We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodations but terrible service”
Review of The HQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The HQ
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vasco da Gama
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Pros:
Big, spacious, clean rooms
Centrally located in Vasco

Cons:
1. Had to call up almost 7 times to make a reservation. Each time I called to confirm, the staff would say there was no reservation made under given name! And I had to re-reserve
2. FINALLY managed to book the room for day rate which the staff that I spoke to told me is 24 hour check in. Got email confirmation that we were scheduled to check in at 1am (after our wedding) and checkout at 10pm (in time to catch our flight to our honeymoon).
We checked in with no hassles. At around 12 pm, we got a call from reception saying we need to check out! We explained to them that we booked the room for the 24 check in rate and were scheduled to check out only at 10pm. They claimed there was no such thing! We went downstairs and showed the written confirmation email to the manager. He agreed that it was valid but claimed that the room had been booked by some other guests and thus we needed to move out! After exchanging words, he relented that we could stay till 6pm.
None the less our first day together as a married couple was ruined.

Terrible, unreliable service. Do not be surprised if on arrival they tell you there is no such booking in your name or worse still- they oust you out before time!

Room Tip: If you book a room, get a written confirmation of the booking with both the check in and check out d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHQMgt, Manager at The HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Cassandra & Clarence,

Firstly we would like to wish you a very happy and prosperous married life.

We thank you for considering our hotel for your wedding night and deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

We have looked into the matter and got to know that your booking was always there with us, however on that particular day, when you called we were experiencing some internal system problems, and hence your booking did not pop up on the reservation window when our representative checked it.

Our hotel usually operates on a 12 noon - 12 noon check-in / check-out system and your request for a late check-out was an oversight from our end. We sincerely regret this and do understand that it has caused you utmost inconvenience.

We would like to rectify this and will contact you shortly to discuss the same.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Regards,

The HQ Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was thr for 3 nights..overall it was great experience..Seems very good for business trip, as its very near to airport & trains..service for avg. Breakfast was great. Room service was avg..overall good 1

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 682ajaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHQMgt, Manager at The HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Ajay M.

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for your esteemed review on tripadvisor, that will of course help a lot of people reviewing our hotel to make a decision.

We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us and do hope we have another opportunity to host you soon.

Assuring you of our best service at all times.

Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ok or average but the rooms have a modern feel to em with modern amenities like wi-fi available. However the service is terrible tge food is terrible and the room service staff is terrible too. I ordered a cup of tea ans that took 30 minutes to serve coz of which I had to cancel the order. The hotel restaurant grapevine had too many mosquitos flying around. The hotel is therefore in our opinion just average and the value for money is poor

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherryjks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHQMgt, Manager at The HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Sherryjks,

We thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the delay in room service and the mosquitoes.

It is our constant effort to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay with us and we will definitely look into the areas you have highlighted needs improvement.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you and assure you of our best service.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The perfect place to stay for an early start at the airport. Desk staff were helpful and we were given a cool drink as we arrived. We had booked two double rooms as we wanted a bed each - India doesn't seem to do twin rooms. This seemed to confuse them but it all got sorted out. The rooms were large, quite luxurious and very clean. The beds were huge. There was a delicious Indian buffet in the evening but the hotel also offered to organise transport for us to eat at the beach if we wanted. The bar seemed a bit random. I had a cocktail from room service that had no detectable alcohol and drinks with dinner seemed difficult.
The free transport to the airport was ready for us at 4.30am as requested and they provided a 'breakfast to go' in bags ready for us a reception.
You wouldn't go to this part of Goa for your holiday but as a stop off to or from the airport it's very good.
There was a taxi strike the day we stayed so we actually travelled there by bus. We could see the hotel as the bus drove into Vasco da Gama and it was easy walking from the bus stop and felt completely safe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaHQ, Manager at The HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Liz,

We thank you for your valuable review on Tripadvisor and are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you and do hope you choose us on your next visit to Goa.

Assuring you of our best service at all times.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

every thing is fantastic , support from the faculty is very much attractive and helpful ,
we are very thankful to make my trip for selecting the HQ Hotel ,,they provide us good support for pick up and drop .... the hotel is nearby from the airport as well as from the railway station,
also they made support for sight seeing by the AC Swift desire at reasonable price..

thanks vibhav and all staff

Room Tip: very much for first time trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pankaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHQMgt, Manager at The HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Pankaj N.,

We thank you for your valuable review on tripadvisor.

We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us.

Please feel free to contact us for the booking of your next stay.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

i was on buisiness trip to vasco. my agent booked a room in this hotel for a day.the room was neat and plush but they havent bothered to provide even a reasonably good food.unfortunately i had to extend my stay by 1 day.when i informed them, they were overbooked i guess and so insisted on me checking out by 7.00am the next day. they kept calling me every half an hour till 11.00 pm in the night in spite of assuring that i would check out.in fact i had packed my things and was ready to leave in the morning. it was such a night mare. i lost my peace of mind. the next morning they said i can continue my stay. so far i had never experienced such an ordeal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsome4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaHQ, Manager at The HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Ma'am,

We thank you for your valuable feedback and regret all the inconvenience caused to you.

Since we are unable to track your name or date of stay from this review, we would appreciate if you could revert to us with your details of the stay, so that we could look into this matter internally and ensure this does not happen in the past.

We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you and assure you a comfortable stay with us.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KunalKhanapurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NatashaHQ, Manager at The HQ, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasco da Gama
10.2 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
400 reviews
3.2 mi away
DEVASTHALI - the Valley of Gods
4.1 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mariaariose - Melody of the Sea
Mariaariose - Melody of the Sea
#3 of 8 in Vasco da Gama
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maharaja Hotels
Maharaja Hotels
#4 of 8 in Vasco da Gama
39 reviews
14.0 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#3 of 16 in Anjuna
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The HQ

Address: Swatantra Path, Vasco da Gama 403802, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Vasco da Gama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vasco da Gama
Price Range: £36 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The HQ 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HQ presents a unique perspective on four star hospitality and comfort. With modern rooms, busy conference halls and buzzing restaurants, The HQ offers an irresistible blend of business and entertainment. Experience the vitality of Goa right from the room you stay in, to the cuisine you feast on, to the people you meet. In short, The HQ is the place where its all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The HQ Goa/Vasco Da Gama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing