We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for Views, Peace & Solitude Plus Pub :-)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melmerby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Close Farmhouse
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Views, Peace & Solitude Plus Pub :-)”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We arrived here the last week in March in the middle of a blizzard. Three attempts to reach the cottage failed and we were just about to book into a hotel in Leyburn when the owners contacted us and talked us through a safe route. We shoveled the snow out of the way, walked in and felt instantly at home. Stayed snowed in for 3 days during which the owners drove to the shops for us to get supplies. Beautiful views. Warm log burning stove with central heating kept the cottage so comfortable. Wifi was a godsend. Only one downside was the steam powered television :-), could do with an update for our next visit please? Thoroughly recommend, the cottage, the owners, the view, the locals and the pub.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have just got back from a four night stay at the west close farmhouse. We stayed in one of the barn houses which had two bedrooms, a large kitchen and bathroom and an even bigger living room.
I could not pick a fault with the accomodation or with our hosts Steven and Julie who treated us like royalty. From the hearty breakfasts in the morning, to the thoughtful bit of cake / biscuits that Julie would leave in the kitchen just in case we were peckish when we got in. The accomodation is very close to local touristy attractions such as the forbidden corner yet far enough away to be peaceful. The farmhouse also has amazing views over the local countryside.
I really cannot big this place up enough.....it really was amazing and we will be sure to visit Julie and Steven in their new business venture down in Devon. They are natural hosts and just generally lovely people. Thanks for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jswitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I would like to start by saying what a wonderful weekend my partner and I had staying at West Close Farmhouse.

Steven and Julie were the perfect hosts and couldn't do enough for us. Their knowledge of the area and advice was spot on.

The views from our room were breathtaking and Julie sure does cook the best full English known to man.

All in all, a beautiful family run establishment.

Thank you again to Steve and Julie for an amazing stay.

Gavin aka GARETH.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarethMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We have stayed 3 times at this wonderful location and hope to stay again soon. Food is brilliant accommodation lovely with glorious views and superb service!! Thanks to Julie and Steve for making each stay memorable

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franandrewandaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, Herts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Although our stay was a very short one, we found it a very pleasurable experience. The whole experience was very friendly and welcoming. The standard of accomodation is excellent, very clean and comfortable with ample good food. If one is looking for a nice quiet break, West Close Farmhouse is the ideal place, being in a very secluded part of the country. We found the nearby towns very interesting. We definitely antcipate returning, next time for a longer break. Excellent vaue for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

If you have ever craved to get away from it all, if you have ever imagined yourself relaxing in the perfect setting in front of an open fire, reading your book, with no other sounds but the ticking clock, then pack your bags and drive to West Close Farmhouse, book yourself in to Field Cottage and discover paradise. Sit in your own conservatory with a nice cup of tea and look out over the amazing views of the Yorkshire Dales. After a restful sleep take yourself over to the farmhouse Dining Room and tuck into one of Julies superb breakfasts and get Steve to give you all the info you need to have a great day sightseeing, walking or browsing around the villages & towns. We challenge you to find nicer accomodation, better sceneary or finer hosts anywhere in Yorkshire. Julie and Steve thank you so much for creating a little bit of paradise and looking after us all on the special occasion of our sons wedding. You have made many new friends all eager to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylors22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This is the most beautiful location to spend time and your hosted by Steve and Julie which makes it even better. They are wonderful hosts and make you feel so at home. I cannot recommend this beautiful farmhouse enough and i will along with friends be making a return trip in the near future. Thank you Steve & Julie it was fantastic

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to West Close Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Close Farmhouse

Property: West Close Farmhouse
Address: Melmerby in Coverdale, Melmerby DL8 4TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Melmerby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Melmerby
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing