We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laguna Azul Eco Lodge
PA
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

There is a quiet serenity about this lovely lodge. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, as well as immaculately clean. The staff is beyond accommodating -- such service and grace! Very well trained. The beds are comfortable, but with this view and the outdoor "living room" who wants to spend time in the room. The food is marvelous and on some nights the chef does a demonstration of techniques. The manager, Fernando, is a gem. He is both hospitable and warm and knows how to pick a great wine. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the only reason for only a 4 is that there was no hot water during our stay. The water, which comes from tanks that sit in the sun, was reasonably lukewarm and not jarring, but it was not hot.

Room Tip: ask for the corner room to the left of the stairs with a view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandaMPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

A small resort (8 rooms, all big, comfy and with massive storage, though the bathrooms are small but not tiny) we had the run of the place. Service was overwhelming but not intrusive, and oh-so-personal. The chef even composed custom meals for us. And fresh! Places often say 'catch of the day' but here it's real: the fish arrives from the guy who caught it, in a dugout canoe, no less. If you seek a pool and similar amenities, look elsewhere. Here you get real Eco living with wonderful excursions. There's WiFi (a bit slow -- you're in the boonies) and the massages are actually good. Be aware you get to the hotel via an open boat...around 30 minutes transit. For what it is, Laguna Azul is terrific.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Film G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with super helpful staff. Each day something different was planned, take it or stay at the hotel and swim or kayak. The food was local and fresh, the rooms were comfortable and everything worked smoothly. Everyone is treated like family, so just relax and go with the flow. Our only potential issue was availability on the flight from Panama City to Bocas as Air Panama can sell out and you might need to find an alternative route - fully refundable air tickets into Panama might be advisable if you are planning well ahead.

O

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank multitrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great quiet lodge with the most incredible views and the best fresh sea food ever THE Lobster!, Nice and interesting native community close to the hotel, this is the spot to just enjoy and relax, perfect for yoga, the service is incredible, Alex makes the best cocktails and Isabelita´s treat and attention is amazing, it´s a most go!!! FULLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriAndreT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a great time with friends getting away from it all and the internet description of this paradise was accurate. Manager and staff were exceptional, catering to our every want starting with picking us up at the airport The fresh fish arrived at the hotel daily, lobster, grouper, octopus, shrimp and was extremely delicious at every meal. The all inclusive package is great value with kayaking and snorkeling right from the hotel. The captain took us anywhere we wanted to go including snorkeling in other locations and bird watching. Rooms were spacious and clean and there was ample area to chat, read and relax. Located in a bay, the waters are calm, clear and warm. Exceeded our expectations and we would go back. Not for the beach crowd.

Room Tip: All seven rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a great vacation location to unplug! Laguna Azul is a 30 minute boat ride through the mangroves from Bocas Town where you land. We were greeted at the airport (by two gentleman we later met as Chito and Ferdinando) our luggage carried away and shuttled to a boat dock a few blocks away to a waiting boat (one of the resorts water taxis.) Pulling up via boat we were welcomed by several. We were greet by Oscar, the Hotel Manager and given the lay of the land. He escorted us to our room where a plate of fresh fruit and cold water was waiting for us. The room was clean (spotless) and glistening with wood. Modest interior decorations were only fitting. The bath was everything you would expect from a luxury facility. The huge shower was awesome, but please watch your water usage as it is an eco-friendly facility. Our room looked out onto the water. Gentle breezes came thru the sliding doors and kept us comfortable with ceiling fan. No air conditioning, but we didn't really need it or miss it with the cross draft from our corner room.

Francisco, the Chef, prepared awesome meals. Breakfasts were awesome with fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh juice, eggs however you liked them, bacon and toast. Lunches and dinners were more of the same. Oscar told us to ask for whatever we wanted as meals and we could eat whenever we wanted. We set the schedule. Of course it is all inclusive, but prepared fresh to your order. So don't be bashful about asking. The first night we asked for lobster. And lobster we got. We were served probably a four to five pound lobster freshly caught that morning. Eat the fish. Unbelievable. Local fishermen bring it to the resort daily. You can't get it any more fresh than that morning. And let Francisco prepare it his way. You won't be disappointed.

Our daughter is not a big seafood fan so they prepared everything from steak to chicken to pasta for her. She ordered pan (bread) the first few meals. After that the ladies simply started bringing it to her with each meal. All yummy! Don't be bashful about requesting food, snacks, beverages. They are very attentive to meet your needs, but if not, serve yourself. Or ask. We enjoyed having an appetizer in the afternoon with cocktails and Francisco was happy to bring out cheese, toasted pita and fresh pico de gallo. This is NOT your all inclusive buffet. Much classier and much better quality since all prepared personally for you. Coffee all day, cold sodas, wine poured generously, mixed drinks to order. I ask Oscar if he had cigars. He didn't but was quick to offer to pick some up in Boca Town the next day for me and he did. Cubans.

Laguna Azul has snorkel gear available for your use. You can snorkel right off the deck (steps walk you right into the water and coral reef) out to the floating dock. We spent one afternoon simply floating in the sun. We saw coral, a barracuda and a Ray, as well as other topical fish. The water the day we snorkeled was a little cloudy from overnight rain and rough surf.

We found Oscar and staff to be very flexible with the excursions. (By the way, they're all included, so take advantage of them if you can.) Essentially, they'll boat you to just about anywhere you want to go. During our stay there was only one other couple at the resort. They were a charming older couple from Argentina. (Allowed us to practice even more of our Spanish.) We did one excursion with them to Salt Creek Village. This is the village that Ferdinando grew up in. (See my pictures.) He actually introduced us to his father and uncle the day we were there. Very interesting to learn about the culture and see their village.

We did an excursion another day to Red Frog Beach. (There are other beaches as well but we liked Red Frog.) There were people there but not populated at all. Chito (boat driver) and Ferdinando (resort porter) accompanied the three of us. Francisco packed us a cooler of beer and sandwiches and off we went. (Towels too.) Chito stayed with the boat at the marina, but Ferdinando spent the day on the beach with us. He arranged for lounge chairs for us under a palapa on the beach. We walked the beach and played in the surf and he was happy to watch our valuables. One of the most amazing beaches that we had ever been to. The beaches seemed to be totally untouched and the water was simply amazing. The beach bar was just steps from the beach and served very good food with great atmosphere and views of the beach. At Red Frog Beach you can arrange to zip line, hike the rainforest, do a ropes course or take surfing lessons. They rent boogie boards and surf boards at the beach as well. We had great waves the day we were there.

We also took an excursion to Dolphin Bay and had lots of fun taking pictures and video of all the dolphins playing. This is really fun to do and only a short boat ride away. Make sure you do it.

There is wireless at the resort, but it is limited to a very specific area outside of the office. Originally I thought this would be a pain, but quickly learned that we were much better without it. Truly an opportunity to unplug. (I read two books int he four days we were there.) Not only that but we took advantage of the games at Laguna Azul and played backgammon, chess and some cut throat matches of Monopoly. (Community Chest cards were in Spanish so we had to adapt a little.)

We did have rain on one afternoon. Expect some rain. That's why they call it the rainforest. Read up on the rainy season in Bocas del Toro and plan your trip accordingly. We didn't mind the showers when they came, but we also had some great sunshine to enjoy as well.

All in all, this was an awesome vacation. Mom, Dad and even the 16 year old daughter had a blast (with limited access to the internet!) If you're looking for a high energy, all inclusive resort a la Cancun resort, etc. then don't go. If you're looking for a private, peaceful, once in a lifetime, exotic getaway this is it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have Room 1 on the corner on the second floor which had two double beds. Perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband and I selected this paradise like hotel for an extended weekend getaway from NYC. We were beyond pleased upon arrival to find the property matched the online pictures and description. Everybody knows the scenes of the movie, Blue Lagoon with Brooke Shields. Well, there is no need for that statement at this Hotel. All I can say is "WOW" this place is truly stunning and amazing. The property is situated on a private island in a gorgeous setting, steps lead down to the sea where we enjoyed sunning, relaxing, and dining. Rooms are very nice and all have sea views. Food is fresh, top notch taste, exotic. This is a getaway for those who want a romantic exquisite boutique hotel experience without all the formalities. Daily excursions are also included in the all inclusive package and for meals. Beautiful grounds and views; seamless and first-class service provided by professionally trained staff members. New appointed GM is gracious and attentive. He is so enthusiastic and will make your stay memorable at this enchanting property.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Popa
14.0 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
539 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
Urraca Private Island
Urraca Private Island
#1 of 3 in Isla Popa
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
2.2 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 17 in Isla Bastimentos
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Azul Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Azul Eco Lodge

Property: Laguna Azul Eco Lodge
Address: Isla Privada, Proxima a Isla Colon | We Are 35 Minutes From Isla COlon, Isla Popa, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Isla Popa
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Azul Eco Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Azul Eco Boutique Hotel is built right on the sea, surrounded by untouched mangrove. It has different spacious ambiances: living room, dining room, and a beautiful terrace facing the open sea. The Hotel has direct access to the beaches and protected waters of Bocas del Toro. The nearest beach is only a 15-minute boat ride. The area is ideal for snorkeling or canoeing, and is home to turtles and dolphins. Our ZEN decoration will invite you to relax and enjoy the Caribbean soothing and calmness breeze while watching the sea and the dolphins from our terrace and/or our open living room area In our floating deck/solarium you can enjoy sun bathing, reading or simply spend your time sipping delicious cocktails and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Laguna Azul Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Azul Eco Hotel Isla Popa
Laguna Azul Eco Lodge Isla Popa, Panama - Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing