We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful barn”
other travellers have booked this property
Prospect Barn - Front Elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prospect Barn - Front Elevation
Prospect Barn - Kitchen (View 1) Prospect Barn - Kitchen (View 2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Prospect Barn - Front Elevation
Prospect Barn - Kitchen (View 1)
Prospect Barn - Kitchen (View 2)
Prospect Barn - Kitchen (View 3)
Lounge - View 4
Prospect Barn - Bathroom With Shower Cubicle & Rolled Top Bath
Shared Garden Areas For Prospect Barn and Prospect Farm House Guests
Shared Garden Areas For Prospect Barn and Prospect Farm House Guests
Shared Garden Areas For Prospect Barn and Prospect Farm House Guests
Shared Garden Areas For Prospect Barn and Prospect Farm House Guests
Shared Garden Areas For Prospect Barn and Prospect Farm House Guests
Prospect Barn - View From Rear Garden Over Wensleydale
Prospect Barn - View From Rear Garden Over Wensleydale
Our Property At West Burton - Craven House (Sleeps 5) - Site Ref.604019
Our Property At Carperby - Manor Farm Cottage (Sleeps 5) - Site Ref. 717512
Our Property At Carperby - The Granary (Sleeps 8) - Site Ref.647963
Our Property At West Witton (Sleeps 8) Site Ref: 6570593
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
West Witton, Leyburn, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sparklysh...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely barn, very well presented. The garden is we also very nice, fabulous views. There is just about eveything you could need and is generally well-equipped. The only things missing were a shaver plug and we were a little disappointed that the wifi was an additional cost. We had no mobile phone recepton in West Witton so wifi would have been good but we did not wish to pay extra. It is personal choice. Overall, the barn was excellent, the area lovely and we enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the character of the barn
Liked least: the shared driveway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
it is always pleasing to receive a good review - Thank you
To ensure clarity for future guests the Wi Fi is free being part of our rental package being serviced off a 'Plug In' extender from the adjacent 'Farmhouse' and the log on details are readily available at the front of the property information folder - The Shaver 'Plug Adapter' is usually found in a kitchen drawer but often guests do not return it to its original location so a search and find usually locates it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H
Bridlington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay.”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just spent 4 days in this lovely cottage, We were absolutely delighted with it, it was home from home. Everything was there that you needed, the owner had even left us coffee, tea bags, sugar, biscuits, washing up liquid, dish washer tablets, hand soap in the kitchen & bathroom, even toilet rolls. There was a hair dryer in the drawer & lots of books & leaflets, with idea's of things to do & places to visit.
I have to say, this was a beautiful cottage, with a fantastic garden with views & a garden table & chairs for you to sit & enjoy them. Its ideally placed to get to various towns & places of interest. We have had a lovely time, & will definitely go back again, & would definitely recommend it to our friends & family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was very comfortable, home from home.
Liked least: There wasn't anything we disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you were pleased with your holiday experience with us has it is always pleasing to receive a positive review

At Niche Holidays we pride ourselves in endeavouring to meet or exceed our guest’s holiday experience expectations and to receive a positive review makes our efforts to please all that more rewarding – Thank you again and we hope to enjoy your company at some time in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison S
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab Barn!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March. We really enjoyed our stay and were suprised to find its bigger than shown on the photos. Lovely views across the Yorkshire countryside, well equipped and comfortable. Great location easy access to various places in the National Park and some great walks locally. We will definately be booking again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you were pleased with your holiday experience with us has it is always pleasing to receive a positive review

At Niche Holidays we pride ourselves in endeavouring to meet or exceed our guest’s holiday experience expectations and to receive a positive review makes our efforts to please all that more rewarding – Thank you again and we hope to enjoy your company at some time in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eunice H
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just got back yesterday, stayed 4 days in barn, could not fault anything except maybe a radio in the kitchen! Barn is excellently furnished with everything you could want, very comfortable,heating took a while to get up to temperature but weather was very windy and cold. Wifi worked well in kitchen but not so good in other rooms. Fox & Hounds pub over the road served excellent food and was very warm and friendly. Would visit again as loved the piece and quiet.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you were pleased with your holiday experience with us has it is always pleasing to receive a positive review

At Niche Holidays we pride ourselves in endeavouring to meet or exceed our guest’s holiday experience expectations and to receive a positive review makes our efforts to please all that more rewarding – Thank you again and we hope to enjoy your company at some time in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic little barn!”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at prospect in January 2015 as a Christmas present from my partners parents who also stayed in the cottage the start of December 2014.
It was extremely clean and fresh and decorated brilliantly throughout. Found cooking excellent due to the hob and loved the fact it has a dishwasher! Situated brilliantly to the local pub as well as nipping into town.
My only gripe would be that the shower wasn't always hot, don't get me wrong it was certainly warm but could have been warmer especially after getting in from a cold walk.

Apart from that it was a fantastic little break and we will be definitely booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you were pleased with your holiday experience with us has it is always pleasing to receive a positive review

At Niche Holidays we pride ourselves in endeavouring to meet or exceed our guest’s holiday experience expectations and to receive a positive review makes our efforts to please all that more rewarding – Thank you again and we hope to enjoy your company at some time in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julesthor...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning lovely everything you need”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I would highly recommend this place everything you need excellent location would go back tomorrow. If I had the money I would have even asked if I could buy it

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you were pleased with your holiday experience with us has it is always pleasing to receive a positive review

At Niche Holidays we pride ourselves in endeavouring to meet or exceed our guest’s holiday experience expectations and to receive a positive review makes our efforts to please all that more rewarding – Thank you again and we hope to enjoy your company at some time in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeddyOnHo...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Close to perfection”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Beautiful place with stunning views only slight draw backs are: Shared Parking with only one entrance, big end windows need privacy blind, induction hob is overly complicated (easy when you know how: press the 'on' button, press and hold 'hand' button below, press a 'ring button', then adjust temp 1-9). Heating is timed and only adjustable on thermostat. Wood burner would ice the cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General standard of cottage
Liked least: Feeling like a Goldfish in a bowl with no blind on huge kitchen windows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
Private off road parking is a plus in this linear village with main road traffic flow and although the arrangement is shared and requires communication with the owner to make it work it is more than adequate to meet guests single vehicle parking requirements and keep their vehicle safe

Manufacturers operating instruction manuals are available for all equipment in the 'Barn' occasionally presenting a challenge, but hey your not at home using the same piece of kit day in and day out

Whilst the 'Barn' does have a large end window with views out of the kitchen to the road, all being part of its character, it is 50 metres from the road side with cars parked in front of it and does not impact on the privacy of the main lounge accommodation area

The central heating system is state of the art and although room stat controlled does have a visible continuous 'On' override facility on the boiler (also easily accessible) to accommodate the seasonal 'Dales' weather changes reverting to set time sequences at each end of day auto switch off
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing