We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would certainly recommend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scalby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scalby Hayes Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Scalby B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would certainly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I recently spent a very enjoyable three-day, mid-April break at Scalby Hayes B&B owned and run by the friendly and helpful Kathy and Dean Tulley.

The property’s hill-top position provides panoramic views of nearby Scarborough and the neighbouring countryside yet is sufficiently far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle of the town.

We stayed in the Waterside room, which was very clean, light and airy. It has an adjacent private bathroom with shower cubicle, WC and a good-sized bath and was always well stocked with an ample supply of towels. The light-coloured carpeting throughout obliged us to remove our outdoor footwear at the door, which was not a problem as we tend to do that as a matter of course anyway.

Off-road parking is in a gated, gravelled area to the side of the house. For eating out in the evenings, we left the car there and walked either into Burniston (about an hour via Limestone Road) or caught the local bus into Scarborough. It’s about a 30 minute walk to the A171 (20 minutes if you take the footpath through the field just up from the parking area). The homemade cake Mrs Tulley left for us on our return at night was much appreciated.

Mrs Tulley provided an excellent, well-cooked breakfast with eggs from her own hens although I found that the sausages had an unusual – though not unpleasant – taste and texture which, for me personally, took a bit of getting used to. The dining-table is designed to accommodate four people. Fortunately, as we were the only couple staying, we had the table to ourselves. We would have felt uncomfortable had it been necessary to share with anyone else, especially given the close proximity of the seating.

Regrettably, we were not there long enough to make use of the well-tended garden and delightful summerhouse, but perhaps we can do this on a future occasion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

just returned from a wonderful few days away at scalby hayes b&b and I cannot praise it enough. host mrs k tulley has every thing to detail inc directions to the b&b . this is a 5 star b&b and is most probably the best we have stayed in. food & service is second to non and will be booking for future events.hope to see you soon. if you want the best b&b then this is for you......a+++++

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

If you require peace and tranquility, everything spotless, wonderful breakfasts and charming hosts, then Scalby Hayes is for you. We stayed in the Fieldside room and although quite small is very comfortable - especially the bed. The shower room is large. Scalby Hayes is accessed down a track and you do have to get out of the car to open a gate to park, however, it is just a very short walk to the house. Remember to take slippers as Kathy does ask you to remove your shoes on entering. We were lucky to have a very nice couple staying in the Waterside room and we had some good conversation and laughs in the sitting room after evenings in the local pubs. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plateel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

You really can believe all the positive reviews (and there are no negative comments). The Waterside room was everything we had hoped for, restful, comfortable, with double aspect overlooking lovely gardens and with views. Both bedroom and en suite (with bath & separate shower cubicle) were large rooms and the guests lounge was lovely. Breakfasts were well researched and very much enjoyed, the perfect poached eggs get a special mention! Kathy & Dean were friendly and perfect hosts.Knowledge of the area and suggestions for visits helped make five days stay a real home from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Penny and I stayed here recently for two nights. I am almost reluctant to praise the B&B because it is probably best kept secret. I am struggling to think of anywhere better. Food, service, hospitality and cleanliness all straight A's. Kathy and Dean are great hosts. Like new friends. The location is special too. On the edge of the North York Moors. Superb for touring and Scarborough just a short drive away. If you want to treat yourself. Look no further! Simpy beautiful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reikimentor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at Scalby Hayes for one night and was not disappointed! Kathy was a fantastic host and couldnt have done more to make me feel comfortable!!

I stayed in the Waterside room which is very spacious and had a very lovely feel to it! The ensuite is a generous size and has a lovely deep bath and a seperate show cubicle too. Waterside has a fantastic view of Scarborough castle and was exceptionally stunning on a dusky autumn morning! Although I didn't have a scoot round the gardens from what I saw they looked lovely and Im sure if you were to stay in Summer time they would be a good place to chill out in.

The breakfast was nice - choice of cereals etc as well as a choice of cooked breakfasts.

This B&B is kind of off the beaten track but that is what makes it all the more special!! I would highly recommend this B&B as its 'away from it all' and you could easily relax if you needed an escape.

Room Tip: Waterside room has a stunning spacious bathroom and an amazing view of Scarborough's coastline a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klootetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Scalby Hayes is seriously good. Kathy and Dean are really excellent hosts and have clearly worked out how to ensure that guests have an enjoyable stay.
There is wonderful quiet in a beautiful area,and everything is so clean and tidy. Both the rooms are comfortable, but the Waterside is larger.

The breakfast is very good, and if you had everything you would not need to have anything for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodkbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scalby
0.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Plough
The Plough
#1 of 2 in Scalby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scalby Hayes Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scalby Hayes Bed & Breakfast

Property: Scalby Hayes Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Scalby Hayes Barmoor Lane, Scalby, Scarborough YO13 0PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Scalby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scalby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scalby Hayes is set in an enviable position on the edge of the North York Moors. It overlooks the Heritage Coast and has views of Scarborough Castle. Despite being extremely peaceful the property is only a 10 minute drive from Scarborough town centre and on the outskirts of the picturesque village of Scalby. Ideal for town or country. ETC 4 Star with Silver Award and 'Welcome to Excellence' accredited. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing