We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in a great area”
other travellers have booked this property
'Foxhollow Cottage'  at The Heathers near Louisburgh                                  DWR
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Foxhollow Cottage'  at The Heathers near Louisburgh                                  DWR
Sofa and fireplace in sitting-room.  CD, Sat TV, DVD,                                    ,   DWR Bedroom 1,  Downstairs, double,  ensuite.                                                        DWR
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
'Foxhollow Cottage'  at The Heathers near Louisburgh                                  DWR
Sofa and fireplace in sitting-room.  CD, Sat TV, DVD,                                    ,   DWR
Bedroom 1,  Downstairs, double,  ensuite.                                                        DWR
Upstairs front bedroom. Double and single.  Sea view.  View of assorted animals
Dolphin room loved by children - downstairs.
Roomy kitchen and dining space looking out on fresh farmland., sea view.         DWR             DWR
Upstairs en suite, roomy shower, one for each bedroom.                                        DWR
General Downstairs visitors washroom  in Foxhollow.                                    DWR
Clare Island at Dusk from Carrowmore Beach.  The pier is shown to left         DWR
Bunowen salmon river flows by under new bridge below the town.                   DWR
Three surfers at Carrowniskey beach.  4 miles. Surfing beach, Lessons given.  DWR
Carrowmore hill at dusk from the beach  n ear Foxhollow Cottage                       DWR
Three white horses, foot of the reek, Murrish, Near Louisburgh                              DWR
Sheep on farmland on the outskirts of Louisburgh. Photo taken from Foxhollow   DWR
Old Head beach & pier near, Louisburgh.  Lifeguard patrolled bathing area.   DWR
Sundown over Clare Island.  Photo taken 500 mtrs from  Foxhollow Cottage   DWR
Scenic view at Kilsallagh 3 Km outside Louisburgh on road to Westport.  DWR
Section of Louisburgh children's playground.                                                    DWR
Bundurragha river entering the sea near the mouth of Killary Harbour Fjord.   DWR
Open farmland at Foxhollow.  Hills are across Clew Bay                                   DWR
Section of Carrowmore beach near Foxhollow.                                              DWR
Louisburgh and Mweelrea Mountains from Near Foxhollow                               DWR
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Louisburgh, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
poh1976
lurgan
1 review
“Great house in a great area”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ticks all the boxes. It's exactly as the owner describes it. Have just booked to go back next summer making it 5 years in a row and everyone (young and old!) is really looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your lovely feedback! We look forward to welcoming you all back again in 2018! See you in the summer! Fidelma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beanieand...
County Westmeath, Ireland
1 review
“A lovely stay in a lovely house”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in foxhollow cottage for a week in July and it was the perfect base for touring Mayo. As a family of five, 2 adults and 3 children we found the house to be perfect. The beach was a 4 min stroll away from the house, the peace and quiet was wonderful yet we were only a 3 min drive to Louisburg town which provided all we needed. We really enjoyed our time in foxhollow, a lovely holiday in a lovely house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your lovely feedback! We hope to see you all back at Foxhollow in the future! Warm Regards, Fidelma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougy R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with great views”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Foxhollow cottage for a week with our family of 5 the cottage was lovely with plenty of space inside and out had a fab week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at Foxhollow Cottage! We hope to see you all again in the future! Kind Regards, Fidelma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NualaAsh
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent a fantastic week in Foxhollow Cottage. It is a beautiful house & has everything you might need - a real home away from home! It is clean, warm & comfortable. We had the best of both worlds with the sea on one side and the mountains on the other. We visited Clare Island, Leenane, Kylemore Abbey & also climbed Croagh Patrick but were quite happy to stay around the house too. The house is only 15 minutes from Westport & 5 mins walk in to Louisburgh. Fidelma was more than helpful & a pleasure to deal with. Would highly recommend this house as a base for exploring this beautiful part of Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future at Foxhollow Cottage. Warm Regards, Fidelma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelfastTa...
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful House is lovely area”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a very enjoyable stay at Foxhollow cottage. There was 9 of us, 7 adults and 2 children, and there was just so much space for everyone. Loved the fact there were so many bathrooms as well, we never felt like we were living on top of each other!
The house was extremely well equipped (probably moreso than my own house!), with everything you might need...from bbq, dishwasher, tumble drier and an extensive amount of utensil, crockery towels, linen etc.
House is in a beautiful area, with lovely quiet roads which are ieal for a cycle/walk, especially with kids. The views are stunning over Clew Bay and to Croagh Patrick. We were lucky to get one very sunny day, so made it to Carrowmore strand, which is a beautiful blue flag beach, with lifeguard etc.
Overall, a delightful holiday for us all, in a very well presented house. I would say, that I feel the pictures of the house don't do it justice, and don't convey house spacious and big the house actually is. We certainly hope to be lucky enough to return some day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2017
Thank you for your wonderful and detailed review of Foxhollow Cottage. We certainly hope that we see you back at the cottage in the future! Kind Regards, David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blackberry picking heaven in magical Mayo!”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This has become the home away from home for us. An opportunity to switch off and get away from it all although it's only 15 minutes from Westport town and minutes from some of the best scenery and walks one could hope for. We had our pick of beaches which are some of Irelands best although wrap up well!

Louisburgh is a quite town with some great places to eat and some super pubs. The winning piece for us is always the house. The space and the fenced garden for the kids is great. This trip was all about the Blackberry Jam! - fingers are still stained!!

David & Joan are winning hosts, The house is always impeccably presented and the kids love the bunk beds, playground around the corner although we haven't managed to coax our son up Croagh Patrick mountain just yet!

Couldn't recommend this house enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quite - location and house.
Liked least: impossible to say!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lurgan
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2017
Thank you for this lovely review! We hope to see you in Ireland again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing