We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place and very lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Star

The Old Star
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Witton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Star
Ranked #3 of 5 West Witton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place and very lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of nights and this is my first time here. Barbara and Barrie are truly nice people and their breakfast is a proper full English one. They were also very helpful when I asked them information about where to go for a nice walk or so. The room was very clean and overall I felt like at home. Loved it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMnalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Engladn
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

stayed with friend; very helpful hosts; lovely breakfast; bedroom rather dated decor I felt, and shower not at all powerful, but comfortable beds and for a pleasant overnight stay which is very good value, it's fine. Splashed out on a meal at the Wensleydale Heifer just up the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Three of us needed an inexpensive one night stay in order to join a family party in the village and this ticked all the boxes. A warm welcome, clean and comfortable rooms, an excellent cooked breakfast and a very friendly atmophere made for a pleasant overnight stay. Situated perfectly, in the centre of the village this would be an excellent base for a holiday in this lovely part of the world. The superb, home-made marmalade and jams are worthy of special mention. Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Old Star and each time we have received a very warm welcome. The owners go out of their way to make your stay a good one showing Northern hospitality at its very best. The location is wonderful with stunning landscapes and a local pub serving some very fine ales and great food. Breakfast at the Old Star is superb and enough to satisfy the heartiest of appetites. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucinda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

If you are looking for a deluxe boutique hotel, I would try somewhere else. If looking for a lovely warm yorkshire welcome from the owners Barrie and Barbara who will make you instantly feel welcome whilst taking in the sight and smell of the large woodburner in the lounge, this is the place for you. The rooms are functional and have everything you need and over the road the Fox and Hounds has a good selection of local ales and roaring fire with friendly locals.The food is the Fox and Hounds is average at best however provides an enjoyable atmosphere. Outside The Old Star a mobile fish and chip van visits certain nights and Barrie even offered to set us a table if we wanted to eat from the van, they honestly could not do enough for us. Breakfast was excellent with local sausages, thich cut bacon, very fresh eggs, black pudding,beans, decent coffee and finished off with homemade bread (toast) and homemade jams.
If you are looking for a good,clean, and homely B and B in North Yorkshire, which is great value, this is the place !

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RotherhamSpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Came back after stay in July. Loved it! The room was great and hosts are amazing. The view from garden is amazing and lovely on a summer night. Breakfast was great. This place is amazing value for money.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

My husband , our dog and I stayed this weekend. We can't wait to go back. It is amazing value for money. The garden is lovely and has great views of surrounding countryside . The hosts are very warm and welcoming and breakfast is great. I would not hesitate to recommend staying here and we have already booked to go back!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bluepaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Witton
4.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
5.4 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 5 in West Witton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Temple Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Star

Property: The Old Star
Address: Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Old Star West Witton, Leyburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing