We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Yew Tree Cafe

Yew Tree Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Scalby
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated in the village of Scalby, just outside Scarborough The Yew Tree Café offers a friendly and relaxed service with an excellent variety of freshly-prepared food using local and regional produce. You can choose to either eat in or take away; breakfasts, sandwiches, snacks and our home baked cakes and treats are available. A wide range of hot and cold drinks are served, from Barista made coffees to a range of speciality teas, to delicious hot chocolates and classic milkshakes as well as locally brewed beers and a variety of wines and spirits. Dogs are welcome with their well behaved owners!
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Yew Tree Cafe. Pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent value and beautifully home cooked food. Our party of four had : Bacon, Egg, Sausage and Tomatoe, nicely presented on a slice of toast. One of our party had a sausage bap, which included 3 locally sourced sausages; very wholesome. And a cooked ham sandwich, and they didn't skimp on the ham; very tasty. Clean and inviting cafe. The toilet was immaculately clean. Highly recommended, we will be going again for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPSATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    19
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

3 adults and 2 small children. The staff were very, very good with the little ones and could not have done any more to make us feel welcome. The food was fresh and home made and wonderful. We all enjoyed our main meal and sent clean plates back, yummy. You must try the homemade cake if you go, we had carrot cake, lemon cake an cream fruit scone they were all excellent. The cafe is clean and well presented. We are going again on Saturday. You should try to book as it is very popular with locals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveandLin1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in scalby for a week and having noted the reviews were keen to visit. Certainly not disappointed . The food Is lovely and well presented . The proprietor was friendly and despite being very busy at times , continued to make us feel welcome. Will certainly visit again when in the area.note of warning - book to ensure your table

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 397mauriced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went for lunch with a friend, no reservation, cafe quite busy but welcoming. Staff cheerful, food excellent and interesting. Very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe that thinks big!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Don't be put of by the size of this cafe, it's amazing what they can do here. Food is consistently good, service is with a smile, decorations and surroundings are delightful. We have enjoyed an evening meal here too that was very tasty and enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hartonlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yew Tree Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Yew Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing