We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Louisburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A lovely b&b in the centre of some wonderful landscape. Spacious room, comfortable bed, excellent shower, short walk into town, a very welcoming host, tea and biscuits on arrival and a great breakfast with the best sausages in our entire travels in Ireland! Croagh Patrick is very close by and there are plenty of other sites to see in the area.... Just ask Marion for a map and some tips! We would also recommend Clare island and inisturk if time allows.... Wonderful islands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

The drive from Galway to Louisburgh is truly spectacular. On arrival at the Ponderosa we were warmly welcomed by Marion, who then invited us to tea in the roomy lounge with her very friendly husband. The bedroom was very clean and smart, with en suite facilities and a very comfortable bed.
We were recommended a very good restaurant in the village, just a short stroll away.
After a comfortable, peaceful night, we enjoyed a full Irish breakfast and then off to the beautiful Clare Island for the day.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The Ponderosa B&B provides a true Irish welcome to the village of Louisburgh in the West of Ireland. The generous-sized room was comfortable, warm and welcoming on a chilly evening. The B&B is located on Tooreen Road, which is not the main road between Louisburgh and Westport, so there's not much road traffic to disturb your sleep if you like to leave the window open at night.

The morning revealed a beautiful view of the well-kept garden, sheep grazing in the fields across the lane, and the distant mountains. The ensuite bath is compact and up-to-date, with a strong shower and plenty of shampoo and soap.

Breakfast was a generous full-Irish in a lovely dining room, and Marian McNamara chatted and made sure we had everything we needed. The common sitting room is adjacent to the dining room, and offers a comfortable place to relax and read, and the sunroom overlooking the front garden has a magnficent view of the goldfish pond and the Sheeffrey Hills in the distance.

The Ponderosa is an easy walk from the village, so if you're planning to join the craic at one of the several pubs or restaurants in Louisburgh, you can easily do without a car. The Ponderosa is a wonderful place to stay in Louisburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acartia_tonsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed in this nice and peaceful place for a weekend and I felt very welcome from the moment I arrived. Nice and clean rooms with a great shower. Excellent reakfast served with a smile. The mountain view and the surrounding area with nearby sand beaches made it feel like a real holiday even though it was just a weekend away from Dublin.

Also no reason to go all the way to Westport if going out. McNamara's Bar in Louisburgh is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurboDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

On a recent trip to Louisburgh to compete the Gaelforce Adventure Race, I had the pleasure of spending 2 nights in Ponderosa in Louisburgh.

Mrs McNamara greeted us upon our very late arrival and was extremely friendly and hospitable. The ensuite room was warm clean and very comfortable, with everything provided i.e. towels, shampoo, haridryer etc. The Breakfast was fantastic and very flexible in terms of time and range of options.

I would not hesitate to go back to Louisburgh & Ponderosa, which is a lovely village situated in a beautiful part of the West of Ireland - with spectacular clean beaches and fantastic amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodt1mes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bien demander une chambre avec salle de bain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Olivier_2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
West View Hotel
West View Hotel
#1 of 1 in Louisburgh
58 reviews
2.5 mi away
3 Arches B&B
3 Arches B&B
#1 of 5 in Louisburgh
13 reviews
2 mi away
Cuaneen House
Cuaneen House
#2 of 5 in Louisburgh
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tooreen Road, Louisburgh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Louisburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Louisburgh
Price Range: £66 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located near all amenities. Tour Connemara, Achill Island, Clare Island & Inishturk. Near Blue Flag beaches, Croagh Patrick & Mweelrea. Fishing, hiking, mountaineering & surfing locally. 3 minute walk to the closest pubs & restaurants.All rooms are ensuite with TVs. Private parking & free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing