We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laguna Azul Eco Lodge
Vail, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total relaxation!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

If you are looking to relax and get away to a tranquil place, Laguna Azul is for you! My husband and I were the only guests at this Eco Lodge, so we got excellent service from the moment Lauren met us at the airport!. Glorisol made sure we were perfectly comfortable and Chef Francisco cooked up 3 delicious meals a day! We especially loved all of the delicious seafood Francisco prepared. Unfortunately, it rained the entire time we were at Laguna Azul, so we cannot comment on the excursions that they offered. Luckily, we were there to relax, so we read on the porch, played games, and snorkelled off of their dock when the rains slowed. They have work out equipment and a pool table as well.

The lodge is on an island of mangroves, so there is no where to go unless you go by boat, so if there are heavy rains, you must be prepared for serious chilling out. You are half an hour boat ride away from Isla Colon and the airport, so once you are there, besides day excursions, you stay on Popa and are at the mercy of the weather. For us, this was exactly what we were looking for! One afternoon, the rains slowed and we were able to go with the boat captain to take some of the staff to their homes on the other side of Isla Popa. They are part of the Ngobe-Bugle indians of the area, was so cool to get to see their community!

The only reason I would consider not giving 5 stars, is the fact that we were very hot at night trying to sleep. There is no airconditioning and even with the fans and sliding door open to the ocean breeze, it is hot! However, I do respect the fact that it is an eco-lodge and they are trying to be environmentally friendly. The only other slight negative was that although there is internet, it is not in the rooms, and there is only one spot a little table outside the office that you can use it. However, again, we were not there to be connected to the internet, so was ok for us!

The service was 5 star, as was the cleanliness and decor of the room and bathroom, and the meals as well. We loved the huge porch on the water for reading, dining and snorkeling. We hope to go back some day!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SignoraDUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jaco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This place is amazing but it could be so much more , the peace and quite is second to none and the beauty of the souroundings is fantastic, with abundant sea life all around you for your veiwng pleasure.The room was nice clean but be where there are no airconditioners so sleeping pills are a must. The staff ,Clarisol , Lorin and Joel were great , The food was in our opinion average at best when considering the amout of money you pay to stay here. We felt there should have been more varity which was lacking , it was as if the kitchen was was not stocked properly.The real disapointment for this place was the tours that they included , we felt very rushed throught the tours and very uninformed as far as we could see the touring staff was very unintersted in making this a pleasnt experince only to get it over with , showing us that this area is a long ways from learning the fundementals of tourism , truely a shame as this place could easily rank way up on my list but fell short by leaps amd bounds. My hat goes off to the srtaff mentioned above but without a total team effort it will never be a success.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnselles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I almost don't want to share its so beautiful here, i want to keep it all to myself !! It was a perfect spot to get away from the busy everyday lives we all have. I spent 5 nights here, and it was fantastic. From the moment I was picked up at the airport I felt comfortable , safe, taken care of and looked after without feeling like anyone was around me all the time. The food was fantastic and innovative easily the best lobster and calamari i ever had in my life! I am an easy traveler and this place made it even more easy to relax and forget about the world in such a beautiful spot. I really can't say enough about how wonderful it is. The people who work there really like working there , you can tell and they really enjoy each other ... it makes a difference when you are away from your own home and it shows. I would easily return !
Thanks to everyone at Laguna Azul. - Blake

Room Tip: all rooms seemed nice, but i would agree with some of the other travelers that the rooms on the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWBrooklynNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I recently spent 5 nights at Laguna Azul with 3 other friends. The staff was very hospitable and helpful. The place is vey peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was one of the most relaxing destinations in our trip to Panama. It's just you, 7 other rooms, the staff, the hotel, and WATER! It's sooo peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are superclean. The food is really great if you love seafood. The view is UNREAL!!!!!! It's really heaven on earth!

The only reason this hotel didn't get 5 stars from me is because of the lack of flexibility they had. They claim they are all inclusive and that so many activities are included but you only have the choice of going with the activity they chose for the day. Also, we were there for 2 nights/3 days and could only do one of the activities which is pretty unfair especially when you are paying 500 USD/night which is a fortunate in Panama. The staff (who were soooo nice) seemed like they wanted to accomodate us but they weren't allowed to because the boss (one of the partners) would not let them. He wouldn't let the activity boat drive 15 minutes extra (they said he didn't want to pay for gas) to drop us off one day and because of that, we missed a whole day of activity. When you are paying 500/day, you expect customer service to be better than this. And it was great except for the lack of flexibility by the boss. He was so unaccommodating that for me the experience lost not one but two stars.

Also, be ware...lots of sand flies but it's not the hotels fault. You are on a remote island so that is out of control. The hotel did manage to keep the flies out of the rooms though. :)

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank cicixee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koksijde, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

you will enjoy every minute you spend with the people of Laguna Azul. Kind and helpful, ready to serve and leaving you live the absolute tranquility !
Follow them on one of the 'all included' excursions and feel Robinson Crusoe exploring natural beaches with palmtrees picture-ready near the ocean. ...And yes, I have seen the dolphins in their natural environment. Sport and swim, try the cayucos to paddle in between the mangroves to see the sunset... or simply do n o t h i n g but overlooking the bay from the open day lounge / dining room terrace. The bar tender will prepare your fresh cocktail with pleasure and if you have a special request the team will set the extra step to please you... I tell you by experience !

Although we enjoyed the fresh and good food, it is my personal feeling that the kitchen staff could be a little more inspired to bring some kind of more creative dishes to match the level of all the other magnificent features hotel Laguna Azul offers.

I will certainly make time to come back, as it was an experience of wellbeing not to be missed and even to be repeated !

If you are the type of 'epicurian' who needs the urban nightlife and minute-after-minute high-voltage activity, you will not want to disturb the other guests of Hotel Laguna Azul...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werner V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahia blanca
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I reach Laguna Azul Ecolodge because I heard great things about the conservation work related with the ecological impact of the lodge. I was not sure at the beginning due to the rate (around U$D 250 p/person p/night) however could not be more satisfied with the final result! This place is great value for money! starting from the excursions, the food and the drinks everything is included ! We book room number 8 witch is in the ground floor with a Queen Size bed, we have an incredible view of the lagoon. I spent almost all day speaking with Ruben (Lodge Manager) about different projects he used to work in . The rest of the staff, Linda and Mary are really cute and helpful . Is a must to swim in the coral at night! so relaxing, hope to be back some day.

Room Tip: upstairs room view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesaBahiaBlanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Popa
14.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
1.3 mi away
Urraca Private Island
Urraca Private Island
#1 of 3 in Isla Popa
124 reviews
12.4 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
18.5 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Azul Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Azul Eco Lodge

Property: Laguna Azul Eco Lodge
Address: Isla Privada, Proxima a Isla Colon | We Are 35 Minutes From Isla COlon, Isla Popa, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Isla Popa
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Azul Eco Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Azul Eco Boutique Hotel is built right on the sea, surrounded by untouched mangrove. It has different spacious ambiances: living room, dining room, and a beautiful terrace facing the open sea. The Hotel has direct access to the beaches and protected waters of Bocas del Toro. The nearest beach is only a 15-minute boat ride. The area is ideal for snorkeling or canoeing, and is home to turtles and dolphins. Our ZEN decoration will invite you to relax and enjoy the Caribbean soothing and calmness breeze while watching the sea and the dolphins from our terrace and/or our open living room area In our floating deck/solarium you can enjoy sun bathing, reading or simply spend your time sipping delicious cocktails and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Laguna Azul Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Azul Eco Hotel Isla Popa
Laguna Azul Eco Lodge Isla Popa, Panama - Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing