We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Old Star, West Witton”
Review of The Old Star

The Old Star
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Witton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Star
Ranked #4 of 4 West Witton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We spent our usual week at The Old Star B and B this summer and will return next year. Premises (very clean etc) consist of an old pub (sadly no longer licensed but you can bring your own drinks and, in any event, the acclaimed Fox and Hounds is almost opposite) with excellent bedrooms and bathroom facilities plus the added gem of a country-garden cottage out back converted into two spacious bedrooms (where we always stay). Breakfasts are broadly whatever you want, stretching from cereals, fruit etc to the proverbial Full English. All of this with the special advantage of genial and helpful hosts, Barbara and Barrie Martin - you couldn't wish for anything more!
If you are visiting the Dales, thinking about it, en passant or whatever, this is the place to use as a base for walking; visiting the various local market towns (Leyburn on doorstep, Richmond a short car journey away); absorbing the history (eg Richmond and Middleham castles); eating (try the pub and award winning Wensleydale Heiffer Restaurant); or even for a quiet, relaxing time. And Barbara's and Barry's welcome is the icing on the cake!
We love The Old Star.

Room Tip: See main review. The "garden cottage" rooms are our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Great Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here for three nights. The owners are absolutely lovely and friendly. The Bed & Breakfast is a great place. Our only downside was we stayed in the family room out the back in the converted part of the pub and it was a little damp so had that horrible smell that comes with it. I am not slating the B&B itself because as I said it's a lovely place, the breakfast was superb and the hosts were great. The village is central so there is loads to do, the local pub Fox And Hounds pub is a must. It's a real oldy worldy pub, you just don't see places like that anymore. Finally would we stay at The Old Star again, yes definitely but just not in the same family room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmt1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Was attending a wedding the area and got a twin room ensuite at short notice. The first thing was the warmth of the welcome despite it being in the middle of Yorkshire monsoon weekend.

Lots of characterin the whole place, very clean and tidy. Didn't get to see much of the local area because of wedding but will definately return again

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

A nice big room (we had one with en-suite) and good solid breakfasts. Location is very good - 20 yards away from the only pub in the village and about a 100 yards from the Wensleydale Heifer (a very nice seafood restaurant). Barbara and Barrie were very helpful hosts too. Overall, a very good value B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Warm and Welcoming B&B. Lovely hosts who really looked after us. Rooms clean and well equipped. Very handy location and smashing breakfat. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theroamingrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed here to attend a wedding.

The place has a quirky Yorkshire charm. Compared to any sort of travel lodge it knocks the spots off it, unless you like anti-septic homogeneity.

The welcome of the owners is truly warm, they clearly care about their guests. The breakfast is superb. There is also a nice garden to use if it isn't raining.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordie_Skier_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This is a lovely place to stay.

We stumbled upon this old inn overlooking Wensleydale, now a cosy and characterful guest house, quite by chance.

We were given a warm welcome by owner Barrie. Our room was delightful, and very thoughtfully equipped. Barbara's breakfasts were fabulous, with locally sourced bacon and sausages. Easily the best we have been served when staying away from home. When I am hungry, I always think longingly of those breakfasts!

The old inn isn't licensed, but just over the road is a very good pub selling a range of well-kept real ales and reasonably priced meals.

We look forward to going back, very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fledge46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Witton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 4 in West Witton
142 reviews
0 mi away
Capple Bank Farm
Capple Bank Farm
#3 of 4 in West Witton
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Star

Address: Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Old Star West Witton, Leyburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing