We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Beach Casino and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Up to Expectation”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I returned to celibrate my birthday. We purchased the stay and play package and were not disappointed with the hotel and staff. This is one of the cleanest and well run hotels we have ever stayed in. As an added bonus they gave us an upgrade to a Jnr. suite - it was great. The food is good in the restaurant and the service is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    68
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
55
92
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

For my birthday my wife took us here for a stay and play package,there was all kind of extra bonuses included in like ten dollars play money per day,buy one get one free buffet and great staff beautiful room delicious food(not over priced )It has been a great holiday weekend,we would recommend South Beach to anyone that needs a break from every day hum drum and maybe you might get lucky in the Casino we didn't

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for one night about 3 weeks ago.
Room wasn't ready when we arrived at 3pm, finally got it at 4pm
King suite on 6th flr right beside elevators. was assured that we wouldn't hear the elevators.
Wrong. After we got to our room at 10pm you could hear the elevators cluncking up and down until 3am. hardly slept. To add to the aggravation the air-conditioning wasn't working properly.
Room was stuffy and hot. Windows do not open.
The seafood buffet that night was disappointing.Would not come back here to stay overnight.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room next to the elevators, unless you stay in the casino until 3am We were in rm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicoRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

It is real clean and the staff are great. Keep it up good job I would come back in blink of a eye. And tell all my friends.you will say the same thing.if you were here.and you might get lucky at the slots.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a king suite for one night. It was part of the stay and play package where they give you the room and a few bucks to use at the casino when you spend a certain amount. The package also included a free buffet meal when you buy one. The price was only around $120.00 which was cheap for the room alone. Everything else was a bonus. The room was very spacious and nice. Two tv's, a whirlpool, large bathroom and kitchen area. It was very well laid out. Service was good. They even left a birthday card for me on the bed because my wife happened to mention we were staying there for the occasion. Pool was nice and parking wasn't a problem. We had a great stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went to South Beach Casino on a recent Friday to have the lunch buffet and spend a few hours gambling. We had only been there twice before for about 1/2 an hour each time (last time about a year ago). The buffet was OK - not great. I was the only one who took dessert - a minty chocolate cake, and it was delicious! For the price I thought the buffet was an OK value; I would not pay any more for it.

I liked that you could help yourself to pop/coffee while gambling. We were not aware that you could get an alcoholic beverage in the lounge and take it into the casino. I'm not a drinker, but my hubby and elderly friend would certainly have taken advantage of that. I (normally a non smoker) do like to smoke when at a casino and I was very pleasantly surprised at the outdoor area they have for smokers. You could not expect any better! It was great!

We were not all that happy with the machines. We like the old machines like the double diamonds and sevens and there were very few of these. As someone mentioned, there were way too many of those darn penny machines. We won a bit here and there to help extend our gambling time.

The casino areas were very clean and well kept. And the staff was very friendly and courteous. Overall, I would rate this casino average. We will definitely try it again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank albertaroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at Southbeach. We had a great time and Southbeach continues to impress. If you want to visit/stay at a casino hotel you cannot find a better overall place to go within a day's drive of Winnipeg than Southbeach.

Hotel - the rooms are very nice, clean, and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are equipped with decent sized flat screen tvs, IPOD docking stations, and coffee makers, amongst other amenities. Housekeeping service is excellent and front desk staff friendly and efficient. The hotel has a large beautiful pool and pool area with a large skylight area. There is no spa in the pool area. The room rates are very reasonable compared to other places we've been too.

Restaurants/food - the resort's main restaurant is Mango's which offers both menu ordering and a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Prices are reasonable and the food is generally very good. Buffet prices on weekend are a little higher when they have seafood and prime rib featured, but still a good value. You can also eat in the Blue Dolphin lounge. The food is very good and reasonably priced. On weekends they have a "beer and steer" special in the lounge for a reasonable $12.59. You can order food in the lounge till about 12:30 AM. Beside the front desk their is deli with ready made sandwiches, pastries etc. You can get food there 24 hours a day which is an improvement from last time we stayed as they used to close it around 12-1AM. Southbeach also offers room service. We tried food in all the various outlets and every meal was good and reasonably priced.

Lounge/entertainment - The Blue Dolphin lounge is open daily from 11AM (I think) to 1:15AM. It's a great lounge with a good atmosphere. We were there Fri, Sat, Sun and on Fri, Sat they offer free entertainment/bands in the evening from about 8PM-12AM. On the Sunday they featured NFL and NHL games, there is about 5-6 large screen TVs. They also have daily drink specials and during Jets games they have specials as well.

Casino - Southbeach has a good size casino with a wide variety of slots, and video poker and video keno machines. They also have table games like blackjack, roulette, and a poker room.The poker room did not appear to be as active as it had been when we visited in the past. The casino was recently renovated and is nice and clean, bright, and easy to find your way around.

Promotions - Southbeach offers a lot of promos which is one of the things that makes it much more attractive than the Winnipeg casinos and other casinos within a few hours drive of Winnipeg. On Tuesday's and Fridays you can earn a free buffet for either 3 or 4 hours play. There are numerous days when you can earn multiple points on your club card account. They also have a 50th plus club which entitles you to 20% off food any day and 50% off on Sundays. They also offer a stay and play package which is a great value. In short Southbeach is just loaded with promos! There are also at least 3 (maybe more?) self serve beverage areas in the casino where you can get various coffee beverages as well as soda drinks. They also offer a free valet parking service.

Staff - The staff at Southbeach is really what makes the difference and makes the resort more attractive than other casino/resorts/hotels. In a word the staff is exceptional. Every staff member we've encountered at Southbeach is friendly and treated us well. Obviously it is their jobs to be hospitable but you really get the sense that most of them really enjoy their jobs and enjoy interacting with customers, making them feel welcome and ensuring they have a good time. It's pretty apparent to me that Southbeach's management/owners have created a resort and atmosphere such that their top priority is to ensure that guests are well taken care of and all the staff has bought in. You really feel welcome and valued at Southbeach from the moment you walk in till the moment you leave.

In summary Southbeach is a great resort/casino that is well worth visiting and staying at. We highly recommend Southbeach to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegaslovers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scanterbury
24.6 mi away
Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre
18.7 mi away
Canalta Selkirk
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
43 reviews
21.4 mi away
Superior Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Spirit Rock Inn
Spirit Rock Inn
#1 of 1 in Grand Marais
3 reviews
20.8 mi away
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Casino and Resort

Property: South Beach Casino and Resort
Address: One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Scanterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Beach Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 minutes north of Winnipeg on Highway 59, South Beach Casino & Resort is the perfect location for a getaway. We have a variety of stay packages and great rates. Committed to providing “Affordable Luxury,” our 95 room art-deco hotel offers opulent Deluxe Guestrooms, Junior Suites and Grand Suite accommodations. Enjoy our tropical style pool, Mango's Restaurant, Blue Dolphin Lounge and the gaming excitement at our South Beach Casino, featuring 600 slot machines, table games and roulette tables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your South Beach Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Scanterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing