We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat with great view”
Review of Acheron Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manapouri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acheron Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat with great view”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband, brother-in-law and I can't thank Zeb and Janice enough for providing us with information regarding the Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound cruises & hiking trails. Zeb and Janice couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We stayed at the Stella Burn Cottage which was super clean with awesome views from the deck. The kitchen has everything one needs to prepare a meal. The bbq outside was perfect for our seasoned lamb chops & kumara (NZ sweet potato). The laundry machine and drier are brand new. The area deserves a whole week's stay with so much to see and Acheron Cottages makes for an ideal base. We were sorry to leave after our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyageurOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Manager at Acheron Cottages, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thanky you for your kind thoughts. We are pleased you enjoyed yoir stay with us and managed to get to Doubtful Sound. It really is a special place.

Maybe you will manage to get back sometime.
Regards
Zeb and Janice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The cottage was immaculately kept and clean, and we felt right at home. We loved having a drink on the porch as we watched the sun set over the mountains. Manapouri was one of our favorite places in the South Island, and we found it to be very peaceful and tranquil. We were so thankful that we decided to stay here instead of Te Anau, which was super touristy. We would highly recommend this place to anyone, especially groups and families. Also, the hosts were also very lovely and kind to us, which we think is so important wherever you stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jqwu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Lovely hosts, very clean and relatively new facilities, comfortable beds, well-kitted kitchen, and a pretty good view of the mountains and deer (in the paddock) across the road from the cottages. Manapouri is about 15 minutes drive from Te Anau, is lovely and quiet, and is where the boats for Doubtful Sound leave from. We had a lovely couple of nights here, and were fortunate enough to chance upon a perfectly clear night for stargazing on the picnic benches outside the unit. Special mention must go to our favourite appliances after a week and a half on the road- the washing machine (with the pre-proportioned doses of laundry detergent) and dryer!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor Harbor SA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Who could ask for more! We arrived to enjoy Autumn leaves, snow on the mountain peaks and the full moon over Lake Manapouri. In addition we discovered wonderful and generous hospitality, spacious accommodation and a setting that was more than magic. We are glad that we discovered such a wonderful place which was central to Milford and Doubtful Sounds and the attractions near Te Anau. Congratulations to Zeb and Janice who were so helpful in our planning stages, and again on arrival. The modern and spacious cottages have everything needed for a great holiday - it was well equipped, warm and inviting - giving us 5 wonderful days with views to die for.

Room Tip: If this property is available - book it! Don't even consider elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenicencounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This clean, modern cottage is really excellent value. It is relatively new, rooms are comfortable, with heater, tv, and well-equipped kitchen and washing area. But, what really takes the cake here, is the million-dollar mountain view from the porch, on which we enjoyed a perfect sunset while we were there. There is also a big, and I mean BIG, field out the backyard, which is perfect for a game or two of football with the kids.

This place is actually in Manapouri, a few minutes drive from Te Anau. Manapouri is a lot more tranquil compared to the tourist hordes at Te Anau, and equally convenient to drive to Milford Sound, which we did. There're restaurants and stores a short drive from the cottage.

We enjoyed our stay at the cottage very much. Wished we stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayfarer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I'm so glad we found this property! It's so nice staying here, much nicer than anywhere we saw in Te Anau. The thing we liked best is the big deck that catches the last of the evening sun - the mountain views are just gorgeous! Plus you can eat outside on the big picnic table and enjoy the views.

The cottages are lovely and clean, and the washer and drier was a huge bonus. Brilliant location to base yourself and then explore all that this stunning area has to offer.

We will be back and next time we'll stay longer!! Thanks Zeb for your very friendly welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balitmore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

These are well equipped, immaculate, and new self contained cottages slightly outside of lake manapouri.the best part was a washer and dryer that helped us wash our clothes mid way through our vacation. We loved having 2 separate bedrooms as well as our own picnic table to enable us to dine outside as the sun was setting. Jen was helpful in arranging tours. It's a must to go to Kepler track and the te anau glow worm caves. Just lovely!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank EJAdec2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
5.7 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
10.8 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
10.8 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acheron Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acheron Cottages

Property: Acheron Cottages
Address: 98 Hillside Manapouri Road, Manapouri 9679, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are both fully self-contained, serviced and sit right on the edge of Fiordland National Park. We are only a 2 minute drive away from the picturesque township of Manapouri which sits on the shores of beautiful Lake Manapouri. Manapouri is complete with a store, Post Office, two cafes, a restaurant and hotel and is a great place to relax and enjoy one of New Zealand's most spectacular lakes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing