We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of East Ayton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Ayton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Ayton
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Peaceful hotel Stayed in a family room only 1 night,was ok nothing amazing,bathroom could of done with abit more cleaning,hairs on the floor,the staff were pleasant and i thought breakfast was very good would I stay again? Probably not

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    81
    56
    45
    39
See reviews for
85
117
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I would just like to comment on the previous two comments. I was waiting to check out behind the previous two families having eaten breakfast with them in the restaurant both my wife and I heard absolutely no evidence of the staff swearing and we were sat closer to the kitchen door. Our room was spotless and very well decorated the staff were pleasent and friendly and the young lady in question I think was booking us a taxi so we could go into Scarborough not arranging her personal life. The people in question were giving the staff the run around and despite them obviously being fed up with trying to sort out the customers constant requests I must say responded in a very professional manner. When it came to checking out the customer's in question were rude and very abusive to the staff dispite them trying to placate them and the obvious embarrassment they were putting the staff under then one of the customer's stormed out saying you "not getting an f#####g penny out of me and got in their car and drove off at least the other couple paid before leaving.
My wife and I had a lovely stay and feel that these reviews are grossly unfair as the staff treated all their customers with a warm and friendly manner I would recommend East Ayton lodge to anybody after speaking to the manager they have great plans to revamp the place well good luck to them as we had a really relaxing mothers day weekend and the mother's day lunch was outstanding. With a lick of paint and the positive attitude of the staff we are looking to go back and see the changes.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdougies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, General Manager at East Ayton Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thankyou for your kind comments in what was a very difficult situation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

First impression as we drove into the courtyard, good, but reception area was shabby/untidy. Our room was in the annex(I think they called it), downstairs. Room very shabby, wallpaper coming off, mugs not washed out, very tired looking, in much need of an update. Only just had time to unpack when we were aware of noise in the room above, sounded as if they were going to come through. Was not going to able sleep/relax with the noise, so complained. Staff friendly and helpful and we were "upgraded" to an upstairs room. Room of the same standard of décor and cleanliness.
Had a meal in the restaurant on our first evening, food very good, but expensive and no atmosphere. The seats in the booth type areas were very shabby, with the covering torn and coming away. Didn't eat in the restaurant again apart from breakfast. Breakfast time limited to just 1 hour and didn't start until 8.30, not great if you need to make an early start.
Location good, but won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikergirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, General Manager at East Ayton Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We thank you for your Kind comments we are at present now under new management and we will endevour to ensure that these negative factors that spoiled your stay with us are given the highest priority and will be rectified. We do hope you will come and visit us again so that you can see all the improvments already in place and our continuing room upgrading plan as we move the business forward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Ayton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
ROTHERHAM
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were looking for a quiet relaxing weekend away in North Yorkshire,our first choice hotel was fully booked so the website(laterooms.com) recommended East Ayton Lodge and whilst we were initially a little unsure as there were mixed reviews on trip adviser we were happy overall with the place.The village itself is very pretty with a couple of nice pubs,a chippy and a sit in fish and chip restaurant all within a few minutes walk of the hotel which itself is surrounded by fields and woodland ideal for a nice stroll.We took our dog Max with us so this was ideal for him too!!
The reception is nice and welcoming as were the staff-though they did seem to multi task a lot!the guy on reception served behind the bar,served our food supplied me with an iron and ironing board and was still there at breakfast serving that too! top marks to him!!
You have a choice of bar meals or eating in the restaurant-we opted for the bar menu and couldn't fault the food which was reasonably priced but it was very quiet in the bar so we assumed most people walk down to the village pubs for the evening.Maybe they should look at ways to keep people there such as cheaper drinks/happy hours,entertainment or something as the lack of atmosphere was a shame.
Our room was outside in a motel sort of style,we presumed this was as we had the dog,but this was perfect for him and the room was clean and comfortable if maybe a little dated décor wise. The bathroom was tiny but clean and the shower was nice and powerful.
Overall we would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate coming back-Max liked it too! It's in a great location as a base to visit Scarborough,Filey

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAINIAIN76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Although reasonable clean the rooms are outdated, unable to open window for fresh air, radiators not working, substituted by a connector heater that couldnot be controlled. Bathroom radiator not working, yet remainder of hotel was overwhelmingly hot. The rooms walls must be paper thin as I was frequently woken by bathroom noises , very unpleasant and then by early risers radios and hair dryers . Blinds on windows are inadequate to keep out light that comes from over lit car park, road noisy. It seems that this lodge is used during the week for working men who get up really early and use the bathroom a lot.
I must be in a different place to some of the other reviews!!
I have never felt compelled to write a review before in many years of travel throughout uk and the world. I would not stay here again nor recommend to others unless you want a disturbed and unpleasant night .

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My god not been here for a while but decided to give it another chance as it's valentines night and took up the offer posted through our door, the Lodge was clean, the staff friendly and attentive, the food outstanding we will be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting relatives in the area over New Year and the hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs.The bathrooms certainly need updating,apart from that the room was warm and clean,and the bed very comfortable.The decor was good,particularly in the public areas,and breakfast served by friendly staff better than many other more expensive hotels that we have stayed in.Overall worth £95 per night,we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Ayton
3.5 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#2 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Ayton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Ayton Lodge

Property: East Ayton Lodge
Address: 3 Moor Lane, East Ayton YO13 9EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Ayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — East Ayton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your East Ayton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Ayton Hotel East Ayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing