We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stay”
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill on Sea, East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Restful stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good B&B. We were a party of three and had two room and shared facilities, which was very clean. Lovely rooms but uneven floors as this is a 17th century building. Breakfast was also very good. We had a very happy two nights. The only downside are the very steep stairs to the bedrooms, which I found a bit difficult, but all in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of getting planning permission to adapt some outbuildings into new rooms, so the difficulty you had with the stairs will not apply in the future. All the new rooms will also be en-suite, so no more sharing soon!
Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    32
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
28
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is lovely - like something out of Lord of the Rings (bear in mind the low ceiling)!

Clean rooms, clean bathrooms, great breakfast (the full works)!

Lovely. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hebbronski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully see you again, when you can enjoy everything this area has to offer.
Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Firstly it's a pub,, secondly it's a restaurant and eventually its a hotel.
Check-in is at the bar which, on a busy night with queues for beer, is not the easiest thing when carrying bags. The stairs are steep and narrow and the floors in the rooms are almost as steep. I know this adds to the olde worlde charm of the place but the real down side is the ablutions which required a trip to 3 separate rooms for the morning sh**, shave and shower. En suite would have made a world of difference.
The food in the restaurant I thought was not much above average although the breakfast was truly superb,, locally sourced and perfectly cooked

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyp949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Sorry you were disappointed with your stay. The bathroom facilities are described in full online, and there is one room with an en-suite, We are hoping next year to have more rooms with en-suite available, but at the end of the day we will still be a public house with rooms
Thanks for your feedback, we value all comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My friend and I stayed for one night on our cycling-trip through England, and we were the only guests that night. The staff were really friendly and our room was very neat and cosy. They gave us chocolates on the pillow and bathrobes. The service was great, they stored our bicycles safe and sound, and put together a marvelous breakfast just for us. Wish we stayed longer and definitely going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeddaCarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

First of all, this is not a hotel.

This is a proper English pub, and not one of those false 'big chain' pubs where originality is only skin-deep. This place welcomes newcomers too.

The staff are friendly, and Steve and Nicky who run the place want to make you feel at home.

I stayed here on a mid-way stop-off whilst heading to Wales and know of the area from when I used to live in Devizes. The room I had was a good size (the double ensuite) with super-comfy bedding, and this is one of those places where all the rooms / stairs are quirkily up / down, with low ceilings and random stairs everywhere, and hence bags of character. Interestingly the next night I stayed at an 'Abode' hotel in Exeter whose bedding (and room space) was distinctly inferior to the pillow and duvet here.....

I guess there are some places where a bit of TLC could be applied, but that is the responsibility of the Brewery (Wadworths) that owns the place, and not something that the tenants can cover. The bits they look after are covered perfectly. Sparkling clean everywhere, good honest well cooked pub food (that does not purport to be anything else), and a perfectly kept range of real ales.

A friendly welcome and locally sourced ingredients for a superb breakfast (PROPER freshly squeezed orange juice and decent coffee from a Jura machine) are the kind of things you want when staying away from home, and on a filthy / rainy / storm-lashed night this was as good a place as you could possibly hope for.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the en-suite facing the road, but a very quiet village, so sleep not disturbed by tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky W, Owner at The Green Dragon, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind comments. Hope to see you again when you are next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We enjoyed the food - the mango chicken on the evening menu was good and the selection of foods on the breakfast menu was very good. It is worth coming here just to enjoy the breakfast.
The room was comfortable and quiet.
Our room faced the street but there was little traffic noise.
Plenty of hot water for bath and shower in the bath and shower rooms across the corridor.
Parking was easy in the off road car park.
We've stayed here before and will certainly stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite - so be sure of what you book if this matters to you..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed in the large eh suite double room, very friendly pub, nice authentic Inn atmosphere. Delicious breakfast every morning. Dog friendly. Good location, driving distance from Devizes and Bath. A nice weekend in the country.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank livvylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Lavington
4.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
299 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
4.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
77 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Property: The Green Dragon
Address: 28 High Street, Market Lavington, Devizes SN10 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Market Lavington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Market Lavington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 17th century inn on the edge of Salisbury plain. Ideal base for touring the West country. Situated close to Stonehenge, Avebury, Longleat, nearby crop circles in summer months ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Market Lavington, Devizes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing