We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect proper pub accomodation, with the added benefit of the pub!”
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect proper pub accomodation, with the added benefit of the pub!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

First of all, this is not a hotel.

This is a proper English pub, and not one of those false 'big chain' pubs where originality is only skin-deep. This place welcomes newcomers too.

The staff are friendly, and Steve and Nicky who run the place want to make you feel at home.

I stayed here on a mid-way stop-off whilst heading to Wales and know of the area from when I used to live in Devizes. The room I had was a good size (the double ensuite) with super-comfy bedding, and this is one of those places where all the rooms / stairs are quirkily up / down, with low ceilings and random stairs everywhere, and hence bags of character. Interestingly the next night I stayed at an 'Abode' hotel in Exeter whose bedding (and room space) was distinctly inferior to the pillow and duvet here.....

I guess there are some places where a bit of TLC could be applied, but that is the responsibility of the Brewery (Wadworths) that owns the place, and not something that the tenants can cover. The bits they look after are covered perfectly. Sparkling clean everywhere, good honest well cooked pub food (that does not purport to be anything else), and a perfectly kept range of real ales.

A friendly welcome and locally sourced ingredients for a superb breakfast (PROPER freshly squeezed orange juice and decent coffee from a Jura machine) are the kind of things you want when staying away from home, and on a filthy / rainy / storm-lashed night this was as good a place as you could possibly hope for.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the en-suite facing the road, but a very quiet village, so sleep not disturbed by tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind comments. Hope to see you again when you are next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    31
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
26
14
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We enjoyed the food - the mango chicken on the evening menu was good and the selection of foods on the breakfast menu was very good. It is worth coming here just to enjoy the breakfast.
The room was comfortable and quiet.
Our room faced the street but there was little traffic noise.
Plenty of hot water for bath and shower in the bath and shower rooms across the corridor.
Parking was easy in the off road car park.
We've stayed here before and will certainly stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite - so be sure of what you book if this matters to you..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed in the large eh suite double room, very friendly pub, nice authentic Inn atmosphere. Delicious breakfast every morning. Dog friendly. Good location, driving distance from Devizes and Bath. A nice weekend in the country.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank livvylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I'd heard good reports of about the food at the Green Dragon and was a bit surprised to see the mediocre TripAdvisor reviews. Even so, it was a Sunday evening and we'd never been there so we thought we'd give it a go.
The atmosphere as you enter is that of a 'local' pub. We were met with an muted welcome and shown to a rather cramped table for two in the corner of the restaurant area. The menu looked good and we did have three courses but the food was of average 'pub' quality. There are quite a few very good food pubs in the local area so we probably won't be tempted to return for a while.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkenergy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a cherished pub that the landlord and his wife would love to see the owner (Wadworths Brewery, Devizes) invest in. Their pub and B&B make a wonderful place to stay, eat, drink and relax after a long day in the office. The landlord and his team are always helpful and his wife Nicki, and her team, produce some fabulous food. I have stayed here many times and have especially enjoyed stuffed figs with goats cheese for a starter and Spanish chicken and chorizo stew. On my last visit I opted for a sublime feast of Cornish smoked haddock served in a truly delicious sauce and all prepared under the inspired hands of Nicki. Breakfasts are to die for. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon is wonderful, as is the bacon, sausages and black pudding from the butcher next door. Eggs at breakfast come from the hens in the garden and are as good as any you might lay your hands on!

In the bar, the 6X is lovely and far too moreish but goes down well.

One of the bedrooms has its own bathroom but no shower. A fine bedroom and enough space in the bathroom to fit a sauna and shower! Loads of soaps and bottles of this and taht if you forget to bring your own. The bed is comfy and warm and there are some lovely biscuits to munch on. The remaining rooms share a loo, bathroom and shower but this has never bothered me as I have never had to share with another guest, so no complaints there.

This is an 'olde world' pub where the floors are far from level and some bedroom doors, if they ever fitted, are no longer quite square in the frame. The bar rooms are tired - but not so tired that a regular group of locals have anything to complain about. It is a much loved village local.

Well done guys, but come on Wadworths, make this a top-notch destination pub / B&B and give your great landlord and landlady the tools to make you and them more money.

Room Tip: Room 4 has the bathroom. Rooms 1 and 2 are smaller but lovely. Room 3 is the smallest but I've n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Decided to visit the green dragon for our anniversary meal this year as we will be moving to the village soon!
The pub is very spacious and well set up for dining,there is also a skittle alley and pool table.
The food was great and there is an extensive menu,the waitress was very polite and efficient.
The landlord's were very welcoming,we will be back !!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redspookhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here whilst visiting 5/9/2013. We booked by chance rather than recommendation and were very please with our choice.
The pub is typical for its age, wonky floors, low ceilings and fabulous beams....absolutely brilliant.
The food was great, staff were very friendly and the service was perfect. Breakfast could have fed us for a week.
A great stay in a lovely park of Wiltshire, thank you to all staff for making it so good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dncer210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Lavington
4.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
292 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
4.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
72 reviews
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
1.1 mi away
Littleton Lodge
Littleton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Littleton Panell
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Property: The Green Dragon
Address: 28 High Street, Market Lavington, Devizes SN10 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Market Lavington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Market Lavington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 17th century inn on the edge of Salisbury plain. Ideal base for touring the West country. Situated close to Stonehenge, Avebury, Longleat, nearby crop circles in summer months ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Market Lavington, Devizes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing