We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated and hard to justify 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Certificate of Excellence
Expat in Madras, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“overrated and hard to justify 5 stars”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I was surprised that this was a 5 star resort. More like 4. Arrived and the place was a mess after a huge wedding function. Room was okay, large, but 4 star. Food was the best thing, it was good. At least it was near the beach. The spa was under renovation when I was there

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rawguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    381
    128
    48
    55
See reviews for
556
297
21
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed for 3 days with family/ good hotel / huge pool & lawn area.
Great food / near by the sea with water sports.
Down side-Over booked/Last day have to stay in near by hotel, due to error in central booking off mumbai.
Few points- gym / tennis court need shoes.
great massage palour.Day trip to Goa good.
All in all good stay for family.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank axxTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Excellent property. Average food, at times taseless.
Staff was very courteous and prompt in responding to service calls.
Lovely, well maintained swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunmakMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I have stayed in this Report several time.

Its simply the best.

The only draw back it has is rooms are small compartively.

Best: SPA and Ambience

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiearora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Good resort with all the amenities like gym,swimming pool,indoor & outdoor games facility,In house pub, Private beach etc.,
The food is aslo very good in the restaurant .
The rooms are neat and clean with space and ambience.
No disturbances as the hotel is far from road side and just 5 mins from beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

well, we ( my family & my friend's ) booked for as group booking for around 3 nights stay. imagine even though we stayed adjacent, the rooms were different though charges we paid were same.
toilet was leaking and bathtub if are in - overflows to the room.
breakfast - repeative each day - and the fruits were leftover of previous night. interestingly found one chef handling dosa counter with open finger wounds. -
either lunch or dinner - the foods didnt have any authentic flavour be it be goan or kolkatan fish preparation. or chef didnt knew whats the flovour are.
buffet service was disruptive with the German GM of the hotel standing at the main entrance without even being bothered to see that service helpers of buffe are approaching counters from customer end and not from back.
at 2nd day's stay - the whole swimming pool was taken over by a loud party arranagment from morning 9 am to evening 6 am, managment overlooking other guests inconviences.
even it so happened when my friend was about to lightup a smoke it was stopped but guest of German GM at the same place was allowed !!!!!!!!!
bad - food and didnt have much seafood, managment attitude/ outlook , facilities, sevices
good - staff for some prompt service during the sickness of my friend's kid beyond midnight. if u want to take over the hotel with a gang of people and cause inconvience to otehrs - yes its recommonded.
bad - no spa activity was offered though its spa specialised as per its input

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank koushikrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We chose to stay here as listed in the small luxury hotels. Very surprisingly. While the reception is gorgeous and service friendly (DELICIOUS welcome drink!), our room was very very tired. This was our first hotel with shower over the bath, which overflowed water endlessly. A terrific touch having activities for guests such as kids games and cooking classes, when we had a cooking class it was held in the outdoor restaurant area which hadn't been cleaned properly, both on the tables and on the floor. A welcome happy hour shouldn't have resulted in a 20+ minute wait for two cocktails. I left quite a list of feedback for the hotel as we had high expectations that weren't met. Back to the positive though, there's lots of space, beach front, and the hotel manager is Australian and very friendly and helpful. A lovely touch that she came to say hello, being a fellow Australian. Dinner and breaky were tasty and live music was playing both nights we had there. This hotel is great for families or group functions, but hard pressed to call it more than 4 stars or luxury.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,518 reviews
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.1 mi away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,961 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Resort & Spa

Property: Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Address: | PO Marjorda, Utorda 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenilworth Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a tranquil retreat surrounded by the pristine beaches and exotic tropical beauty that Goa - the land of sun, sea and sand - is known for. The rooms of this 5-star property are beautifully designed to reflect the by-gone Portuguese era. Tradition seamlessly blends in with all the comforts of modern day luxury to make for a highly relaxing and comfortable stay. Step out on to a private balcony over-looking the Arabian Sea and the beautifully landscaped swimming pool. With impeccable service standards, water sport activities and luxurious spa treatments, The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is a delight for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kenilworth Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Resort And Spa, Goa
Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Kenilworth Beach Hotel
Kenilworth Beach Salcette
Kenilworth Beach Resort Goa
Kenilworth Resort & Spa Goa/Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing