We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dales just wouldnt be the same without the old star”
Review of The Old Star

The Old Star
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Witton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Star
Ranked #3 of 5 West Witton B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The dales just wouldnt be the same without the old star”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Visited the old star again this year for a third time and have to stay the dales just wouldnt be the same without places like this to stay!Barrie and Barbara are such caring hosts and nothings ever to much trouble for them!If you ever fancy a few days away to relax chill and sleep like a log then wake up with peace and quiet and a whole hearty breakfast to get the day started then the old star is the place to stay!we would hestitate in recommending the old star to anyone looking for a great few days chilling out!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for a 2 night break for our wedding anniversary, and had a lovely stay, our room was very clean and comfortable, our hosts Barbara and Barrie were very helpful and nothing too much trouble, we are certainly planning a return visit

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

About a year ago we were told of a family wedding in the Yorkshire Dales. The place where the rest of the family were staying was fully booked and so, not knowing the area at all,I consulted a map and Tripadvisor and discovered The Old Star.
I am so glad I did. We have just returned from a lovely weekend.
Barbara and Barry could not have been more helpful, giving us details of taxis so we could book before we arrived ( thank you Nobby) and other advice to familiarise ourselves with the area.
We were welcomed very warmly,helped with our luggage and shown to our room, which was a delight. It was at the end of the garden away from the main house, spacious, spotlessly clean and peaceful. Initially we were apprehensive as the church clock chimes every hour, but the beds were so comfortable we slept like logs and didn't hear it at all.
The breakfasts were delicious. I do not normally eat a cooked breakfast but Barbara suggested I choose just a few items and I was converted. The bacon tasted like no other I have ever had and the homemade preserves ,especially the plum jam, were fantastic.
All in all a fabulous time.
We did visit the family in their accomodation and we were definitely the winners!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our second stay it just gets better! Rooms spotless and comfortable, a tasty traditional breakfast with lots if choice! Beautiful garden and a safe bike lock up. Great location and once again Barry and Barbara perfect hosts! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barratt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are 2 couples that have just returned from 3 nights at this great B&B that we stayed at for the duration of The Grand Depart of The Tour de France.
Fantastic location for biking/hiking/walking/exploring all that this beautiful area of Yorkshire has to offer.
Barbara and Barrie are the perfect hosts providing typical rustic accommodation fitting of the location. Clean & comfortable, fresh towels daily great breakfasts & secure cycle storage. We will be revisiting this area to explore further and we'll definitely be staying here again ........ Fab pub literally across the road which is an added bonus!

Room Tip: If you are a family or couples travelling together ask for the 2 rooms in the building away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just had a lovely couple of days in this great B&B. As all the reviews have said Barbara and Barrie are the perfect hosts. They go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We had a little one with us and they were fantastic with her and made sure we had everything we needed. Great recommendations for walks and where to visit in the area. We needed longer than a weekend to fit it all in so we will be coming back for sure. Looking forward to that fry up already!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had a three night break in April, we had two rooms mine was room 5 with an en suite as I had two dogs. The room is good value for money at £40 plenty big enough, light and airy, but the window didn't shut properly and was noisy, however traffic stops about 9pm ish so that wasn't an until the morning when the farm dogs woke up, not really a problem for me as I get up early to take my own out. The room and bathroom could have done with a bit more of a clean as there was quite a few hairs in the shower and sink, and the shower head was quite mouldy but any minor issues we had were completely overshadowed by the garden, location and the welcoming hosts Barrie and Barbara, they were warm and friendly and presented us with a lovely breakfast each day. I took some cards and would recommend the star and would go back myself, I think if you do have pets and stay in a pristine room you could spend more time worrying about mess.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greekislandaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Witton hotels
0.0 mi away
Capple Bank Farm
Capple Bank Farm
#4 of 5 in West Witton
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
1,525 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 5 in West Witton
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Star

Property: The Old Star
Address: Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Old Star West Witton, Leyburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing