We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ten out of ten”
Review of The Foresters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Foresters Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Carlton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The best small pub we have visited. A great welcome, excellent food, comfortable bedrooms with excellent en suite showers and friendly staff what more could one ask for.
An excellent base for walking with good walks straight from the door and lots to do locally.
The small bar has an open fire and all the local community use it. A very special pub which is community owned and well worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for The Foresters Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in the Foresters Arms for 4 nights in September while we explored the local area. We were very well looked after by the proprietor, Kimberley and by her staff Lindsay and Amy. The accommodation was spacious, well fitted with good quality linen, a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom/shower facilities. Breakfast was exactly as we would have wished for with a variety of fresh soft fruit, yoghurt, toast and preserves and of course the option of having an English breakfast. Evening meals were also cooked to order, generously portioned without being intimidating! There is also a reasonable selection of wines that are priced appropriately.

The atmosphere generated by this community pub is delightful. Local people are friendly without being intrusive, we were made to feel most welcome and indeed hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PozzBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We ate and drank here twice during our 2 night stay in Carlton- in Cloverdale. It was a very pleasant experience with great local ales and a very good selection of hearty meals. We loved the atmosphere in the pub, especially the way people brought their dogs into the bar area. The separate dining room was well set out and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les6447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Visited the Foresters in Carlton on many occasions, but never stayed in the rooms available. In June my wife and I stayed , and we both agreed that the rooms were of a good standard, clean , modern, well equipped, and good value for our money. The meals provided , both at breakfast and in the evening if required, were excellent. Service, and friendly atmosphere at all times was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 777Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this great little pub/B&B in Coverdale in the Yorkshire Dales. Alan and Kimberley were the most generous hosts that you could hope to meet, and the local village was incredibly friendly and welcoming. Our room was large and comfortable, beautifully renovated with a magnificent view of the surrounding countryside from our window. The pub dining room offered a great menu selection of really good value and hearty meals. If you are looking to stay away from the mainstream, we would highly recommend a stay at this great community pub! The Yorkshire Dales offer a magnificent backdrop, and we recommend that you try the local ales, they are great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was told about the pub by a local when asking for directions to another pub and what a find :)

Lovely pub,friendly staff and interesting and witty locals ....
The food was great and as the pub has been brought by the locals and is now a community pub it has a lovely warm feel to it.
It hosts lots of events there and is the hub of village life.
Had lots of lovely jugs of flowers around the pub which really added a cheerful feel to the pub too .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colliecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stopped here for lunch after a lovely long walk through three villages of Coverdale. The pub had changed ownership since our last visit, now owned by a community benefit society and run as a co-operative. It exudes warmth and community spirit and hosts theme nights, book clubs etc, just what every village needs. To top it all, the bar staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the food, though relatively simple, is delicious and excellent value. We would definitely consider staying at this venue in the future, Coverdale is a beautiful and peaceful area of the Dales.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Perfumelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
4.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
12.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
4.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
13.4 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
131 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foresters Arms

Address: Carlton, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carlton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range: £77 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Foresters Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Foresters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foresters Arms Carlton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing