We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Zoutspuit B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zoutspruit B&B

Zoutspruit B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kroonstad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zoutspruit B&B
Ranked #4 of 22 Kroonstad B&B and Inns
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay at Zoutspuit B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay at Zoutsouit B&B on our way back to Botswana. The room was lovely and even though it was really cold the electric blanket kept us toasty warm. Our hosts provided dinner and breakfast. Meals were very good. But we most enjoyed our walk around the farm and the warm hospitality of our hosts, who went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
13
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Perfect place to stop by or be some days. We stayed in the luxurytent, which we were very happy with. There was a cozy atmosphere in the tent, and although only a short distance from friendly and service minded personell felt really private, secluded and luxurious. Good service and cute animals at the farm :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We all enjoyed the peaceful area and friendly service. We immediately felt welcome and at home.

The Unit was very spacious and well equipped.

With the shower and bath situated in the bedrooms, it was a bit difficult, travelling with teenage girls and their friends. At least a separate shower would have been great.

The rooms were great, but the one mattress on a single bed in the lounge area must definitely be replaced!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My partner and I booked and paid for two nights at Zoutspruit B&B as a relaxing country break between Cape Town and Dullstroom. An extremely disappointing experience. The touted luxury and comfortable accommodation, including our suite and en-suite bathroom, were far from as described. The bedroom and doorless bathroom turned out to be two rather cramped converted out rooms. The bedroom was crammed with an odd selection of second hand furniture such that it was difficult for two adults to move around simultaneously. However, it was reasonably clean - that is apart from a collection of dead flies on the ceiling immediately above the bed. The braai and entertainment area were elusive, whilst there certainly weren't any antelope only meters away. The only apparent antelope were a bunch of rather wary Blesbok in a 100 hectare area of fenced in veld. The only visible farming activities consisted of a pastureless dairy herd sustained on total mixed rations, the individual Jersey cows aimlessly plodding along with udders stained red from the excessive disinfectant used to counter conditions in the most basic and dilapidated milking parlour I've ever seen. The food was plentiful but atrociously cooked, although the owner was both attentive and friendly - certainly more than can be said for his skulking wife. In spite of having nowhere to spend the following night, we left immediately after breakfast on the first day and wrote off the payment made for the second night to experience.

Room Tip: Just avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lapping_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very sweet couple, good food, but sadly the pictures on the website do not match the "luxury" offered. Very disappointing in terms of what is really provided. The venue is a converted farmhouse but the upkeep is not according to the 3 star allocation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The serenity & calmness of a farm stay is a precious experience. Zoutspruit was just that for me. I especially enjoyed the lovely contrast after a structured workday on a tight schedule - to return to a peaceful space that has it's own centred rhythm.

Watching the early sunrise breaking the horizon over the veld is a magical way to begin any day. Being caught by surprise finding myself being watched by several stealthy buck during my afternoon stroll was a pleasant surprise & a lovely memory. Unacquainted `city eyes' can miss so much.

Zoutspruit B&B is a piece of heaven for any nature lover, with a level of service & friendly happy staff to match.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Meisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Zoutspruit provided us with a comfortable one night stay in a clean, well equipped unit housing 6 guests. The location close to Kroonstad on the N1 a bonus. Children especially enjoyed the farming activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jaco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kroonstad hotels
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Lamon Guesthouse
Lamon Guesthouse
#1 of 22 in Kroonstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Travel Inn Kroonstad
#16 of 22 in Kroonstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sevens Guesthouse
Sevens Guesthouse
#10 of 22 in Kroonstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bettie's Luxury Lodge
Bettie's Luxury Lodge
#1 of 5 in Kroonstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Albelize at 17 King
#6 of 22 in Kroonstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoutspruit B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoutspruit B&B

Property: Zoutspruit B&B
Address: Box 7085 | Kroonpark, Kroonstad, Kroonstad 9502, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Kroonstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Kroonstad
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing