We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We reached the Hotel in afternoon, just in time for lunch and were very tired from the traveling. But once we entered our room, we relaxed. It was spacious and very relaxing. The best part of the room was its comfy bed. The hotel is just beautiful and worth visiting!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shubhangi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

The hotel is truly a haven for all those who visit Kenilworth!! Every customer is special for them.

Kenilworth provides loads of re-creational facilities and indoor & outdoor games like pool (billiards), Carrom, Movie watching (from a list of lovely movies for kids), pool volleyball, beach volleyball, beach cycling, lawn tennis. They have an Activities calendar for the day which is put up at the activity centre on a black board! The activities are real fun and interesting and will keep you engrossed throughout the day!

They teach loads of wonderful things like Kite Flying on the beach, there's a swimming trainer who was really good at teaching us swimming basics! We did learn quite a lot from him in 3 days at the pool. The Lawn tennis and the billiards trainer also took extra efforts! We never thot that we would learn how to play pool from Kenilworth!

The private beach is an awesome one with beach beds and clear sand. The walk between the pool n the gardens till the beach is lovely with the pathways lit up with small lamps. The hammocks hung between the coconut trees provide solace for book readers or just to relax few meters away from the beach listening to the waves from the sea.

The Kenilworth chef deserves a lot of appreciation too! He kept us 200% happy with his varieity of vegeterian food and the scrumptious, mouth watering desserts...the buffet was simply ooooh la la !!! Inspite of the buffet, the restaurant staff went that extra mile for us and provided us personalised food whenever asked for!

Must say that all the staff was very hospitable, always smiling! The room service was quick n excellent.

All in all...Kenilworth zindabad! Complete Paisa Vasoool with excellent service ! :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAhuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Stayed here when on business tour. liked the new rooms. food was great.service is excellent. buffet breakfast & dinner were awesome. swimming pool was inviting even if i don't know swimming. This property is highly recommended for the price. I will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipadvisorbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

From the moment we entered this hotel, the service was great. We were welcomed with an exotic drink, and were lead to a wide and spacious , yet cuddly and warm room. The best feature of this resort is the restaurant. I would say, its one of the best buffets. Its not too fancy, not too less, its the kind that you can happily indulge in without being too stuffed up. The beach is great for family fun, not too crowded.And yes, they have a wonderful spa too... On the overall i would give 4 outta 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilsatyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Goa - Land of Gourmet. Kenilworth - Service with Smile.Excellent food by Chef's with kitchen staff according special attention to customize and going extra mile, I'm sure any one would love this as they make you feel at home.A comfortable and cozy stay with personalized service. We had a great time indulging in the pool, play snooker, carom, beach volleyball, lawn tennis, basket ball apart from daily activity schedule that the staff arranges.The lazing around in hammocks was so much fun. Over all each and every staff member was very cooperative. The evenings use to light up with live music being played ..

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drkraichandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Kenilworth is a decent 5* property. Its structure was however more appealing than the actual stay. Food was ok. However, the resort has supurb pub - completely red in colour. The DJ was also excellent. Frankly, you expect more from a 5* property.

Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
Thank amol27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

The Bedbugs story

Spent a bombshell to book this resort , first thing i noticed was the phone in the room , which had 2-3 small brown coloured insects crawling inside the phone buttons. I said EEEHHH !!! I touched the table. It was wet . Soon i realised the room was so humid , that the desk , the Sofa cloth all were having moisture. I kept a paper in the night on the table and voila it was wet the next morning. Same happened to he biscuits as well.

Yes me and my wife were given a room which was too humid , no direct sunlight , and their were bed-bugs . I will post a proof of my hands having the spots and still after 3 days we both have itching. I plan to go to Doctor if the itching persist for few more days.

House keeping:
As i said earlier , there was humidity , because of improper ventilation , no sunlight , A/c cause lot of humidity. Ultimately it was a breeding ground for the bedbugs . I got the bed-linen changed , but me and wife again got the bites whenever we were inside the blanket . Initally thought it was mosquitoes , turned on the mosquito repellant , kept it on for hours , but how the damn mosquito will come inside the heavy blankets . Yes it was the bed bugs only. I still have the marks on my hands and legs , which gives an itching sensation every now and then. USually mosquito bites go in 1 or 2 days, but even after 3 days , me and my wife have the marks which grow big and then turn small every now and then. We are totally screwed up.
--> Had to tell them 3 times before calling to reception to get my room cleaned. The other day they cleaned it while we were not there . Then we got our check-out extended till late evening , and the house keeping did not come till afternoon.
After request they just did some broomimg , and were not willing to change the bed-lines and pillow covers . And they didn't change also .

The Bath Room:
Very humid and no ventilation. It was like a dark room . The bath tub closing was very very tight. The MUG had a hole , i had to get it changed immediately. Since no ventilation , they will put heavy spray in the morning to subside the smell.But for how long ????

Location :- South Goa near a lesser known Utorda Beach. South GOA is a must no-no for the first time visitor , unless you want to forget that you are in GOA , and want to limit yourself to few small beaches with some dirty shacks around.
The only place in my itineary which i reached in comfirtable time was the AIRPORT which took only 20-25 mins.
A visit to Tito's and Mambo's from the resort costed me 1800 Rs ( 40 USD ) ( Non a/c ) as it is 110 kms to-and-fro
A visit to the Old Goa church and some sub-standard Cruise ( booked by resort itself) took the whole day itself .
A visit to even the South Goa beaches say Colva beach / benaulim beach took 1200 Rs ( 26 USD ) ( Non a/c )

GOA is big , but it's better to stick in a place , which is near to most places that you plan to frequent , rather than being in a corner place called South Goa , and spent an equal amount in the travel ( both time and money ) . It was so odd to return back at 2: 30 AM from Tito's to resort back in the wee hours. The party starts at only 12:00 so u would like to stick around for at least some time before you decide to go back. It took 1 hour back to the resort . I would have been better off staying at Calungate or Baga , so without having this distance concern in my Mind.

The places near the hotel :
The hotel is at such a corner that there are no shops in at least 5 miles . After that u can spot the village and some small mom-pop stores . I bought a Dura-cell battery from 1 such shop which lasted for only 5 shots in my digital camera. Great!!!!!!!

The Taxi Stand outside the hotel:
For conveyance , taxi is provided by the hotel , which they order from a small taxi stand just outside the resort gate. The taxi charges 4 times the charges which otherwise you would have paid elsewhere ( even from the GOA standards ). They have monopoly of the rates , so they charge high.
I used to pay 250 Rs , when i stayed in NORTH GOA for an effortless pick-up drop . Now for the same i have paid 900 Rs here !!!!


My hotel room: ( The truth of the garden view )
They gave me a room on the First floor ( the lobby level ) as i had booked a garden view. When i opened the balcony , there was a view of just an abandoned land with some green bushes around . There was no scope for direct sunlight in my room.
The garden view as i had imagined ( what they display in their website ) was in the rooms on the opposite side of the lobby.

The Watersports and distance from the beach:
The back side opens towards the beach . ( It's not the private beach but the backside opens to a beach ) . There is one shack which is dirty even by indian standards. The hotel says , they have watersports. Yes you can avail it right there at the beach . What happens is they call the water sports guys from a nearby beach . They will come in 5 mins , but they charge you 3-4 times because you stay in Kenil Worth.
I will put the scanned copy for your reference , but you can even confirm the same from the resort itself.
1) Para-sailing : 1800 Rs.( 1 person ) vs 500 Rs. ( 2 persons ) in Baga/Colva
2) Jet-ski : 1200 Rs vs 300 Rs in Baga/Colva ( 2 persons ) in Baga/Colva
3) Water scooter : 1000 Rs vs 300 Rs ( 2 persons ) in Baga/Colva


The site-seeing arrangement by Hotel:
A/c was a must , it was given. First we sat on the 4 th row in the bus , It was too shaky. Shifted to 2 nd row , it was fine.
They will take to the OLD goa church , hand you over to the guide there , who will be able to explain only in Hindi language , not the English.
Then they will take you to a unknown temple. I have faith in GOD , but don't know why they included it in itineary.
Then the cruise , some third grade ( duplicate DJ is better word ) , will present three dances from the crew and for rest of duration asks the passeneger to dance themselves.


Most Important , the FOOD :
Breakfast was included for all days. If you are not from South-Asia , you are bound to suffer a lot on this front.
First the breakfast will have all south indian delicacies. The only option suitable for you may be Bread / Butter / Omlette / Juices ( not fresh juice but packed one )
Lunch and Dinner used to have only 2 food items kept in a corner which wll be made from HAM or BEEF . I never understood the names , but the count is correct , only 2 items , except the Indian delicacies. Food was good if you forget the OIL content in it. The only other place i have seen so much OIL in India are the road side Dhabbas , but that is not heart burning as they charge you 50 times lesser. I am tired of giving the figures , but spending ~ 50 USD per person ( without the drinks ) is too much from even from the star standards.


Restaurant :
Only a staff of 2-3 waiters for some 30 tables. Have to call them a lot of time before they actually turn-up.
they expect everyone to take a Buffet . If you want to order seperately , you got to wait a lot..yes a lot.
I sat once in the garden to listen to the guitarist , but the mosquitoes took so much blood off me , that i had to come inside. The food even from Indian standards was very very oily.

RED: The so called dance floor
Nothing inside except for the few bottles and a bartender. Yes u can dance your self on the floor if you like but no DJ ( first thing told to me by security)
As for entertainment only 2 carrom boards , 1 snooker table , 2 sofas ..that's all.

The laundry:
For a handkerchief , they expect you to pay 1 $ . In india you will not find even the best branded handkerchief costing so high. Why not buy a new one , than to get it washed...



They have many bars here and there , one besides pool , they call it sunken bar. ok not bad
Then one besdies the lobby , another one besides the pool itself . But drinks are damn costly,

The internet :
It costs 10 $ an hour !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok enough beating. The good things :
Well maintained Garden as well as Pool.
Guitarist plays well.
Staff told to always do a "namastey" to everyone they see.
Nothing else that i could remember .

My Conclusion: Never in South Goa because of the Distance and cost of travel.
Never in Kenilworth because of the above reasons.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onlyrohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
13.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
24.5 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
9.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Resort & Spa

Address: | PO Marjorda, Utorda 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price Range: £106 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenilworth Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a tranquil retreat surrounded by the pristine beaches and exotic tropical beauty that Goa - the land of sun, sea and sand - is known for. The rooms of this 5-star property are beautifully designed to reflect the by-gone Portuguese era. Tradition seamlessly blends in with all the comforts of modern day luxury to make for a highly relaxing and comfortable stay. Step out on to a private balcony over-looking the Arabian Sea and the beautifully landscaped swimming pool. With impeccable service standards, water sport activities and luxurious spa treatments, The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is a delight for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kenilworth Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Kenilworth Resort And Spa, Goa
Kenilworth Beach Hotel
Kenilworth Beach Salcette
Kenilworth Beach Resort Goa
Kenilworth Resort & Spa Goa/Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing