We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience, but it was definitely not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mixed experience, but it was definitely not worth the money.”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were here on a family vacation, had booked all inclusive package.
When we arrived we felt welcomed, they immediately interacted with kids and made them felt comfortable so that we can take care of other business.
We got upgraded to their suits which were nice but that was it.

When we went to actual suits,.... well in one suit water was coming out of bathroom, in another AC wasn't working, in yet another you can see socket opened in the bathroom, hair dryer hanging on one screw to list the few.
Dinner first day was totally bland, when we complained they offered to make it customized dinner for us as per our taste as they cannot do that for whole buffet considering wide clientele.
Next day we did ask and still it was no improvements !

However their breakfast was excellent, wide variety... live cooking everyday for breakfast too. So you can get Dosa, Parathas, Omelettes, Eggs ready as per your order. We loved breakfast.
We didn't have lunch there everyday but all the days that we had, it was good, a lot better than dinner they serve. So seems like they had different chefs for breakfast, lunch, dinner....who knows.

Their cocktails at bar were over-priced and having tasted all over the globe i can say not a bit authentic.
However staff was really helpful and friendly. All the problems we reported they tries to take care of it until the check-out day.

There is not much around the resort at a walking distance (apart from 2-3 general stores) if you want to walk outside in the evening. So with small sleepy kids at the time we felt as if restricted in the resort.

We requested a late check-out ( 2 hours late only than their 11:00 o'clock check-out) time, they denied. We requested to have just one room for two ours and if our rooms were booked to give us a standard room so that kids can sleep, they didn't listen a single thing. We had a real hard time with one kid being 6 months, one being 1 years old and another being 3.5 years old.
The taxi we booked for airport didn't arrive on time and we nearly missed our plane.

We did have good time at resort but that was mainly as we were in a group.
But this is not what we expect after spending so much on a few days vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lopa_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
We do look forward to making every stay better & better. Thank you for your comments. We certainly will take the necessary correctives. looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    285
    127
    50
    69
See reviews for
347
207
17
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Nicely built property next to Utorda beach, nice rooms with ample space and very well maintained , food quality is good , decent options available though service is bit slow, away from main town . , connectivity could be a challenge for going to other parts of the city.

Room Tip: Royal suite has got pool attached to it but not worth price paying for it , normal category rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you for your valued comments. We appreciate the time and effort to put these across. Do hope we can serve you in the near future & even better. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

It's really awesome place in terms of location, in terms of hospitality and food. A very warm welcome at the time of check-in. Full of entertainment at pool. Ofcourse, sea beach is a beauty. Delicious sea foods. Best place to stay and relief your stress at spa.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Guest you have hit the hammer on the nail. Yes this is a place to let the stress in you flow out. Thank you for taking time to put this aboard. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Don't let the attractive grounds fool you. Inside, the rooms are in a dangerous state of disrepair. In our room, a bedside lamp sparked electricity when we touched it, fizzled out, and stopped working. The bathwater ran a deep shade of brown. The bathrooms were moldly, dark and dingy. Several lights in our room never worked or worked only some of the time. The internet connection, for which you pay a hefty price, worked approximately 30% of the time.

Add on top of these structural problems:

- A purported policy of only allowing each room to have one key card for "security reasons", though they said they would be happy to let us into our rooms should we need it (without an ID check of course).
- Torn, stained bath towels;
- No bath mats, hand towels or washcloths;
- Failure to provide a crib, though cribs are advertised as being available. The resort markets itself towards families with children and has only one crib available for the entire resort.
- The resort is a wedding and party factory. There is one almost every night and these can get loud.
- The resort itself does not own or maintain any property on the beach itself. Stretches of beach are covered with lounge chairs associated with beach shacks. Most allow you to sit if you pledge to purchase lunch or dinner. Prices are spendy. Except for Balton's Beach Shack just outside of the resort gates, we found the food to be generally abysmal at these shacks.

On the plus side, the housekeeping and staff at the restaurants (Boat Quay Grill) were nice and did a great job. Beds were comfortable, rooms were well cleaned.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nuffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Going through the points mentioned, some are very true. Unfortunately the error happened in the said room. But as you are aware an electrical or mechanical fault can occur anywhere & anytime.
Sorry for the same. Our team rectified it immediately. We did take extra care about the same. The beach is a public space. Yet we are lucky to have part of the beach exclusive in our own property,with the Boat Quay Grill (Two Times "TIMES FOOD AWARD " Winner) in the same area. All the same we do look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Having been to Royal Orchid hotels in other locations,we decided that we would stay here for our second trip to Goa.
The positives are:
The hotel is located right next to Utorda beach which is just so calm,clean and beautiful and is totally uncrowded all through the day.The beach is directly accessible through a path running from the hotel which I thought was absolutely lovely.
The service in the hotel,we found perfect.

What disappointed us was the fact that the restaurants menu was very limited and since our package included all three meals,it got quite monotonous after sometime. Though the food was tasty,repetition created boredom.

The rooms were beautiful and spacious.
However the sofa bed provided to us was just utterly uncomfortable! It kept folding on itself (the staff propped it open with a brick!) and the mattress was so thin that the springs kept digging into my back all night!!

So even though we had a great time travelling in Goa and had a good time at the beach,the hotel itself was quite a disappointment.

Room Tip: Rooms 105,106,205 and 206 have a pool view but are far enough to not be too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megz_2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
We assure you your comments will take us to a better level. Thank you for taking time to put this across. Looking forward to serve you even better in your next visit....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel is very nice. Rooms are spacious, however the bathrooms could be better. i got a feeling the bathrooms were very old. Not very well kept. Breakfast was very good. The spa on-site is excellent, definitely worth a try. Not too far from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruchi2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for your comments....The first for 2013...... We appreciate the time and effort you put to take this across. Assure you even better in your next stay. Wishing you a great 2013.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We have just returned home from a wonderful holiday in Goa. Having spent a week in total at The Royal Orchid Goa, we were most impressed by the hospitality offered by the management and staff. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The accommodation was very comfortable. The food was excellent and it was good to try some Goan specialities. The Boat Quay Grill has won The Times of India award for the best grill for the second year running. Above all it was the friendliness of the staff that impressed us. We were made to feel very welcome and our enquiries and requests were always answered with a smile. We have many delightful memories. In particular we remember sitting in the lobby, looking at the Christmas tree and listening to carols being sung in Konkani whilst outside the sun was blazing down and the temperature was in the thirties! We do intend to return to Goa in the future and we hope to spend some more time at the Royal Orchid.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies which face the pool and others have more private balconies facing away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnmarilyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Compliments of the season. We thank you for your detailed comments & appreciate your views too.
Looking forward to serving you even better in the future.
Wishing you lovely 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
7.9 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
13.1 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa

Property: Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa
Address: Uttorda Beach | Salcette, Utorda 403713, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa...... Serene Seashore/Coastline.....Luxurious well maintained lawns......Petit cute gardens.....Water bodies with live Koi fish,lilios,lotus,orchids & anthuriums.....Tempting clear blue pool.....Remember we are on the beach,not at the beach..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Beach Resort And Spa, Goa
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing