We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Green Dragon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    The Conigre(Melksham)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Captain Cook Hotel(St Peter Port)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (147)
    Filter reviews
    147 results
    Traveller rating
    98
    36
    6
    6
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    98
    36
    6
    6
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe pubhomemade biscuitsgreen dragonskittle alleycar parkexploring the areaquiet villagescrambled eggs and smoked salmonan extensive menufabulous foodfine alesplace to stayfriendly barb bbirthday partyevening meal and breakfastwhitebait
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    135 - 140 of 147 reviews
    Reviewed 25 March 2013

    stayed one night in the ensuite and also had dinner and breakfast. very friendly traditional country pub. excellent value and particularly good and friendly service. lots of considerate touches like tissues, range of teas/coffee in room, tv that worked easily, lovely quality sheets, quaint and cosy. Food very good and we are extremely fussy. Only negative for us was that we like a rock hard mattress and this was soft, but that's just personal taste.
    Five stars might give people the wrong impression because this is not a 5 star rated establishment. however, for service and value, it is five stars

    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LondonWiggies
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

    So glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry the mattress was soft for you but as you said personal taste.
    Hope to see you another time.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 February 2013

    How I wish the Green Dragon were closer to home. I went there last week with my wife and enjoyed one of the best pub meals we have ever had. Service was fast and friendly, portions were a decent size, the entire place has a good atmopshere and for me, they serve the best pint of Wadworth's 6X anywhere in the area, a tribute to the cellar management of the tenant here. I opted for the gammon steak whilst my wife chose the pork fillet, and everything was cooked perfectly.

    It's warm and cosy inside, a lovely retreat on a cold, wintry day. It's a shame we had the car as I could quite happily have enjoyed another couple of beers, plus my wife said her red wine was just perfect too. I don't recall what we paid in total, I think it was around £26 which was great value for money. If only it were closer....

    • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Service
    2  Thank GBfromDevizes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

    So glad you enjoyed your visit to our pub, hope to see you again, it's not that far from Devizes!
    Nicky

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 January 2013

    Superb food and very welcoming, the atmosphere is fantastic, all the locals and visitors were very friendly. Great place, great hosts, loved it to bits. Can't wait to return. Superb food and very welcoming, the atmosphere is fantastic, all the locals and visitors were very friendly. Great place, great hosts, loved it to bits. Superb food and very welcoming, the atmosphere is fantastic, all the locals and visitors were very friendly. Great place, great hosts, loved it to bits.

    Room Tip: Ask for a double room with onsuite.
    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank mark i
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

    Hi
    Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you next time you are in the area.
    Steve & Nicky

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 January 2013

    I ate here on two occasions in a group of 7-8. We'd been recommended to eat in this restaurant/pub by locals. Their advice was excellent. The choice of food was fantastic, ranging from sandwiches, baguettes, paninis and traditional meals. I had the scampi one day and the catch of the day the next (I like fish!). Others had t a panini, baguettes, etc. The helpings were generous and exceedingly good value. All the food was hot.

    The staff were very friendly and a great help.

    Well recommended. I know where to come when I next pay a visit to that area.

    • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RossOrpington
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

    very glad you enjoyed your meals and the service.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 April 2012

    A fine example of a country pub in a quiet village. Extremely spacious bedroom and en-suite bathroom that was also very well equipped. Very good evening meal and breakfast with a good choice of food for both. Ample parking. Friendly and efficient welcome and service. A proper pub (+ spacious) with fine ales from Wadworth's brewey up the road in Devizes. Too cold to sit out but there is also a pleasant garden.

    • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank WanderingGoolie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews