We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the views!”
Review of Acheron Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manapouri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acheron Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A beautiful 2 bedroom cottage with an open plan lounge kitchen diner, what a view from the picture windows in the lounge and main bedroom. A very warm welcome followed by a light touch hosting meant this was a perfect rest and recuperation stop after a month of fast paced touring of NZ. A lovely quiet retreat. Only thing to note, there is no oven but a full hob and barby. Local shopping is limited so bring what you need. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the wifi is free but limited to 50mb but you can buy more.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thanks Folks, So pleased you were able to wind down here. Hopefully we may see you again.

All the best

Zeb and Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

We booked online a couple of days beforehand and got our vouchers and directions straight away. All very straightforward and efficient. When we called to ask how to get from the airfield, the owners offered to come and collect us. Zeb was really welcoming, and even tried to lend us a car to go out for dinner as we had children. We opted to walk to the pub across the fields and it was only 10 mins away, and made for a very pleasant evening out. The cottages are both very clean and well presented, and felt brand new. Good fluffy white towels "wet room" shower, real coffee provided with a plunger all very nice touches. The only thing it lacked was dimmable lighting in the lounge (it felt very harsh so we put the kitchen light on and the main room off) and bedside lights (there was only 1!). I also found the pillows too thick so ended up sleeping without, but maybe I'm turning into one of those people who needs to take their own pillow everywhere!! Watched a great sunset over the mountains from the deck, and were picked up by Doubtful Sound cruises next morning. Altogether very easy and successful trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in Awe Burn cottage which is nearer the road but actually had more space around it, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Cheers Guys pleased you had a good stay. Hope you get back down sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Fantastic place to stay. The Cottage had everything we required and was very clean. We slept really well, I think the bed might be better than our own! It was lovely and peaceful with stunning views of the surrounding mountains. We will be back. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiths431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My wife and I along with our daughter have just spent 2 nights at Acheron cottages. The cottage was very comfortable and clean ... could not ask for more. Zeb and Janice were terrific hosts and made us feel very welcome. We left a phone charger behind and I emailed asking if it could be mailed back to us ... it was already on its way!
Would thoroughly recommend a stay here and certainly, next time we are down this way its where we will be headed to again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thanks Peter the charger was no problem,

Pleased you had a good stay and hopefully you give the bikes a good run next time you get down,

Cheers Zeb and Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband, brother-in-law and I can't thank Zeb and Janice enough for providing us with information regarding the Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound cruises & hiking trails. Zeb and Janice couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We stayed at the Stella Burn Cottage which was super clean with awesome views from the deck. The kitchen has everything one needs to prepare a meal. The bbq outside was perfect for our seasoned lamb chops & kumara (NZ sweet potato). The laundry machine and drier are brand new. The area deserves a whole week's stay with so much to see and Acheron Cottages makes for an ideal base. We were sorry to leave after our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageurOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Manager at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Thanky you for your kind thoughts. We are pleased you enjoyed yoir stay with us and managed to get to Doubtful Sound. It really is a special place.

Maybe you will manage to get back sometime.
Regards
Zeb and Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The cottage was immaculately kept and clean, and we felt right at home. We loved having a drink on the porch as we watched the sun set over the mountains. Manapouri was one of our favorite places in the South Island, and we found it to be very peaceful and tranquil. We were so thankful that we decided to stay here instead of Te Anau, which was super touristy. We would highly recommend this place to anyone, especially groups and families. Also, the hosts were also very lovely and kind to us, which we think is so important wherever you stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jqwu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Lovely hosts, very clean and relatively new facilities, comfortable beds, well-kitted kitchen, and a pretty good view of the mountains and deer (in the paddock) across the road from the cottages. Manapouri is about 15 minutes drive from Te Anau, is lovely and quiet, and is where the boats for Doubtful Sound leave from. We had a lovely couple of nights here, and were fortunate enough to chance upon a perfectly clear night for stargazing on the picnic benches outside the unit. Special mention must go to our favourite appliances after a week and a half on the road- the washing machine (with the pre-proportioned doses of laundry detergent) and dryer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
5.7 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Freestone Backpackers
Freestone Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Manapouri
56 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Acheron Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acheron Cottages

Address: 98 Hillside Manapouri Road, Manapouri 9679, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range: £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are both fully self-contained, serviced and sit right on the edge of Fiordland National Park. We are only a 2 minute drive away from the picturesque township of Manapouri which sits on the shores of beautiful Lake Manapouri. Manapouri is complete with a store, Post Office, two cafes, a restaurant and hotel and is a great place to relax and enjoy one of New Zealand's most spectacular lakes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing