We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”
Review of Coldstream Brewery

Coldstream Brewery
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Coldstream
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Went here for Friday lunch. Had to get waitress's attention at the bar in order to get a table. Service was generally poor. Ordered chips with our pizzas which didn't arrive until well after we had finished our meals, despite asking about them twice. Would have had a few drinks here, but never had the opportunity to ask for another round. Waitresses looked like they were going to spill most of the drinks they were carrying and did not engage in any conversation. Food was pricey, but aside from the greasy chips the pizzas were really good. Overall disappointed on this occassion. Hopefully with some better staff and a bit of customer service it would be worth a return visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    97
    32
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, overpriced”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stopped in after a day of touring the region. They warned us that their dinner service doesn't start until 6pm. And not a moment sooner. The food was actually good. My salmon was delicious and my husband's pizza was pretty standard for Australia. Skip the beer sampler, though. It was overpriced - $15 for 5 shots of beer - and I found 2 of them undrinkable. Just pick one beer and have a glass. The food was pricey as well, but at least it was good. As suggested in another review, the waitress wasn't very knowledgeable, and read the descriptions off of a script. They were pretty busy for a Tuesday night, so I guess it's popular locally.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GTfanSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good night out ... closes early though”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Met up with friends for dinner - it is one of the few places out in the Yarra Valley that is open for dinner on a Monday night. Friendly staff, although our waitress had no idea of most things that were on the menu. Meal service was fairly slow - took an hour to receive our meals. We all enjoyed our meals. It has a nice atmosphere and plenty of parking. Only open until 8pm on the night we dined, so we got the clue to go when most of the other chairs had been put up around us

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wine and ambience”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Coldstream Brewery is an excellent location for a great meal, good choice of local bear, stunning cider and great Yarra Valley wines

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch simple but fantastic”
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

On this years Christmasday the brewery was offering a lunch that was by its simplicity fantastic. Their kitchen has understood for more than 100% how to satisfy their customers. Excellent food served in good portions ( for my wife her lasagne was even too much)
Combine this with their own brewed beer, a good service and a good atmosphere and you have a succeeded lunch.

Helpful?
1 Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coldstream Brewery also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Coldstream Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing