We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms, average food, average service”
Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Porvorim B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good rooms, average food, average service”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I visited this hotel with friends when we were on a leisure trip. The hotel didn't do justice for it's price. Honestly you can find far better places to stay in Goa at far lesser rates. The food was also not that great. The breakfast was good though. The service was pathetic. Location wise it is located near the highway so location is not a problem. Not good value for money option.

Room Tip: all rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhilmangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
16
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Pros:
1. Location: Though it is located away from any beach, it has its own advantage. We could easily go to beaches on either side of the city

Cons:
1. Room: We were shocked to see torn bed sheet. Soap was not available in bathroom. We were given one of the room which was part of twin room. Though the door of entry to other room was locked, it seemed scary. View of terrace was neither pleasant nor seemed secured.
2. Breakfast was pretty average. Restaurant service was poor.
3. Wifi was chargeable (quite a bit)

Overall: Good option as budget hotel, if you want to stay in city or if you get good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akesha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

One of the best stays and I travel a lot. Hotel Orion is excellent, the staff are very refined and well mannered. Service is good. restaurant is fantastic. Rooms are spacious and well ventilated. I enjoyed my stay to the maximum, anytime in Goa - Orion will be the first choice

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This was the best suited hotel for me as my engagements were around Porvorim.

Pros: Food, Service, Helping staff, Got a nice deal on Cleartrip

Cons: Bit far from Goa's main attractions, there are more options and better options available near Bagha/Calangute/Candolim beaches.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Anurodh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed in the Orion Hotel, Goa with my family on March 2013. Hotel is Excellent and the room service is extraordinary. All the Hotel Staffs are very friendly, and they kept me and my family very comfortable. Worthy to stay in this hotel. The Collaboration company which they have for Local City Tour is Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Krishna Prasad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

got to the hotel at 9 and got a suite immediately though the check in was 12pm.reception was good, rooms are well maintained and clean, complimentary breakfast was very good, pool not maintained, gd one

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Harsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOrionPorvorim, Front Office Manager at Orion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for reviewing our property on the public forum and are glad that you choose us during your recent trip to the Goa. Our team strives to comfort every guest with utmost care and ensure to offer a relaxed stay.

warm Regards
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
207 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel is on main road, surrounded with good food joints. Nice hospitality and very cooperative staff. Roof top open kitchen is amazing.swimming Pool on the top floor in open gives a great view. Conference room is nice. Food quality was good.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TPsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porvorim
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chandrageet
Hotel Chandrageet
#1 of 13 in Porvorim
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angels Resort
Angels Resort
#30 of 105 in Bardez
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
OYO Premium Panjim Porvorim Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ashirwad
Hotel Ashirwad
#5 of 13 in Porvorim
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horizons Shalom
Horizons Shalom
#1 of 7 in Porvorim
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Nh 17, Porvorim 403521, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Porvorim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Porvorim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orion is a 4 star business class hotel in the heart of Alto Porvorim, Goa. Conveniently located on NH-17 and close to the Assembly complex and Secretariat, Orion is the ideal destination for a business traveler. Orion is the ideal destination for a business traveler. Only 3kms from Panjim and 8kms from Calangute beach, it is even best suited for the leisure tourist. Exquisite interiors, impeccable service, fine cuisine and contemporary technology come together to create an experience that is both grand and intimate, making Orion the brightest star hotel in its class. The 42 rooms comprising of 24 Executive, 16 Deluxe rooms and 2 Elite Suites are not only roomy, but also far removed from the mundane. Hotpot, a multi cuisine restaurant, caters to the diverse palates of guests coming from different parts of the world; famous for the sumptuous variety of dishes made from the master chef's secret recipes. A well equipped bar in hotpot calls for a bit of indulgence and allows one to wind down in the night. Galactica-Crucial meetings. Cheerful Gatherings. A banquet hall, a conference room,a convention center,a meeting area.Galactica is all of that and more. Fully equipped with state of the art facilities like sound system and video conferencing and with a capacity to house 135people at once, Galactica offers both the freedom and space to conduct critical business meetings or cheerful social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Goa/Porvorim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing