We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Dales Location”
Review of Thornton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornton Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb Dales Location”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A wonderful country house in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. If you are looking for peace and tranquillity in a magnificent rural setting look no further. From beginning to the end of our stay we could have not been made more welcome.
We had our evening meals at the George and Dragon, some 4 miles away, in Asgarth and really enjoyed that as well!
For those looking for space Room 3 is the one for you, you will not be disappointed.
Breakfasts were brilliant; the rabbits on the lawns were entertaining and the family peacock was superb.
Thanks Vanessa for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 for the sheer size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
60
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were looking to explore the Yorkshire Dales and despite a late booking Vanessa was able to accomodate us - and in a stunning four poster bedded room.

The room was huge with furnishings that were above the usual standard. A great touch was a proper fridge with real (not UHT!) milk and space for your own wine (or cheese from the local creamery!). Also a proper cafetiere and decent coffee and biscuits. The enormous bed was far more comfortable than ours at home!

The bathroom was equally spacious and well lit. Everywhere was clean and well presented.

Breakfast was a very Full English and superbly cooked. Fresh fruit, cereals and toast were freely available.

Over a welcoming cup of tea and buscuits, Vanessa took a little time in finding out what we wanted to see during our brief trip. This resulted in some superb suggestions for routes around The Dales. We certainly would not have seen so much if we had relied on our own map reading!

Vanessa also recommended and booked a local pub for a meal the first night. Superb food!

This would be an ideal place for a large family gathering - if you could book enough rooms!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberryblonde2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Here for a birthday week-end. Vanessa seems to run the whole show on her own - which is pretty amazing considering the size of the place & the standard she sets!
Really great in every department. The room was huge, clean, airy & with a super view. The breakfast large, well presented & cooked.
Great for young couples, retired couples, walkers, fishermen (& women!) & anyone who appreciates the Dales.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

On a back road in the Dales this is an excellent getaway location. The room we had overlooked the lawn and was warm and comfortable. The owner was helpful, if a little too interested in our personal affairs, and breakfasts were served promptly and were well prepared. We did not have a dinner at the house as we preferred to go out.No objections were raised to snacks in the room and the WiFi while slow worked perfectly. All in all a pleasant experieince

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vkyorkshire, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hello Aubrey,
thank you so much for your kind words, although it did make me chuckle that you thought my inquisitiveness about an Australian owning a British registered vehicle whose wife was going onto South Africa to visit her father, was overly nosey. I guess there is a balance between taking a passing interest and appearing overly interested. I am saddened that a 10 minute conversation left you feeling that way. Really hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. kind regards, Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

On arrival at Thornton Lodge we were welcomed like long lost friends, Vanessa is a very special lady and her love of this house shines through. We have stayed in many hotels over the years but we can honestly say we have never had a nicer room. It was huge, beautiful, and had everything you could wish for and looked out over an amazing view. For anyone with limited mobility like my wife this really is an accessible room. The excellent breakfasts were served with a smile, nothing was too much trouble, and we certainly did not need lunch!
We certainly intend to return and would thoroughly recommend Thornton Lodge to anyone wanting to stay in the Wensleydale area.

Room Tip: The accessible room is really very accessible with an excellent bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodesteamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Another relaxing break at Thornton Lodge. From the moment you arrive Vanessa cannot do enough for you from taking photo's of my special surprise, to booking our evening meal at a locally recommended hostelry. The room was dual aspect giving wonderful views of the Dales whilst laying in the antique four poster bed, a real treat. Thank you again Vanessa for making a special weekend extra special.

Room Tip: Every room is individual and of the highest quality. Do ask though if you require a walk in shower a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliecowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hubbie and I stayed at Thornton Lodge for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. It's very rural and surrounded by stunning countryside, more remote than we usually go for, but really loved it...it's not often we stay somewhere that has a peacock wandering the grounds.

Our room was lovely, the bed was so comfortable I could have stayed there all night and day. Quality furnishings, including lovely linen sheets, fluffy towels and beautiful heavy curtains. The shower was powerful and the lighted bathroom mirror was a winner. It was also refreshing to have fresh milk in the fridge in the room as I can't abide the UHT stuff.

Breakfast was superb; quality sausages and bacon, fresh eggs from the Lodge's chickens and a choice of cereals, fruit, toast and juice. Vanessa and Tim were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble. I also loved the attention from their lovely labradoodle, who was also very welcoming, especially if you made a fuss of him!

A great place to stay and would definitely go back. We also had a fabulous meal at the Wensleydale Heifer with was a real bonus too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Rust
6.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
18.1 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Lodge

Property: Thornton Lodge
Address: Thornton Rust | Wensleydale, Thornton Rust, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Thornton Rust
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Rust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Thornton Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornton Lodge is a family home in Upper Wensleydale. Vanessa lives there with her family and offers b&b during the summer. She has a 5 star gold rating from Visit Britain and has been accepted as a prestigious Wolsey Lodge. All rooms are different, pleasantly decorated with very comfy beds and nice views and there are lots of pictures on her website. She cooks a really nice breakfast and can sometimes cook an evening meal for guests by arrangement. The house has some wifi but as the last one on the exchange in a rural area it's only slow. It is extremely quiet at the house, especially after the loss of her pet peacock Percy during the summer of 2015. She is not licensed but encourages guests to bring their own drinks to enjoy at the house and provides glasses and either fridges or wine coolers in all rooms. One room is reserved for guests with mobility difficulties and two rooms are allocated for guests needing single occupancy. Children over 8 years of age are welcome at the house in her large ground floor suite. In winter she sometimes hosts for guests celebrating special events. Generally she avoids taking bookings to stay at the house just for one night. Whilst the house is huge - around 9000sqft, Vanessa does everything herself and therefore restricts the number of rooms booked at anyone time to a maximum of 12 guests - generally there are 6-8 guests staying during the week and a few more on a weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thornton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Lodge Thornton Rust, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing