We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant staff - average food”
Review of Fox & Hounds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fox & Hounds Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 West Burton B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff - average food”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The staff in the Fox and Hound are very pleasant. My meal was very nice but my wife had the salmon and it was not cooked properly. The staff were, however very pleasant and dealt with the problem to our satisfaction. They need to improve the food that they serve because otherwise there is a lot going for this lovely pub in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    37
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at this pub as we were doing the Inn Way and it is the only pub in the village. The room was at the back seperate from the pub and was just adequate. We thought soemone must be obsessed with laminating as we counted nine different signs/notices in the room ranging from not letting your dog on the bed to please dont open the window as there are birds nesting!. The food however was good and there was a pleasant atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giraffeWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

After staying in aysgarth for a week we had eat out most evening so i have a pretty good idea of what to expect.I do not usually write reviews but i was so annoyed i had had to write this.We arrived at the fox and hounds on Friday 22nd of June,on arrival we where greeted by the lovely bar maid who was very friendly and sat us down with our menus unfortunately that is were it ended,after looking at the menu we chose our starters 3 soup of the day and our main meal we waited for a while and when the waitress walked past we asked politely if we could order and the response we got I AM TOO BUSY i was gobsmacked how rude ,the barmaid realised and come over and took our order.soup come OK but then main came the rude waitress put the food down with a grunt and went to walk away so i asked for some knifes and forks she said over there and pointed to a table could not believe it the food was not great you could get better food in the two for one offers which is much better.Believe me while we where eating 3 meals where sent back by different people with food not being cooked properly.GIVE THIS PLACE A WIDE BERTH.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephensuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We ate at the Fox & Hound twice recently. It's a small pub with a dining room which we didn't use as we had our dog with us - dogs are allowed in the bar area. Pleasant atmosphere, good food and unexpectedly a decent vegetarian menu - not just the ubiquitous pasta option!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

After a wet & cold day out in the Dales, this pub was a perfect way to round off the day. It was relaxed atmosphere inside with 2 TVs if you wanted to watch sport (although they were not intrusive), and excellent pub-grub style food. We did not want anything posh, but the home-made steak mince burger and fish & chip platter were ideal for satisfying our hunger, The staff were very friendly and attentive/. All round a great little pub.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HR-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Good beer (esp the Skipton Copper Dragon), and a very good meal at reasonable cost. The portions were generous, and the fillet steak from the butcher across the green was fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is our "local" so we may be biased, but the food is excellent and good value, especially the fillet steak, which is outstanding. Modest selection of well-kept local ales. Can't comment on the accommodation, as we have no need to stay there, but we've heard good reports.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPardoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Burton
2.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
8.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
1.1 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Street Head Inn
The Street Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Newbiggin-in-Bishopdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Hounds Inn

Property: Fox & Hounds Inn
Address: West burton Yorks, West Burton DL8 4JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > West Burton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Burton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fox & Hounds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fox & Hounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox & Hounds Inn West Burton, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing