We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Domaine Chandon

Domaine Chandon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.14*
and up
Yarra Valley Winery Tour from Melbourne Including Lunch and Yarra Valley...
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Coldstream
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This was such an awesome place, wine was amazing, our winery tour was great and very informative and the scenery was beautiful. The buildings and gardens were very well kept.
Don't think about it just go! What an exceptional experience!

Helpful?
Thank Globetrekker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    126
    39
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DOMAINE CHANDON ESTATE”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

No other word but magnificent.

Melbourne turned on a beautiful, cloudless day and the atmosphere at Domaine Chandon reflected the weather. Visitors took the expertly manicured lawns to lie around and soak up a rare "sun tanning" opportunity.

Our late lunch consisted of a well presented cheese platter and condiments with top a up as we needed it. Out waitress was well versed with the history of the estate, and was also able to explain the cheeses we had ordered. To top it off, she matched it perfectly with a cold bottle of Chandon Sauvignon Blanc.

If you love champagne, you will leave with a good supply of said refreshment................

An all consuming place to spend a lazy Melbourne day. Another trip planned for January 2014.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AUS22897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albi, France
Level Contributor
242 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Well set up and great lunch!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

You can do so many wine tours in the Region, so to find Chandon was refreshing. They charged for the tasting but this was refunded when you bought anything from the boutique, so very well thought through. The sommelier was knowledgeable and friendly, as did not sound to us like we were his umpteenth tasting of the day.
We stayed here for lunch which was great value and lovely food.
The boutique is not overpriced and the wines good. This is a slick operation, but feels relaxed and i would recommend Chandon over and above many other wineries in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TarnMark81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
185 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Wine tour is worth doing”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We popped in to do the wine tour only.
It was interesting to see how they produce champagne.
We don't drink champagne but still interesting to see how they do it.
It is a stunning winery and worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LFLLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A must for visitors and lovers of wine and (Champagne) fizzy whites!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We actually came here on our first wine tour of the area. We never made it anywhere else that day. We stayed instead loving the food, the drink and the amazing view.

Highly recommend arriving with friends to catch a tour (about 30 mins of talking and walking around - the only way to get into the room where they keep the bottles) and then going for your tasters, before collecting four important things:
1. A bottle or two of wine (remember to get your $5 tasting off the price of the bottle, even from the bar I think)
2. The cheese platter
3. Some chairs outside facing the amazing view.
4. Friends.
(5. Good weather, but that's a bit outside our control)

Sit, chat, relax, eat and drink.
Perfect.

We're going for our third time as soon as my parents get here! Having been around other wineries in the region, still think it's the best view and love the wine!

The tour is free, 11am, 1pm and 3pm (though check the website). $5 gets you a taste of ALL their wines, about 10 I think, and the receipt can get you the money off any bottles you buy. We've never not bought enough to redeem them! :)

PS. If you don't want too many wineries, the first time we came we did the Healesville sanctuary after - seeing Platypus and other animals, only about 10 mins drive away. A good day out! Or if you like wineries, there are another 20 around it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank egrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Domaine Chandon also viewed

Yering, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Domaine Chandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing