We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capple Bank Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capple Bank Farm
Ranked #4 of 5 West Witton B&B and Inns
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

How lucky we were to find such a first class accomadation in a lovely location, you cannot go wrong in choosing this b&b.We received a warm welcome from owners and shown to a comfortable room with beautiful views.a choice of walks are available from the front door,so no need to use our car.The breakfasts were great using local produce

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashover
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

From arriving to leaving, the four of us were treated in style. A lot of thought had gone into converting an old farmhouse into a first class B&B. Bedrooms,bathrooms and the breakfasting area are a delight. Breakfast had everything you needed prior to a strenuous hike. I guess that you will not find a better retreat in the West Witton area. An excellent choice !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2logon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a two night stay at Capple Bank Farm and I have to say from the quality of the room to the breakfast and warm welcome by the two lovely owners, everything was fantastic.

It is a traditional bed and breakfast that has all the touches of real quality, from the very high quality restoration of the farm to the bed linen and towels, everything was five star.

Upon arrival we were made a lovely fresh pot of tea and unwound. The farm is also in a beautiful location and easily the best location for us in Wensleydale.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Visitukhotels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and were sorry to leave. A lovely house, everything brandnew, Our room was huge and very comfortable, and so was the bed! Lovely colours, antique furniture, a really nice bathroom (more a bath salon!) with antique bath. Good breakfast in lovely dining room with open kitchen. The Smithers are very kind people; not just because you're a guest but really concerned and naturally friendly. On a very wet day they were so kind to lit a fire for us in their beautiful sitting room with piano. We had a lovely morning! It is not a working farm anymore but the Smithers have dogs, chickens and breed horses.
Very very good value for money. I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to stay here again in the future. Best B&B we had on this trip in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We have just got back from having a 2 night stay at this perfect retreat in the Yorkshire Dales, we were made to feel part of the family, the room was excellent and I can see why they have been rated 5 star, would definately recommend to anyone who wants to escape from the city life, we will certainly being staying there each time we visit family

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be comfy and warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very rarely do you find somewhere as outstanding as Capple Bank Farm.
I stayed here two nights whilst attending a friends wedding. The views on arrival are spectacular, the welcome and service even better.
The rooms are very nicely decorated in the type of top end British farmhouse style that is luxurious and comforting. The breakfast, both in terms of choice and quality, first class.
Essentially the type of English Countryside B&B that you dream of finding but rarely do.
I would fully recommend Capple Bank Farm to anyone looking for accommodation in the Yorkshire dales.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

The farmhouse has recently been totally renovated to a very high standard. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and were served tea and freshly baked flapjacks in the elegantly furnished sitting room.
Our spacious bedroom was furnished with antiques . The large ensuite bathroom had a claw footed bath and a separate shower.
The quiet location, though only a couple of minutes from the village and the comfortable beds resulted in a good nights sleep in the comfortable beds. An English or Continental breakfast is included.
The views from the farmhouse in all directions were superb. We booked the accomodation at the last minute and felt lucky to have found this peaceful B & B.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Witton
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 5 in West Witton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 5 in West Witton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eastfield Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Clyde House
Clyde House
#2 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#3 of 20 in Leyburn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capple Bank Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capple Bank Farm

Property: Capple Bank Farm
Address: West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Capple Bank Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capple Bank Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capple Bank Farm West Witton, Leyburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing