We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible time at mangos restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Beach Casino and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We ate at mangos restaurant with my family..i have my 11 month old daughter with me. to get my daughter busy we gave her wrappped candies to play with and next thing you know this waitress came towards us and grab the candies my daughter was playing and said your daughter is making a mess on the floor she said with a bad expression on her face and just grabbed the candies off my daughters hands and table...This waitress name is MARJORIE OR MARJIE DREIJER...SHE ALSO YELLED AT MY WIFE FOR JUST LOOKING AT THE BUFFET SPREAD BACAUSE ITS NOT OPEN YET THE BUFFET....NEVER SERVE US OR OFFER ANY HELP...IGNORED US COMPLETELY
...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank corkyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

The food is disgusting with prices to match. No one seems to be in charge. Almost every time we went to the buffet over the last year the chef stands there and tells us they have run out of the meat entree but you still pay full price for dirty looking lettuce with no tomatoes or cucumbers ever, brown fruit with the flies to go with it, some old chicken that is all bones and should have been boiled for soup, and very little of anything else that isn't covered in almost black, thick, salty gravy. The bar food is just as bad if not worse. How much would it take to slice some fresh vegetables, or give up altogether and sell frozen pizzas. Better yet, put a microwave and a fridge in the room and everyone will bring a cooler.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank floatplane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Booked the Stay & Play Golf Package that includes a round of golf at nearby Grand Pines with 3 other guys. Good value for the price and the hotel rooms are new and comfortable. No drinking or smoking while gambling so this ain't Vegas but OK for just one night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We're from Winnipeg and decided to booka one night stay, just to check out the hotel/casino. The hotel provided us with a baby playpen for our infant son. The room was spacious.
We spent out time in the pool with our son- the pool was basic- very clean and comfortable.
We enjoyed the "all you can eat" seafood buffet, which included lobster, crab legs, shrimp done every way, calamari, mussels and different typs of salads. A great deal at $19.95/person. No charge for our son (8 months) but he also enjoyed the seafood!
We did not step foot in the casino.

Our only complaint was that the bright lights from the pool prevented us from having a good sleep. When I called the front desk at 2am to ask if the lights could be turned off, he replied no, and that was that. In the morning, another front desk girl let us know that there were black out blinds on the window (wich were searched for, but couldn't find)!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcifuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I recently visited the casino and resaurant for breakfast with some colleagues. We found food stuck between the tables and the utnesils were stained with finger prints. The padded seats on every chair in the resaurant were filthy, stained with all sorts of food and drink. We all felt that a casino of all places, with all the revenue, would be capable of cleaning or just replacing these soiled eyesores. The food between the tables was a sad site and most likely the result of untrained, lazy cleaning staff that just do not care.
Breakfast was very good and the service was good, but the cleanliness of the resaurant was very disappointing. I will revisit, but feel that if these conditions continue, the casino will eventually gain a bad name and start to lose future business.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bam24Bam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Arrived at South Beach hotel, the girl at the front desk was pleasant and check in went smoothly. The lobby has a nice feel to it and is nicely decorated. It was worth our while to take the 45 minute ride from winnipeg, as the room was half the price of the other casino hotel in winnipeg. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. There was no problem getting a parking spot outside! Had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

now if you love your dog and you give he or she this disgusting food you lost your best frend for ever. saturday nigth was prime rib 18.95 ask for bread ,sorry thats extra $1.75 .terrible service i dont think they know what service means . the washrooms same crap no paper thats a good place not to fiend paper first time and lost time for me to bad no one cares

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xinababani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scanterbury
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,198 reviews
Viking Inn
#3 of 3 in Gimli
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Casino and Resort

Address: One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Scanterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Price Range: £53 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Beach Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 minutes north of Winnipeg on Highway 59, South Beach Casino & Resort is the perfect location for a getaway. We have a variety of stay packages and great rates. Committed to providing “Affordable Luxury,” our 95 room art-deco hotel offers opulent Deluxe Guestrooms, Junior Suites and Grand Suite accommodations. Enjoy our tropical style pool, Mango's Restaurant, Blue Dolphin Lounge and the gaming excitement at our South Beach Casino, featuring 600 slot machines, table games and roulette tables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your South Beach Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Scanterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing