We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful remote cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rostrevor, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan S
County Down, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful remote cottage”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Dan White's Cottage is a cosy little home quite high up the in the Mourne Mountains. The cottage itself is actually a little past the marker on Google maps, past Kilfeaghan Car Park And Amenity Area, if that's your preferred method of navigation.

The cottage itself was warm and immaculately clean. It had everything we needed for our short visit. There was plenty of wood for the stove, the wifi was operational, and the beds were very comfy.

The surrounding area was also wonderful to look at and walk through!

The hosts were fantastic and Yvonne checked up on us for questions and to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

All in all we were really happy with the visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2018
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Thank you Julie. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We think there is nothing quite like a cuppa on arrival so glad you enjoyed our welcome pack as well
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
We will be happy to accomodate you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
forde79
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A much needed break away could not have been made any more tranquil.”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was an excellent little cottage kept extremely clean containing everything you needed for a peaceful weekend away.

Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owner and a lovely little basket of welcome goodies. The rooms were comfortable and very well equipped; beautiful kitchen, cosy living room with the added bonus of a working fire. The views are truly breath taking. Enjoy your breakfast al fresco whilst surrounded by the locals in the form of sheep and cows. Rostrevor is about a 6-7 min drive away and you can find everything you need in the town should you fall short of supplies. Would definitely recommend to others and would never hesitate or think twice about returning! We are already planning our second trip. Yvonne and Eamonn could not be any more accommodating or welcoming and nothing seems like too much trouble for them. It is a true example of excellent hospitality.

Thank you again to the owners for a wonderful weekend away! We will definitely be back!

Adam and Geri

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S
1 review
“Too perfect to be kept secret!”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

All the features of a beautifully restored cottage with all the modern comforts of home. A peaceful setting with a panoramic backdrop of mountains, sea and sky. Our family of four (2 adults + 2 small children) holidayed at Dan White's Cottage for 2 weeks. We arrived to a clean, tidy and well equipped holiday home. We brought too much stuff ..as you do with little ones - but we needn't have bothered as the cottage has everything a family could need right down to a dishwasher & bathrobes!! The cottage is private and quiet and safe enough for 2 little ones to run free - a rarity these days! Our hosts, Eamon & Yvonne couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Simple, yet meaningful things made the cottage memorable, like bags of sweets for the little ones in the very welcome 'Welcome' basket, nature walks into the mountains, singing our neighbours - the sheep! making wooden boats and sailing them in the nearby Cassy Waterfall. The cottage was a perfect setting for what was a perfect family holiday.We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you very much . We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spa treatments and afternoon tea.......
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CherylWoo...
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Much needed tranquilty!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wow! Not very far away from home Dan White's cottage could have been a world away! The cottage itself is fabulous many hotels could take note. A welcome basket with beauitiful jam & real butter! What a treat! Everything was just really lovely. The warmth inside reflected the greeting we had with Eamon. I would highly recommend Dan White's cottage for those who need to really get away. So calm & peaceful with the solitude only broken by the bleat of your neighbour! Thank you x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing