We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful family home in picturesque area”
other travellers have booked this property
2017
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
2017
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
2017
2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Scalby, Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Delightful family home in picturesque area”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We enjoyed this pretty house in the lovely village of Scalby. We were in the area to walk and found the location ideal for accessing local paths and walks. The house was well-appointed and comfortable, with shops and amenities nearby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JENNIE G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage - just as good as it looks!”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were really pleased to find that this cottage was just as stunning as it looks in the photographs. Everything was very clean and comfortable - soft towels and bedding, lovely sofas, a well equipped kitchen & plenty of wardrobe space. We loved the thoughtful touches from the owner (fresh bread, flowers & an especially appreciated bottle of prosecco!). Both the owner and her sister, who was looking after the property during our stay, were really friendly & helpful in our dealings with them. The cottage is very handy for local amenities - including a couple of excellent options for food, with The Plough & Yew Tree cafe within easy walking distance - and all the sights of Scarborough accessible in minutes by car. We took our 2 young children who absolutely loved the place from the start - in fact, we had tears on the way home as neither wanted to leave! We only booked for 2 nights on this occasion but will definitely be back for a longer stay. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone - whether for couples looking for a bit of luxury or for families seeking a more relaxing retreat out of the busy town centre. I genuinely can't think of any negatives - we had a wonderful time!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisTwel...
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage - You must stay here!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What can I say? A beautiful cottage which has been very tastefully restored, decorated and furnished. Lovely friendly owner (LillyBett) who greeted us like old friends.

Prosecco, Bread, Cookies and some fresh Gladiolis were waiting in the kitchen plus milk, butter and bottles of water in the fridge.

The beds were really comfortable and we all slept well,. Although there wasn't a private designated parking space, we had no problem at all parking two vehicles on the road right outside the cottage.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Grove Cottage (while in the area visiting family for special birthday celebrations) and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire k
Rotherham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful and comfortable. Could not be anymore welcoming. Will be back. 5 star accommodation. Very pleasant location. Owner so friendly. Lovely weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Really pleased you enjoyed Grove Cottage and Scalby itself, thank you for being fabulous guests!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrishLeed...
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We've just returned from a fabulous weekend at Grove Cottage. The cottage is beautiful - spacious, spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and high quality bedding and towels. There's a lovely little courtyard garden to sit in where we enjoyed breakfast and evening drinks. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. She was so thoughtful and there were lots of little touches that made us feel so welcome. I recommend this cottage and I know we will return. Thank you for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Hello Trish and family, sincere thanks for your wonderful review, it was a delight meeting you and really happy you enjoyed your stay in Scalby, hope to see you soon best wishes LB
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

5 adults and a baby and so much room! Everything so clean and new. Bedding crisp clean and towels so soft. Lovely touches on arrival. Ideally situated as a base and it's a lovely area. Plenty pans, baking tins, trays, utensils etc. No problem at all with communication and owner very nice and helpful. Would highly recommend! Hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Hello Susan and family,

Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Grove Cottage, it was wonderful to meet you, hope to see you again!

Best wishes Lillybett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsrobins...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I highly recommend Grove Cottage. It is beautifully decorated and a high standard throughout. We were very comfortable and it is only a short drive to Scarborough. The owner greeted us with a warm welcome, milk in the fridge, wine and even brought a bag of toys for our toddlers which was very considerate and appreciated by all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

LillyBett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;