We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So worth the drive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Beach Casino and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in the summer and four nights last December. Service is amazing, rooms are spotless and "cushy". Location is perfect to get away with friends and family (that's what we did). Hotel and parking lot is very secure and well lit. Looking forward to returning. Keep up the great work Southbeach!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linkin200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed and played over night. Rooms we ok could be cleaner, had a bad oder.
I liked the stay and play coupons and the slots were loose. Other than that there is not much else up there. It was a long way to drive, and it was not special

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed here on our way up to Victoria beach. The food in the bar was great. Also the drink specials were a plus. Our room was clean and nice. Though just be aware you cannot wrap your food up in the bar if you are staying there. I had no idea and had to trow it away. Also if you are from the us and used to drinking and smoking in a casino you can not do that here. You can have a drink in the bar but not on the floor. But this does make it a very clean casino.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank stagetek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed here for a Friday night with a group of coworkers. Room was average. The bathrooms are spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable and clean as well. The hotel is the only thing between Winnipeg and the Grand Beach area on HWY 59 so the restaurant on site is your only real option for food. The evening buffet was terrible but breakfast was good. The service in the restaurant was subpar. The casino was unimpressive. Far too many of the same games and the casino felt more like a bingo hall on the side of the highway. If you are looking to gamble in Manitoba, the casinos in Winnipeg are far superior.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Two, recent Thursday overnight stay visits for the specialty seafood buffet and gaming were rather disappointing. There were no lobsters and substituted small portion crab legs were cold, thin and hardly worth extracting. The hotel room rate was raised from $59. to $75. with no longer a free buffet breakfast included. The receptionist checking us in said it still was part of the deal but next morning we were told it was not the case. In the past years, there was more of a variety of games but now there are too many similar penny machines with small or no payouts. There are very few machines with larger progressive jackpots. Our visits will now be restricted to maybe once a year or none at all, as the overall picture has changed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank star2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel room was very clean, although the sheets were stained fairly badly. The lady at check in was very nice and the check in process was quick. I did not use the pool, but it looked really nice.

The best part about this place is that it is completely non smoking unlike the nasty smelling smoke filled casinos here in Minnesota. The casino is small, but very clean and I enjoyed it quite a bit. The burger I had at Mango's Restaurant was amazing, but the buffet they offer is small and is okay at best. The dessert offerings were good though.

I would most definitely stay here again and since it is a casino, the rooms are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamH06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed twice now at South Beach. First time we won a romance package and stayed in a suite, large jacuzzi suite was great. Room was quiet and bed very comfortable. Second time stayed in a king room, just as good. There are live bands playing in the lounge Friday and Saturday nights. Food is good in the lounge, restaurant is better than it used to be but my a personal preference is to never eat at a buffet.

Room Tip: There is a wide variet of gaming and plan to be there Friday and Saturday when they have free live b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kber82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scanterbury
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,205 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Casino and Resort

Address: One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Scanterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Price Range: £54 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Beach Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 minutes north of Winnipeg on Highway 59, South Beach Casino & Resort is the perfect location for a getaway. We have a variety of stay packages and great rates. Committed to providing “Affordable Luxury,” our 95 room art-deco hotel offers opulent Deluxe Guestrooms, Junior Suites and Grand Suite accommodations. Enjoy our tropical style pool, Mango's Restaurant, Blue Dolphin Lounge and the gaming excitement at our South Beach Casino, featuring 600 slot machines, table games and roulette tables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your South Beach Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Scanterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing