We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”
Review of Middleham House

Middleham House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middleham House
Ranked #4 of 4 Carlton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

I echo everything that has been said before. Middleham House has everything and is a wonderful place to stop! 2 friends and I stayed during a cold and snowy Easter. The house was warm and pleasant and the welcome equally so. The food, ale and friendship in the community pub is seldom found nowadays. Just a perfect break!
Ian McIntosh

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed four nights and what a warm, cosy and comfortable place to stay. The rooms and bathroom were large and have all that you need to make your stay enjoyable, the views are breathtaking even when it snowed and it is very peaceful. The breakfast was so delicious and fresh a great way to start the day, there's a pub not far away with good food and lots to see and do in the surrounding area of the Dales. Liz made our stay by being the perfect hostess we will be back to stay again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin as it was my son and I but the double just as comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Six of us stayed to catch up with a friend for his birthday. The owner was most obliging and nothing was too much trouble.All the extras in the rooms were much appreciated and the breakfast was exceptional. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 46Hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We have just returned from a four night break at Middleham house and wanted to spread the word about this absolutely lovely B&B in beautiful Coverdale. It is everything a B&B should be, warm and welcoming in an unspoilt village surrounded by breath taking country side equally enjoyable by foot or by car.
Our bedroom was so attractive, very tastefully furnished and with a blissfully comfortable, huge bed, a sparklingly spotless en suite, (with a bath as well as a shower, just the thing after a long trap in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales) and high quality goodies on the hospitality tray. After a very good night's rest we were almost overwhelmed by the view which lay before us when we opened the curtains, a glorious vista stretching for miles, which was subtly changed with every alteration of the light.
Breakfasts are first rate and with plenty of choice one could have something different every morning, if the exemplary standard full English were not to your taste there was everything from smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to a light continental selection.
For evening meals the pub down the road is perfect, close by, with a very pleasant and attractive dining room and excellent food at reasonable prices.
Liz not only runs her establishment with great efficiency, but also manages to to be welcoming, friendly and helpful without ever being intrusive.
If you are ever visiting this area of Yorkshire do book in to Middleham House, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room which looks out over the stream to the hills behind the house, I think some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Large, comfortable room with views on two sides was a highlight of this quiet B&B. The little extras in the room such as a corkscrew and wineglasses meant that we didn't want for much more. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and with the option of a large English breakfast which I can recommend. We even had views over a haymeadow being cut and baled during breakfast. Liz, our host, was very attentive and informative and the local pub did excellent meals. On the Sunday we discovered it was Liz's birthday and managed a short chorus of "Happy birthday" as a thank you. We hope to return soon!!

Room Tip: There are 3 double rooms but no. 1 has the views on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSmithsLilyHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great B&B! Really enjoyed our stay here. The room was spacious, well presented and had amazing views of the Dales. Thoughtful touches such as corkscrew, wine glasses, bottled water each day and quality toiletries in the room were really nice. Liz, the owner, was so friendly and provided a wonderful cooked breakfast with eggs as yellow as I've ever seen! An excellent selection of fruits, cereal, bread, yogurts and cereal bars completed the breakfast experience. The local pub serves great food at good prices and is ideally located to the B&B. Great walks nearby. Ken and Sarah, Lincoln

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

2nd time here and despite unseasonal weather, not disappointed at all.
Everything was as good as we remembereed from the first visit.
Highly recommended.
The local vilage owned pub completes the experience.

Colin and Lynn, Bradford

Room Tip: If you want a view to remember ask for room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Middleham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleham House

Property: Middleham House
Address: Carlton in Coverdale, Carlton, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carlton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Middleham House Carlton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing