We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What vacation is all about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
“What vacation is all about”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at Popa Paradise for 5 nights in November. It was the most beautiful resort we've ever stayed at! The property was beautiful, and it just happened to work out that between people checking out and checking in, for the majority of our stay we were the only two people staying at the resort! Our room was amazing, we fell asleep every night to the sound of the ocean outside our door. Housekeeping was excellent, the food was amazing as well; nothing like you would expect from an all-inclusive. The staff was so friendly, they are one big family of sorts, but one that functions well together. The beaches have a very "untouched" feeling to them, you have your pick of a beautiful place to spend the day. The pool was amazing as well, the swim up bar is always a great addition to a pool. It's also under cover, should you catch a stray rain storm. it really was the most beautiful place we've ever seen, we wish we could have stayed longer!! We've never felt so relaxed after a vacation :-)

Room Tip: ask for a casita that's more secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyous76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Many thanks for your great review! Falling asleep to the sound of the waves at Popa Paradise is one of life's simple pleasures. We are so pleased you found the relaxation you were looking for and hope you cam make it back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    34
    7
    7
    10
See reviews for
28
179
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was a last minute trip coordinated by my girlfriend's brother. We had absolutely no idea what to expect. Upon our arrival, we were met in Bocas Del Toro by Matt, who accompanied us on our 40 minute boat ride at sunset to heaven on earth. This place is visually stunning! The pictures and website do no justice to this resort...it's amazing.

As we walked the path from the boat dock at the resort, we were speechless. We approached the club house/ front office and were greeted by Dyllan and three fresh coconut water drinks straight from a fresh coconut. We immediately knew this was something special. We stayed in the Luxury Suite from 11-22-13 to 11-26-13 and experienced what can only be described as true paradise with an adopted family we met that consisted of staff members and guests. We were truly treated like family and celebrities at the same time.

I'll start with the suite...WOW!!!! What a view from the wrap around deck. We felt like we were standing in a painting. The accommodations couldn't have been better. We had a private beach and enjoyed every moment of it. Having said all of this, it was truly the staff that made this vacation magic! The food Darian prepared was amazing and sitting at the pool bar enjoying cocktails prepared by Manuel, Amber, Matt and Nico was also amazing as well.

I can go on and on but the bottom line here is the fact that you absolutely have to pay this place a visit. There's a ton of things to do and plenty of relaxing as well. I promise you'll make multiple trips back...ENJOY your trip!

Room Tip: Let Dyllan recommend activities. His excursions are amazing and the knowledge that he has regarding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKCAlisoViejo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Saying you had the best vacation ever at Popa Paradise, and coming from a world traveller like yourself is a true compliment, thanks so much! We are so pleased you have a great time here and I know we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Popa Paradise for 7 nights in late November and had the time of our lives! The resort is a beautiful 40 minute boat ride from Bocas Town which makes it remote but in a very good way. The resort itself is in excellent condition; clean, great decor and very well kept grounds for being located in such a dense jungle! The food was consistently delicious, huge props to Darian, Matty, Amber and the cooking crew! Breakfast, lunch and dinner all had lots of options that were all fresh and cooked perfectly!

We spent a ton of time at the swim up bar, using the kayaks, playing ping pong and billiards, snorkeling and hanging out on the beach. Our casita was clean, comfortable and in a gorgeous/secluded location. We could sit on our patio and listen to the waves and occasional rain storm.

We took two trips out on the resort catamaran the Ingwe Spirit which is captained by Handre. This was by far the best aspect of our trip! We did the Zapatillas day trip as well as the Bluefields trip, both were fantastic! Handre, Bev, Matty, Amber and Nash made the experience unforgettable!

Overall, I would go back today if I could! This place is truly a hidden gem and we will never forget the time we spent there. Thanks again to Dyllan, Darian, Matty, Amber, Handre, Bev and the whole Popa Staff! We miss you guys already!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegG1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Many thanks for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the excisions we have to offer. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope you can make it back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLENWOOD
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This place is all you could expect of a drop dead gorgeous tropical remote first class hotel. If you into privacy and great accommodations this place... whew!!

The staff are great and the food... (I'm a vegetarian) is wonderful.

Room Tip: Anywhere you want to stay is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom88039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review. We take great pride in our fine cuisine and will always have something special on the menu for vegetarians or vegans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My new husband and I went to Popa Paradise for our honeymoon, and were picked up by boat. We were greeted on the boat by Craig and Magnolia with Mimosas and then greeted on the island by Bernice (aka: "Rosie"), Matt, and Amber with coconut welcome drinks and beautiful smiles! We received the most personable and kind service!

When we got to our Casita, which was absolutely gorgeous, we had a welcome bottle of champagne and beautiful flower arrangements (even a large swan towel on the bed). The porch out back was so relaxing with a wonderful ocean view, a rainforest vibe, and kayaks to use at our leisure on the beach. It couldn't be more perfect, relaxing, and serene.

We spent a majority of our time on the island enjoying the company of the staff and other guests, having our alone time on the beach or in our casita, and soaking up the large pool & swim-up bar. The food and desserts were absolutely delicious as well!

We highly recommend this resort to anyone that wants to escape reality and embrace the beauty of the clear water, the serenity of a private island, and a wonderful staff that will do anything to make you more comfortable than you already were (which is difficult, because it's amazing within itself)!

It has only been a few weeks since we have been home, and we already speak of coming back. It is such a hidden gem, and anyone that makes it to this resort should feel lucky to have found such a wonderful location! Popa Paradise is always going to hold a special place in our hearts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and your great review. Popa Paradise is the perfect honeymoon destination and we are so pleased you enjoyed yours with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Popa Paradise is the place to go if you want a relaxing, romantic, getaway. I went with my boyfriend the first weekend of November. We got picked up at the airport and were taken to the landing. There we were met by Amber and Rosie and once on the boat ride to the island, they popped open a bottle of champagne to celebrate! The casita (#5) was great! Beautiful view! Poolside bar, trails to walk, big swings on the beach. The scenery is breathtaking. Like jumping into a post card. The food was EXCELLENT and fresh! The drinks-perfectly made! Amber and Matt were AWESOME! They made us feel at home right away. Rosie always smiling away and making sure we had everything. Craig always made sure we were taken care of and always with a friendly smile. They all knew our names and what we liked. Craig walked out to offer us drinks and knew what we wanted. AND he brought out a frosted glass for my beer! To sum it up-these folks are the bomb! We are planning on spending another weekend out there in the future. Loved hanging out with you guys. Excellent resort! Hugs from Panama!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Many thanks for your great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you back at Popa Paradise soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Sorry for this delayed review, Popa! My cousin and I stayed here with our moms for a mother-daughter trip, and it was an incredibly unforgettable experience. I planned the whole thing, so they didn't really have any idea what to expect. Our flight from Panama City was delayed, so we ended up traveling through the water in the pitch-black of night, no idea what was around us. It was terrifying, but as soon as we approached the dock, it was like we arrived in paradise. Our moms are VERY hard to please, but their tag line for the vacation became, "I must have done something right, I didn't need to die to go to heaven!" We stayed in the Penthouse Suite, which had an amazing view, was completely beach front, and very spacious. Napping on the hammocks on the three sides HUGE balcony while listening to the sound of the waves is something I dream about these days! We went zip lining, snorkeling, dolphin watching, all well organized by Dyllan (even with delicious doggy bags). The food was INCREDIBLE, so creative and delicious! We just couldn't get enough of the freshness and great taste! Darion gave us the best massages we've ever had, and the sunrise yoga on a little patio facing the ocean in the middle of a small little land mass adjacent to our penthouse was unforgettable! To top it off, Ty's company (and guitar performance-he's amazing) and creative, delicious drinks just added to all of the magic! I've never had drinks as inspired and tasty as his concoctions. The three of them do anything/everything in their power to make sure your trip is enjoyable, and they went above and beyond, spending SO much time with us, and catering to our every need! Granted, Popa is beautiful, but not as beautiful as those three souls! No words or pictures can do this place justice. Anytime the four of us talk, we get so nostalgic and wish that we could fly back and relive those few days! Can't wait to be back once I'm done with medical school!
PS- Our moms hope that they still hold their undefeated title!

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite, hands-down, is the best accommodation here! It had it's own huge beach front, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruchika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Many thank for you great review and your kind words. It was a pleasure meeting the Dr. ladies and wish you well at Med school. I know we will see you back here when you are world famous doctors. Yes the Mums are still the reigning champions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Popa
12.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
535 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
416 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
16.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
306 reviews
13.6 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popa Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popa Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Address: Punta Laurel | Bocas del Toro, Isla Popa, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Popa Paradise Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popa Paradise is an Adults-Only (18+) beach hotel located on a stunning island called Isla Popa in the Bocas del Toro archipelago, off the Panamanian coast in the Caribbean Sea. We are located about 30 minutes away from Bocas del Toro by boat. Stay with us for an unforgettable vacation where you can relax, snorkel in beautiful clear water and visit the amazing outer islands. Our chef creates a spectacular, tasty, unique and healthy menu and can cater to vegetarians and vegans, which is all included in our all inclusive rate. We have a large range of activities and excursions from diving, fishing, zip lines to the spectacular Zapatilla islands marine park or simply relax by our swimming pool and enjoy a Popa Paradise cocktail at our swim up bar, enjoy a massage in the spa or take a walk on one of our stunning beaches. Our new beach bar and restaurant "Rosie's" is great for cool drinks on the beach all day and at night beach BBQs, bonfires, and occasionally live music under the stars. Our dedicated team of professionals will take care of your every need and ensure you have a memorable stay at our boutique resort. We look forward to meeting you at Popa Paradise - barefoot luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Popa Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popa Paradise Beach Hotel Isla Popa
Popa Paradise Beach Isla
Popa Paradise Beach Resort Isla Popa, Panama - Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing