We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but not quite Country House Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of East Ayton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Ayton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Ayton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great but not quite Country House Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2006

I agree with the other reviews that East Ayton Lodge is in a lovely setting and that the staff are lovely.Unfortunately there are just not enough of them to deliver the service they claim to offer.

I would describe the Lodge as a really comfy, good value country inn, with good food and friendly staff and excellent value for money. It is NOT a country house hotel.....YET!

Although it has all the ingredients to make a great country house hotel, they have not yet got the recipe quite right and are trying to run before they can walk.

The honeymoon suite is large and comfy. The other rooms however are badly in need of updating and look more like outdated motel rooms.Any updating that seems already to have been done looks very home DIY.

My recommendation would be to employ some tradesmen and blitz the place.(Indeed, they may already be planning this) Decide whther you are going comtemporary or traditional as this also seem to be confused.

Having said this, we did get what we paid for and had a lovely stay. If you would like a nice quiet break but are not expecting a particularly luxurious room then you can't go wrong with East Ayton Lodge.

I am looking forward to them completing the renovations and getting the recipe right. I would then gladly pay more for a little extra luxury and improved quality.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    77
    53
    45
    38
See reviews for
84
111
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2005

I stayed for one night and was pleased with the facilities. The room was clean and spacious, the water was piping hot and the food was excellent.

This is a well located, reasonably priced hotel which is a good base for exploring the area and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2005

A great find, if you are looking to be in the Scarborough area but dont want to be in the resort itself, the East Ayton Lodge is literally a 10 minute drive away. We stayed for 1 night at the East Ayton Lodge this summer, we had a fabulous evening and were made to feel very welcome. We stayed in the annex of the hotel as we had our dog with us but the room was lovely & very clean. We had drinks in the bar area before having a fabulous meal in the beautiful dining room, which is both elegant & contemporary, the staff were friendly and attentive and overall we had a lovely stay and will return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klux56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2005

We held our daughter 18th birthday party on 26 February 2005, what a brillant night.... We would like to thank Julian, Simone and all the staff
for a great night. The food was excellent, service was first class and the surrounding lovely.

We would highly recommend 'East Ayton Lodge' to anyone.

Thanks once again

Tom & Christine Kynoch

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissybk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2005

Quite a bit going on by way of refurbishment during my short stay, but this did not detract from the warm welcome my wife and I received. Nothing was too much trouble and I am sure that the new owners will achieve their objective of making the hotel something to be proud of. I shall certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kidger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2004

A little suspect about staying here having read the reviews, but the hotel is now under new management. The new owners are charming people, eager to help, and more than make up for any shortcomings they may have inherited in their new enterprise. I shall certainly stay again, I was made so welcome and I feel sure the improvements they propose will not be long in coming.

Helpful?
7 Thank SKid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Ayton
3.5 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,623 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
17.6 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Ayton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Ayton Lodge

Property: East Ayton Lodge
Address: 3 Moor Lane, East Ayton YO13 9EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Ayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — East Ayton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your East Ayton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Ayton Hotel East Ayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing