as much as you'd expect from a hotel. Rooms are clean but very ordinary. No real restaurant - seems the room doubles as a function room - decore quite dark and odd. Not bad but not what you'd expect from literature. Derelict building very close - doesn't do much for first impressions. Reasoably friendly. OK but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Rear looks onto river and countryside. Front looks onto street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We opted for the West View Hotel in Louisburgh after first looking at hotels in Westport which we found to be way overpriced. The West View Hotel was a perfect alternative in so far as the price was very reasonable and the location suited us very well. Easy drive to Croagh Patrick (10mins) and Westport (approx. 20mins).
The rooms are all on the first floor and the hotel has a lift. The decor is not modern, but it is clean and comfortable with a cooked breakfast included. There is free parking at the back of the hotel and some good pubs and restaurants in Louisburgh. We found it a great alternative to the expensive Westport options.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisburgh
10.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
877 reviews
10.8 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
10.0 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
991 reviews
13.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Louisburgh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Louisburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisburgh
Price Range: £70 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West View Hotel is a modern, recently developed 18 bedroom hotel in County Mayo, where you can step back in time to an olde-world charm of days gone by. Enter into a relaxed setting where you will be met with the unique personal friendliness for which the west of Ireland is famous, with some good old fashioned Irish hospitality. All rooms have been luxuriously furnished and offer a homely atmosphere. There is a choice of single, double, twin and family rooms all with en-suite facilities, free internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. The West View Hotel combines efficient service with flexibility, while maintaining a warm inviting atmosphere. Whether you are enjoying sophisticated dining in The Weir Restaurant or you are a guest at a wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing