We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acheron Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Amber Court Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
80
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringgreat hostsburn cottagenew zealandthe kitchenmilford soundpearl harbourte anaustayed longercomfortable bedsequipped cottagestunning viewswashing and dryingstayed nightsclothes linedeparture pointdrive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We selected Acheron Cottages because of location; it seemed the perfect base for exploring a previously overlooked section of the Southern Scenic Route.

And perfect it was - our cottage was spotless, spacious and warm. We loved being able to spread out, and we really appreciated the well equipped kitchen, perfectly set up for self-catering.

Zeb and Janice were friendly and welcoming and a fountain of local information. Zeb gave us some fantastic tips on what to see and do off the main tourist trail and even lent us some of his homemade sandfly repellant (which was much needed, unfortunately).

Lovely accommodation, lovely people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Manager at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for the great review folks.
We hope you can get back to see us again one day.

All the best
Janice and Zeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I booked at Acheron Cottages for three nights. The middle night was taken up with a Fiordland Expeditions overnight cruise of Doubtful Sound. Zeb and Janice let us keep our room for that night for a minimal charge, and even drove us to the wharf to catch the boat. The cottage is superbly designed and well engineered, with every last detail attended to. There would be wheelchair access to either of the two cottages. The deck looks out over the paddock of deer to the mountains beyond. It was very restful. The Wi-fi was appreciated, as was our own laundry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YoungatheartKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We are really happy you enjoyed your time here and hope you get the chance to come back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

we spent 3 weeks in new zealand and i have to say that acheron cottages was one of our best accommodations we had. you have everything you need, friendly hosts, everything is clean... we really loved it there!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eva s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you for the review folks. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you may get back sometime.

All the best Janice and Zeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed in Awe Burn Cottage in January this year. We only had two nights here, but a couple more would have been better. I fantastic location for Lake Manapouri and indeed the whole of Fiordland. The cottage was immaculate and had everything you need. The two bedrooms are great - we used one for our luggage! Sitting out on the veranda in the evenings with a glass of wine and watching the mountains change colour as the sun sets is.... well just wonderful. Zeb and Janice are there in the house close by should you need them, if not, you are left in peace and even though it's a cottage, the towels are refreshed and rubbish removed daily. Super service! Washing machine, pegs and line provided too - ideal to catch up with washing when you are on the road. Many thanks, will highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Hi Folks, Thank you for the great review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that someday you may make it back.

All the best Janice and Zeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Three of us had travelled to NZ for a wedding and decided to do a mad dash round the South Island to explore the glorious countryside while we had the opportunity. This included a trip to Milford Sound and so we were looking for a short stay in or around Te Anau. We wanted good value, a good nights sleep, a laundry, a view and no hassle; we got this and much more. The cottage was delightful with a spectacular view of the mountains; modern, clean, comfortable, quiet and everything you needed for a stay both long or short like ours. The surroundings were immaculately kept and even the washing line had been thoughtfully designed! We would have liked to stay longer but time pressed us on. I would definitely stay in the cottages again if I return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank usquam_vir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thanks for the great review. We are pleased you were able to wind down here and hopefully you will get back sometime and spend a little more time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews