We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acheron Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Tussock Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Amber Court Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
80
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringgreat hostsburn cottagenew zealandthe kitchenmilford soundpearl harbourte anaustayed longercomfortable bedsequipped cottagestunning viewswashing and dryingstayed nightsclothes linedeparture pointdrive
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

we spent 3 weeks in new zealand and i have to say that acheron cottages was one of our best accommodations we had. you have everything you need, friendly hosts, everything is clean... we really loved it there!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eva s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for the review folks. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you may get back sometime.

All the best Janice and Zeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed in Awe Burn Cottage in January this year. We only had two nights here, but a couple more would have been better. I fantastic location for Lake Manapouri and indeed the whole of Fiordland. The cottage was immaculate and had everything you need. The two bedrooms are great - we used one for our luggage! Sitting out on the veranda in the evenings with a glass of wine and watching the mountains change colour as the sun sets is.... well just wonderful. Zeb and Janice are there in the house close by should you need them, if not, you are left in peace and even though it's a cottage, the towels are refreshed and rubbish removed daily. Super service! Washing machine, pegs and line provided too - ideal to catch up with washing when you are on the road. Many thanks, will highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Hi Folks, Thank you for the great review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that someday you may make it back.

All the best Janice and Zeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Three of us had travelled to NZ for a wedding and decided to do a mad dash round the South Island to explore the glorious countryside while we had the opportunity. This included a trip to Milford Sound and so we were looking for a short stay in or around Te Anau. We wanted good value, a good nights sleep, a laundry, a view and no hassle; we got this and much more. The cottage was delightful with a spectacular view of the mountains; modern, clean, comfortable, quiet and everything you needed for a stay both long or short like ours. The surroundings were immaculately kept and even the washing line had been thoughtfully designed! We would have liked to stay longer but time pressed us on. I would definitely stay in the cottages again if I return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank usquam_vir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thanks for the great review. We are pleased you were able to wind down here and hopefully you will get back sometime and spend a little more time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Three of us stayed here before and again after doing the Milford Track. Zeb could not have been more helpful-drove us to TeAnau so we could catch the bus for the Milford Tramp and picked us up again after. He kept our rental car in his shed while we were away. He even gave us some of his special insect repellant-which did work!

The cottage was perfect. Very clean and very well equipped. The washer and dryer were very much appreciated. The kitchen was well equipped. The views were lovely-a field of grazing deer out front with mountains in the background-very peaceful.

If you are looking for a self cater in a lovely rural setting this is the place to stay!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank cacl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Hi thanks for the review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope you can maybe make it back someday.

All the best Zeb and Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A beautiful 2 bedroom cottage with an open plan lounge kitchen diner, what a view from the picture windows in the lounge and main bedroom. A very warm welcome followed by a light touch hosting meant this was a perfect rest and recuperation stop after a month of fast paced touring of NZ. A lovely quiet retreat. Only thing to note, there is no oven but a full hob and barby. Local shopping is limited so bring what you need. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the wifi is free but limited to 50mb but you can buy more.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Thanks Folks, So pleased you were able to wind down here. Hopefully we may see you again.

All the best

Zeb and Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews